We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
189
221
159
87
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
221
159
87
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crerar hotels dinner bed and breakfast lovely hotel old building a la carte menu reception area set menu night break excellent value for money hotel staff db b short break both nights relaxing stay course meal return visit barman
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Anybody looking for a nice friendly Hotel in Granton on Spey need to "bookmark" the;
Craiglynne Hotel.
Good food, nice room, pleasant and friendly staff made our short break most enjoyable.

signed; a satisfied guest.......

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1746845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and i am delighted that you enjoyed your short visit with us. Comments from our customers are extremely important and we view your comments very closely as this enables us to focus on areas that may need training however on your visit everything seemed to be enjoyable and i will pass this onto the staff concerned.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We were made very welcome by all staff from the moment we arrived until we left again. Check in was quick, booking dinner not a problem considering we only arrived at 6pm. Not often you ask for a "blue" steak and actually get one - our compliments to the chef! Having previously enjoyed a stay at the Creran Isle of Mull Hotel, it was a pleasant surprise to be remembered by some staff who had also worked there. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with an excellent power-shower. One night was really not enough to sample all that the hotel and surrounding area had to offer but we will certainly be back again if we can. Many thanks to all those who made our short stay so enjoyable, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceMacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us and i appreciate all the comments you have made and will pass them onto the staff concerned. It was nice that some of them reckonised you from Mull. Just about all the staff that worked on Mull have moved here to Grantown. They do work so well as a team. I do hope that we will be able to look after you once again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We both found this hotel above our expectations after reading some of the previous reviews on the site. The staff were welcoming and very helpful whenever we asked for anything. We will be back for sure and would recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and i appreciate your positive comments. All rev iews from our guests good or indifferent are extremely important to us. What responses do is to ensure we become more aggresive in looking at our business in all ways which in turn will improve the facilities and service we provide to you the customer.
Again my thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We paid about £35 per person per night for dinner, bed and breakfast and, that along with the reviews we'd read, meant our expextations were quite low; but we were very, very impressed with the both the cleanliness and location of the Hotel and the standard of the food both at breakfast and dinner time.

The restaurant, bar and all communal areas were pleasantly decorated and modern. The rooms, though quite small, had everything we needed. The bed was good and, though again quite small, the en-suite bathroom was perfectly adequate.

The Hotel was only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and was easy to find, only about 10-15 minutes off the A9.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arab_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

It is such a lovely area around Grantown. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us. I can understand your apprehention regards your visit after reading recent comments on the tripadvisor. All i can say is that we had been very busy and these were the only complaints we received. On saying this i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

On arrival given room 115 for a two night break.First impression walking down corridor to room most doors had visible marking round lock and door facing,our room door looked like it had been jemmied open several times,is there a security problem here?Room was small and very hot,outlook was to service area to rear overlooking compost heap and old furniture in back grass area.All flat areas in room had not been dusted in a very long time(pictures,wardrobes,etc.),1 foot long cobwebs from roof and inside lamp shades.Central lampshade diffuser was full of dead flys,moths and dust.At r/hand side of curtains someone had cleaned their diry hand on them,disgustingWe experienced loud noise in room from diswashers in kitchen directly below our room,coupled with fridge doors slamming,dustbin lid noise,and extraction fans continuing untill with could stand it no longer at 21.30 we phoned reception from mobile phone as room phone did not work.No joy foreign person told us all people in charge had gone home wait untill next morning. Bathroom shower did not drain properly(rubbish was left in shwer cubical) and hot tap in sink made howling noise.Next day we let reception know of room problems they full understood it was the dishwasher and then asked if we wanted to change rooms!!! We settled for the only alternate room available a twin.It was larger clean a in better decorative order .Breakfasts were adequate apart from undercooked fried eggs on both days and vegetarian sasage cold inside.Evening meals could not be faulted or the service for both meal times.We observed a less than 25% occupancy and it beggars belief that we were given the worst room in the hotel or was it?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us.
I am not going to try and make excuses for the original room you were given suffice to say that it should not have been in the state it was and because of this we have revised our cleaning schedule for the bedrooms and the checking of them so this situation does not arise again.
My apoligises for this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews