We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grant Arms Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Mhor Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willowbank Guesthouse(Grantown-on-Spey)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garth Hotel & Restaurant(Grantown-on-Spey)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse(Grantown-on-Spey)
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Alba(Grantown-on-Spey)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rossmor Guest House(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunallan House(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
186
217
153
83
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
217
153
83
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrerar hotelsdinner bed and breakfastlovely hotela la carte menubit datedreception areaset menuhotel staffnight breakexcellent value for moneydb bshort breakboth nightsrelaxing staycourse mealreturn visitbarman
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We also were there for the Rod weekend but our experience was somewhat different.
It does seem to be a theme here some people give really great reviews others are somewhat more circumspect.

On the plus side we found the staff to be excellent, service is of a high standard. It would seem that this is a priority for Crerar and all credit to them for that.

The food was fine for what we played. Think decent pub carvery and you wont be to far away.
Much of it is pre prepared. At breakfast we found the orange juice to be very watery and the scrambled egg and salmon could have done with a bit more salmon.

We also enjoyed the Rod Stewart Tribute so full marks for that.

Our twin room was fine albeit a bit on the small side. The en-suite though left a lot to be desired. There was black mould on the tiles in the shower area. This does seem to be the experience of a lot of other people here. Our sink was also cracked in two places so not very appealing.
Our real problem was being woken up at first light by the pigeons which seem to be resident on the roof. It could be that our room was worse in this regard as it had a flat roof whereas some of the other rooms may have benefited from a loft space to dull the noise. I'm not really sure what the management could be expected to do about this. We suggested Pie. I sleep fairly heavily and am not hypersensitive to the slightest noise.

There is great potential here and from some of the other reviews here it would seem that its all down to the room you get. If I knew the room was better and more importantly quieter I wouldn't hesitate to go back.
If you do get the right room, then you will find yourself in a decent value for money hotel in a great location.
Lets hope Crerar spend the money here if you want to see what they are capable of try the Golf view.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisgHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Many thanks for your constructive points regards your recent stay with us. We have over the years tried to eradicate the pigeon problem with netting and special devices on guttering and pipes however they are persist creatures. On saying this we continually are addressing this area. I will certainly investigate the mentioned bathroom and will put right. We do have a rolling programme in place to address this sort of area and are always trying to improve what facilities we have. It would be very useful if you could contact me direct and let me know which room you actually stayed in however we will get our housekeeping department to report back any rooms that are in this situation.
Again my thanks for taking thetime to review your recent visit
Regards
Bob Walker
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Thanks to all the very hard working staff at the craiglynne for making this an enjoyable & relaxing weekend.

Something a liitle different was what we got when the rod stewart tribute act took to the stage on saturday night, whether a fan of the man or not, it was a night not to be missed!

The hotel itself, lovely & warm on arrival. Checked in very efficiently by welcoming receptionist who took time to answer any questions. Room on 2nd floor was clean & well presented, fairly large bathroom by hotel standards, clean & functional.

Service in the restaurant was very good without being overbearing & food was of reasonable quality, having stayed at other crerar hotels i have found bar prices can be a little expensive, not here. Pretty much what i would expect to pay if i had a night out at home.

No shortage of hotels in this area but id be quite happy to return here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Craiglynne and your kind comments. Tribute nights can be a hit or miss however i am glad to say that this one went down very well with our guests and we will be repeating sometime in the future. Having just recently opened after a long winter it is certainly encouraging to receive comments such as yours and i will certainly pass these onto the staff concerned. Again my thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Regards
Bob Walker
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Why let it snow, well we stayed on one of the Sunshine breaks ha ha and that weekend it snowed and snowed so we had to stay another night which was no hardship as the hotel, its staff and the food are all excellent. We would definatly stay again. Thankyou for a fantastic relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twonighttourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit and i will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned. With weather the way it has been you must try and return in the new year when you will be able to get about much more freely. There is so much to see in this neck of the woods. Again my thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast on crerar summer sunshine break. We found all staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is old and en-suites could be doing with up dating, however room and ensuite clean, bed was comfy enough. Dinners and breakfast were fantastic. It snowed all weekend and most guests worried about getting home, hotel staff cleared the drive way and reception checked travel and weather report for everyone. If we were heading back to granton-on-spey we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Many thanks for taking time to respond to your recent visit with us and i am glad in all everything was to your satisfaction. Responses from our guests are a vital part of developing the hotel and staff and i am always pleased when we receive responses. It assists us in planning our training and what better way than from our customers feed back. Again my thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the weekend on a Crerar summer sunshine offer. Not much sunshine but tremendous value for money.

We had a good room overlooking the front of the hotel. It was clean, cosy and had everything we needed (including a decent hairdryer!). Beds could be improved with new mattresses or mattress toppers to make them comfier. The bathroom was a bit dated but I liked the fact that there was a bath as well as a shower and there was plenty of hot water. There is evidence of some refurbishment - in the bedrooms and the public areas - nice curtains and soft furnishings.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and our meals were generally OK but as others have said the food looks and tastes pre-cooked and and this lets the hotel down. Come on chef - you know you can do better than this; we don't mind waiting a bit longer for fresher food! The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and extremely hard working. Enjoyed the breakfasts.

One thing that I liked was a sign at reception encouraging people to leave feedback via Tripadvisor. As they clearly have some negative as well as positive feedback, I thought it showed a genuine desire on the part of Crerar to try and improve.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit to us. I do apprecaite hearing from guests regards their stay with us. All points good or indifferent are thoroughly investigated and acted upon thus it is so necessary to hear from you our customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews