We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money, I thought it was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is a hotel which is trying very hard. I organised a trip for a group of Rotarians from Bristol and Paris to enable them to play golf, drink whisky and sample the scenery of Scotland. The quote I was offered was unbelievably competitive (£45 pppn DB&B), so much so that I began to worry how it could be so cheap. Then I started reading some of the reviews and my concerns began to grow. However, it turns out that this hotel's business model is geared towards tour groups (there were French, Austrian and German tour busses during our stay) which is well worth remembering, and I needn't have worried.
Anyone who gets the deal we were offered needs their heads read if they are expecting five star luxury or a Michelin-starred dining room. Some of the comments on this site are clearly from people who expect too much.
The food (dinner and breakfast) was of a perfectly reasonable standard and there was plenty of it. Our Parisien friends were perfectly happy and, let's be honest, the French are particularly interested in cuisine. So on the food front, I heard no complaints, and I saw plenty of empty plates!
The bar was well-stocked (particularly if you like whisky) and prices were not unreasonable for a hotel bar. It didn't stay open very late, but this appears to be in line with this part of Scotland, and usually the bar maid from the previous night would serve you breakfast. The staff here work very hard!
The hotel itself was totally clean and comfortable. Yes, it appears a little bit tired in a few places, but it's worth remembering that this hotel may go 3 months without profit if the weather closes it for the winter. At the prices they charge, I think they do very well to maintain the hotel as they do.
Some people have complained about hot rooms. A building (quite an impressive building) like this, in this area, is built specifically to keep in the heat, using thick walls. Our first day was blessed with a mini-heatwave; thereafter the room was fine. I slept like a log, although that was probably due to the whisky! One guest (out of 17) who was unhappy with their room was moved without question.
Which leaves the staff. Firstly, Carrie was FANTASTIC. She was a jack of all trades and master of them too, and couldn't have been more helpful. She even ran an impromptu whisky tasting for us when the arranged one fell through. The waiting and bar staff were friendly and helpful, too. I did get the slight impression that one or two staff could be a little quick to take offence, but looking at some of the comments on this site it would appear that they have had to deal with some right wallies in the past. We treated them with respect, and they were great.
I would have no hesitation in staying there again and would recommend it as a value-for-money place to discover the Highlands. Aviemore is about 10 miles away to the SW, Dufftown (distileries) is half an hour away NE. Should you wish, Balmoral around an hour away SE and Inverness 45 minutes away NW.
All of us came away completely happy with our time at the Craiglynne. I think it is a hotel that has had problems in the past but is determined to improve and is on track to achieve that. I think they deserve to.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and i am delighted everything was to your satisfaction and your fellow rotarians enjoyed their visit to this part of Scotland. It is a fanastic area here in the Cairngorms.
We have a wonderful team here at the Craiglynne and as you rightly said they all work extremely hard and together with one aim and that is to improve the service and facilities that we offer to you the guest. We are continually trying to improve and it is with comments like you have made that make it all worth while.
Again my thanks for responding.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for a short break,we had looked at the reviews and some were not at all good,but having stayed at many hotels from 4* plus to unlisted we both feel that this hotel is very worthy of 3*+ food was of a very high standard as was the choice, Staff from check in to serving and housekeeping were friendly and efficient a special mention to the girl behind the bar, we were eariwigging to a blawhard with a rambling group who criticised every thing from the mackeral pate, to the pasta and the sea bass fillet being rather small, has he ever seen a sea bass, they are quite small fish, but the final straw was his opinion on the cranachan it was not the way HE made it and was going to send the chef his recipe, AYE RIGHT, we had all the above between us and could not fault any
anything,it was also nice to see familiar faces from the Isle of Mull Hotel. So well done to the Craiglynne staff and thank you, we hope we will be back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Try and get a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johhnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Many thanks for the coments you have made regards your recent stay with us. It is hard to please everybody all of the time however we do strive to achieve this goal. I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned and i am sure they will appreciate your positive points. It is as i have said before very important we receive feed back from our guests for all the obvious reasons.
Again my thanks for taking the time to respond.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Anybody looking for a nice friendly Hotel in Granton on Spey need to "bookmark" the;
Craiglynne Hotel.
Good food, nice room, pleasant and friendly staff made our short break most enjoyable.

signed; a satisfied guest.......

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1746845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and i am delighted that you enjoyed your short visit with us. Comments from our customers are extremely important and we view your comments very closely as this enables us to focus on areas that may need training however on your visit everything seemed to be enjoyable and i will pass this onto the staff concerned.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We were made very welcome by all staff from the moment we arrived until we left again. Check in was quick, booking dinner not a problem considering we only arrived at 6pm. Not often you ask for a "blue" steak and actually get one - our compliments to the chef! Having previously enjoyed a stay at the Creran Isle of Mull Hotel, it was a pleasant surprise to be remembered by some staff who had also worked there. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with an excellent power-shower. One night was really not enough to sample all that the hotel and surrounding area had to offer but we will certainly be back again if we can. Many thanks to all those who made our short stay so enjoyable, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceMacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us and i appreciate all the comments you have made and will pass them onto the staff concerned. It was nice that some of them reckonised you from Mull. Just about all the staff that worked on Mull have moved here to Grantown. They do work so well as a team. I do hope that we will be able to look after you once again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We both found this hotel above our expectations after reading some of the previous reviews on the site. The staff were welcoming and very helpful whenever we asked for anything. We will be back for sure and would recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and i appreciate your positive comments. All rev iews from our guests good or indifferent are extremely important to us. What responses do is to ensure we become more aggresive in looking at our business in all ways which in turn will improve the facilities and service we provide to you the customer.
Again my thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We paid about £35 per person per night for dinner, bed and breakfast and, that along with the reviews we'd read, meant our expextations were quite low; but we were very, very impressed with the both the cleanliness and location of the Hotel and the standard of the food both at breakfast and dinner time.

The restaurant, bar and all communal areas were pleasantly decorated and modern. The rooms, though quite small, had everything we needed. The bed was good and, though again quite small, the en-suite bathroom was perfectly adequate.

The Hotel was only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and was easy to find, only about 10-15 minutes off the A9.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arab_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

It is such a lovely area around Grantown. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us. I can understand your apprehention regards your visit after reading recent comments on the tripadvisor. All i can say is that we had been very busy and these were the only complaints we received. On saying this i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

On arrival given room 115 for a two night break.First impression walking down corridor to room most doors had visible marking round lock and door facing,our room door looked like it had been jemmied open several times,is there a security problem here?Room was small and very hot,outlook was to service area to rear overlooking compost heap and old furniture in back grass area.All flat areas in room had not been dusted in a very long time(pictures,wardrobes,etc.),1 foot long cobwebs from roof and inside lamp shades.Central lampshade diffuser was full of dead flys,moths and dust.At r/hand side of curtains someone had cleaned their diry hand on them,disgustingWe experienced loud noise in room from diswashers in kitchen directly below our room,coupled with fridge doors slamming,dustbin lid noise,and extraction fans continuing untill with could stand it no longer at 21.30 we phoned reception from mobile phone as room phone did not work.No joy foreign person told us all people in charge had gone home wait untill next morning. Bathroom shower did not drain properly(rubbish was left in shwer cubical) and hot tap in sink made howling noise.Next day we let reception know of room problems they full understood it was the dishwasher and then asked if we wanted to change rooms!!! We settled for the only alternate room available a twin.It was larger clean a in better decorative order .Breakfasts were adequate apart from undercooked fried eggs on both days and vegetarian sasage cold inside.Evening meals could not be faulted or the service for both meal times.We observed a less than 25% occupancy and it beggars belief that we were given the worst room in the hotel or was it?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us.
I am not going to try and make excuses for the original room you were given suffice to say that it should not have been in the state it was and because of this we have revised our cleaning schedule for the bedrooms and the checking of them so this situation does not arise again.
My apoligises for this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing