We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
189
221
159
87
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
221
159
87
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crerar hotels dinner bed and breakfast lovely hotel old building a la carte menu reception area set menu night break excellent value for money hotel staff db b short break both nights relaxing stay course meal return visit barman
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for three nights as part of a weekend visiting relatives nearby on our second trip to Grantown-on-Spey. We booked with Easybreaks for a great value walking package of around £110 per person for three nights dinner, bed and breakfast - and a packed lunch! At such a cheap price you might expect fairly low standards but this is not the case at all.

On arrival, check-in was fast and simple. One of the rooms we were given did smell a bit of dampness but the reception staff were happy to give us a different room. We were also able to choose what we wanted for our packed lunch the next day too (which included a sandwich, crisps and water).

The rooms were fine - fairly standard, nicely decorated, very clean, with television and kettle/tea, etc. The bathroom was fine - though could do with a bit of a better clean to get rid of unsightly mildew on the tile grouting.

The hotel has a small bar which has a large selection of whiskies and some draught beers - though it would be nice to see some local Cairngorm Brewery ales on tap too. There is a small band/ceilidh on a Saturday too in the dining area, which has a small dance floor.

Should you wish to escape the music however, there is also plenty of seating in the pleasant lobby and a small conservatory at the front, with seating in the well-kept gardens (with a pond) which would be lovely in the sun. Sadly the sun didn't shine for us to enjoy the garden!

Now for the best part - the restaurant. The Craiglynne has an excellent restaurant - and for the deal we were on, we were absolutely delighted with the menu. There is an inclusive set-menu with four choices per course, and you can also choose from the 'a la carte' menu for a supplement on dishes.

The food was delicious and beautifully presented by the hard-working, attentive and good-natured staff who do a great job in attending to guests. While we were staying there were quite a few coach parties but the large numbers did not affect the speed or quality of service at all. We also enjoyed a good rapport and bit of humour with the staff, particularly Nikolai, the waiter from Bulgaria who has a dead-pan face and a dry wit.
Breakfast provides a wide selection of foods, from cereals, pastries and fruit to full Scottish breakfasts or scrambled eggs and salmon or kippers, with plenty of toast and tea forthcoming.

We gave the staff a well-deserved tip at the end of our stay. They manage to juggle many tasks at once while remaining polite, calm and always keeping a smile on their faces. And, of course, good staff is the key to a good hotel and the usual assortment of Europeans once again do a great job in keeping the Scottish hospitality sector alive and well.

The hotel itself is well placed for seeing Grantown and just across the road you can wander into the Anagach Woods - a beautiful forest with many trails to explore and a pond populated by a huge amount of ducks. While we probably won't be back in Grantown again having see all there is on our two visits, I would highly recommend the Craiglynne Hotel for its comfortable accommodation, wonderful restaurant & chef, and for its great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room for nice views of the garden and Anagach Woods.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Many thanks for your comprehensive response to your recent stay with us and i am delighted to see so many positives coming from your stay. As you rightly comment staff are the back bone to a good running hotel and we have a great bunch of guys here at the Craiglynne. It is extremely important to us that we receive feed back from our customers as it does focus the mind on their views of their stay with us. Again my thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed for 4 nights, 2 couples on a Malt Whisky Trail break. We had a really good time at the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean - perhaps new bedlinen might be a good addition. The service from the staff particularly in the restaurant and bar was outstanding, so friendly and nothing too much trouble. Food was good, well presented and served. Great location for the Malt Whisky Trail, golf and touring the area. Will definitely visit this or another Crerar Hotel in the near future. Price was very good on a DBB basis and we made use of the vouchers offered on the Crerar web-site which made it an even better deal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Many thanks for your kind words regards your recent stay with us and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As you rightly say this is a wonderful part of Scotland with so much to do and the scenery is to die for. I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned and we all hope we will see you again sometime in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Good food and exellent service from the staff at the hotel. Bar does not open until 5pm and prices are above average. Coach party arrived to book in and then walked through dining room while we ate dinner. However had a great week-end annd will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigal52Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent visit with us and for this i am greatful. All comments from our guests ensures we remain focused on the service and facilities that we provide for you the customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Just returned from an excellent stay at the Craiglynne Hotel.

What can I say, the room was comfortable, the food was tasty with a good choice and the price was outstanding.

The beat part of the whole thing were the staff. I have been to some hotels which charge much more and supposed to be of a better standard and I can honestly say the staff here are far superior.

They are a credit to the hotel and for that reason I would return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. I could not agree more with you regards the staff. We do have a wonderful bunch of people whose aim is to ensure we look after you the customer. Some of them have been with me for over 4 years and for that I am grateful. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

After reading some reviews I wasn't sure what to expect, arrived at hotel late and went straight in for dinner. The meal was terrific and the service ( by a spannish waitress who came from Ibiza ) was very good indeed.Our room was a bit on the small side but everything was clean and comfortable.The breakfasts are one of the best we have had at any hotel, with plenty to choose from and the full scottish was excellent.This was our 2nd trip to Grantown on Spey with our 1st stay in the Craiglynn and if there are any more trips to the town we will definately stay at the Craiglynn Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vika6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Many thanks for your kind words after your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to Vanessa our Spanish waitress and in deed also our chef. Feed back from our customers is extremely important and i thank you for taking the time to respond.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews