We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty break!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our family had a lovely break at this hotel, warm, welcoming and relaxing. Ideally located for attractions at Aviemore/ Carrbridge and Inverness and also for a wander around the town and river walks on the doorstep. The food was wonderful with attention to detail, plenty to choose from and all our tastes catered for, including a young child, teenager and adults, no easy task! Succulent juicy steaks in the evening, tasty fresh fruit salads and full breakfast buffet to die for, we would certainly recommend this hotel for excellent food, friendly service, cleanliness and comfort.

Room Tip: We had rooms next door to each other for the children and the stunning view over the gardens was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyll_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments regards your recent stay with us and iam delighted thast everything was to your satisfaction. I will certainly pass on your favourable comments to the staff concerned. Grantown is a lovely place to visit as you mentioned and there is so much to see and do.
Again my thanks for taking the time to review your visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    196
    122
    66
    67
See reviews for
97
323
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomintoul, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Me and my now Husband had our wedding and the Craiglynne Hotel last weekend (15th Oct) The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the Manager (Bob Walker) who kept us right when we weren't quite sure what we were doing ourselves!!lol All the guests were commenting on how good the Wedding Breakfast was, it really couldn't have gone any better, all the staff did a superb job, would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou190281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind words and i am delighted everything went to plan. It is a very important day for a bride and groom and we are always aware of this. I will pass on your comment s regards the food to the chef and also your comments on the staff as well. We wish you all the best for the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Staff at the Hotel were very welcoming and were accommodating of our needs throughout the weekend. I was in a party of 15 and we had a lovely weekend. There is so much to see and do in the local area. We climbed Cairn Gorm, visited the Cairngorm Brewery for a beer tasting, visited the reindeers and some of our number went to the Highland Wildlife Park too. The highlight for me was hiring bikes from Bothy Bikes for beautiful trails - mainly offroad - which took us through forests and near beautiful lochs.

So back to the Hotel, the rooms were great, and very clean. Service excellent. It really was exceptional value and I would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind words and i will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned. Yes it is a lovely part of the country with as you rightly say so much to do. Certainly worth a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Having recently stayed at this hotel over the weekend, I have nothing to complain about like so many of the other reviews for this hotel here. As with all hotels/trips there will always be a time when your expectations are not met, especially if they're impossibly high! Our twin room overlooked the front garden, was spacious, clean & comfortable. Yes the shower room was small but it's a very old building so wasn't expecting a huge ensuite and we didn't mind either that the hallway floor boards squeak.
Over the course of the weekend there were about 5 coach loads that arrived for dinner but we never had trouble booking a table and the service was always friendly & very efficient. There is a large reception area perfect for relaxing where we were allowed to take the dog too. The bar was comfortable also and didn't seem too crowded despite the coaches of people. They all checked out really early anyway so by the time we went down for breakfast they were gone so a nice, quiet, relaxing start to the day with a decent selection of food was had.
There's also a park opposite the hotel perfect for walking the dog or just a stroll around. It only takes 15 minutes to get to Aviemore from Grantown so not too far to get to all the activities in the area (feeding the reindeer at Aviemore is well worth it, very rewarding and fun). All in all, a very enjoyable stay and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front above reception get a good view and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmo_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind words after your recent stay with us and i do appreciate you taking the time to respond. I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned. It really is important to receive constructive critisism after our guests visit and i appreciate the points highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Craiglynne in September this year for 3 nights D B&B using a Classic Britain offer, & had a lovely time - food was really good & staff were very attentive. Room was of average quality, but perfectly fit for purpose. Bathroom was a wee bit elderly - we had a challenge with the flush - it broke, at 11.30pm, but staff repaired it very promptly. The lounge area is very comfortable indeed & perfect for relaxing with the papers/ book. Would definitely stay again. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to front are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and i appreciate the comments you have made. All reviews from our guests are very important as i am sure you will appreciate as it assists in us focusing where we been to make the extra effort so our guests thoroughly anjoy their stay with us.
Again my thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We arrived at this tired and shabby looking hotel (funny how it looked so smart on the internet) at 5:45pm after a long and tiring journey and checked in to a lacklustre greeting, no welcome at all here. We'd booked in for 3 nights Dinner/Bed & Breakfast and were informed that we could only book a table for 6, 6:15 or 6:30pm as they had taken bookings from 2 coach parties who had taken the later times - no apology, no thought to the current time or our weary travel stained appearance or anything. Not a promising start but how could things get worse? How little did we know... Unlocked the door to our room (220) to be hit with a terrible smell - either smoke or damp we thought. My fiance went straight to the window to try to get some fresh air and ... the sash cords were both broken so impossible. In the interim I noticed a body print on one side of the bed - someone had been clearly having an illicit lie down! A large, old damp patch was apparent on the wall near the radiator so this was possibly the source of the smell. We had booked a double room, but this was a twin albeit the beds had been pushed together but made up with single bedding - hardly the romantic break we were expecting! So off we trot to reception but to no avail - not manned and no bell to call for attention, after what seemed an age the nonchalent receptionist appeared and we explained the issues we had. Amazingly - no apology or even concern were forthcoming only 'well its couldn't smoke as the alarms would have gone off'. We were offered an alternative room but only at our insistance and when we inspected this one (room 201), it was clean and fresh but tiny. The plus point was it did have a double bed (despite the receptionist stating that all the rooms were twins). The en-suite had to be seen to be believed though, we've never seen one so small, it contained a tiny shower cubicle - 3 sides comprised 3 walls of the room, then space enough for a toilet opposite and a tiny area (about the size of the shower where guests are expected to undress and dry; and where was the sink? Well in the tiny bedroom would you believe. With 10 minutes to spare we decided to take the room, grab a quick, if claustrophobic shower (good job we are both fairly slim) and dash to the dining room. Gastromic feast? Sadly not, all courses were of poor quality, starters and desserts had obviously been plated up some time earlier and mains were over cooked - these were accompanied by seasonal vegetables - 3 small new potatos, 3 clumps of broccoli and 12 peas to be shared by us both (we did check!). All courses were rushed with no time allowed for a pause, we tried to get one between the main and dessert but were constantly pestered by all of the dining room staff so gave in. Tea and coffee was served afterwards in the lounge but this was not fresh - sitting in urns for some time so we avoided. So we did the sensible thing; strolled into Granton on Spey and found another Hotel - checked out the following morning and moved into the fabulous Grant Arms Hotel - Oh how we wish we had found you first!

Room Tip: Check into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveandPopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and it is obvious from your comments we failed terribly in looking after you during your stay. I am not going to make excuses suffice to say that this is not the service that we pride ourselves in giving and for that i apologise.
Unfortunately when we have large groups staying we have to space out the eating times and it was unfortunate that they all decided to eat later that day thus the reason we could only give times earlier.
I will certainly investigate the damp patch as mentioned in the first room that you occupied.
Again my apologises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A traditional Scottish hotel composed of a large house attached to a second, smaller house by an extension which holds the spacious dining room. Windows look out on gardens with lawns, water features and benches, then the main road into Grantown-on-Spey, and beyond that a large park and a gate to some woodlands with signposts identifying the trees and plants you will see along the way - a pleasant walk before dinner. Rooms vary, but we had two adjacent rooms, the larger one with a bay window but both with a table and two chairs and views out across the park to the mountains. (We also watched thousands of Harley Davidson motorbikes pass by on their way to Thunder in the Glens in the town square on the Saturday).
Staff from various European countries, all very friendly and helpful. The lounge area has a comfortable sofas and chairs, with plenty of space except when one of the many coach parties decide to congregate and move seating into a large circle. Two open fire places at each end of the room mean it would be a good winter break hotel. Between the lounge and the dining room is a small bar, with interesting old photos on the walls.
Upstairs, the floorboards creak everywhere you go, but the hotel is in good decorative order. Beds are comfortable, but for some reason my husband got a bedside table, but I did not, so I had to pile pillows and cushions up to put my glasses, watch etc. to hand. Showers are obviously a later addition, and have to be switched on at the wall inside the bedroom before they can be used. Windows can be opened a little way on a warm day, but my daughter had problems with the many smokers congregating outside the conservatory area at the front entrance, and had to shut her windows. Each room has very good tea making facilities, with a generous sized teapot and mugs.
Although they tell you to arrange admission after 11pm, we arrived back at 10.30pm after having dinner in Inverness, and had trouble getting our keys, as the reception was unmanned, we were told to go to the bar, but there was no-one there. I searched the restaurant, but when my husband decided to go, a blonde waitress immediately came out of the restaurant and gave him the keys, so I obviously didn't have the magic touch.
The food in the restaurant is quite good, it was busy every night, but I think the daily coach parties had inclusive packages. A coach arrives early evening with different nationalities every time, they are checked in by their tour guides, and leave very early in the morning, sometimes quite noisily. However, you can't lie in very long as breakfast finishes promptly at 9.30am, even at weekends.
On the last night we had heavy rain and were woken by a persistent drip in the bathroom. It turned out to be a leaking roof, just above the toilet, so I had to wear my cagoule to use the toilet. The receptionist was very helpful, someone came to look at it first thing in the morning, and she offered to change our room. We were leaving that morning, so we were quite lucky it didn't happen earlier, as I think this was one of the best rooms.

Room Tip: If you get a choice, floor 2 at the front, 208 or 209 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We can have a number of groups with us and I remember the group who were in during your stay was a private party who did decide to re arrange our lounge for a get together before our entertainment started. I hope they did not disturb you too much.

Our building is just over 100 years old so I agree that our floorboards can creak in places. The weather on the last night of your stay was very bad and we have since found out that two slates were moved on our roof and this is what created the leak in your bathroom, again I can only apologize for this and can assure you we have had this fixed now so if you return to stay with us again room 209 will be available and dry for you.

Our staff have been with us for a number of years and I will pass your comments onto them.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you back at the Craiglynne in the future.

Carrie MacDonald
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing