We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“dissapointed”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

evening meal was really bad breakfast was what i expected real bad staff were uninterested bar prices over the top throw back to sixties style room front gardens in the net pics look nothing like the real thing complained by telephone about the meals to female manager and was told if you didnt like it not to come back think they are just interested in the budget bus parties to be honest

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your visit to us back in September 2011. I was obviously concerned regards your comments however because of the time scale of the actual visit it is extremely difficult to investigate. All i can say is that the staff that are employed have been with me for a number of years and we receive many positive compliments regards their attitude and service and i find it very strange that on this occassion you felt otherwise. Regards the standard of food again chef has been with me for 2/3 years and does receive positive feed back from our customers. I am sorry i seem so negative however as mentioned it is the time scale of the original stay.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    198
    130
    69
    72
See reviews for
98
331
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After reading done negative reviews on this hotel I was a little anxious about our stay. We wanted a quiet weekend break as we had been given a present Of lunch on board the Strathspey Railway which I must add was a wonderful experience. On arrival we were given a room upgrade due to the company we had booked our stay through so that was a plus. Our room was comfortable and clean with a nice view to the front of the hotel. The staff were helpful and the sitting areas and bar area were comfortable and the bar area was cosy. We were booked in on a DBB basis and the food was ok for a 3 star hotel. Grantown On Spey is a small quiet town with some lovely scenery. We wanted a quiet get away and that was what we got and we enjoyed our weekend very much.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Total disaster from beginning to end, no hot water, mould everywhere (pictures taken), brokern shower, had to use next doors shower. "Tiny" rooms, dark & dingy, our worst nightmare. Tour company obviously hadn't checked this one out as we were on a 5 star tour and paid for 4-5 star hotels!!!!! Whole bus load of 38 Aussies & 2 Americans very dissatisfied and totally disillusioned!

Room Tip: After this experience I am not sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 208mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Having a bus load of visitors parading through the dining room during our evening meal on route to their rooms carrying all their luggage was bizzare. Apart from that hotel nothing special!....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85happyfeet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel is a mixed bag, depending on your luck you may enjoy it or hate it. The public areas are great, the panoramic windows in the beautiful restaurant impressive and the breakfast supreb. But the room was lousy, a mixture of renovated and run down elements (faded vinyl floor in the bathrooom and a new bathtub; worn out furniture and a new flat screen TV, etc) as if the hotel did not dare to have a complete renovation. Worst was the ancient heating system by pipes along the wall that could not be regulated. The room was hot like a sauna, and even the freezing wind from the open window did not help the sweat.
In addition the view from our window consisted of a shaft overlooking other windows. At the bottom of the shaft was a filthy plastic roof covered with heaps of bird droppings.
Just as bad was the fact that the restaurant and the reception both closed at 8PM and the bar served no food. We arrived at 7:50PM and were turned away from the restaurant, going to bed after eating some crackers that we carried with us. To top it off, most of the other guests seemed to be over 70, giving the place the appearance of a nursing home. I guess that if you come in the summer, eat early and get a room with a nicer view you may have a better time.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a scenic view rather than an internal view of the enclosed shaft with bird dropp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us and your varied comments.
It is true that we do have some rooms that overlook the rear of the hotel and i only wish we had 82 that looked over the front to the park--that would be great. At this time of year just prior to closing for the winter we do reduce the opening times of certain areas due to the levels of business generated however we do endeavour to maintain a level of service acceptable to the public. We do have a very mixed bag of age groups that we cater for and we certainly are not reminiscent of an old folks home as you have commented on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Hotel reception area, lounge, bar, dining room - excellent. Food - excellent. Hotel staff - excellent. However we were disappointed with room 115 which was really only suitable for a one-night stay rather than our four nights. The room was small and lacked sufficient storage for belongings.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night request one of the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejr-staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. I am delighted that almost everything was to your satisfaction however on the room size i wish you had brought this to the attention of the hotel on your first day and possibily we could have moved you to another room with more space.
It is extremely difficult to correct com[plaints after the customer has left and i am sure we could have arranged some change.
Again my thanks for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Had a wonderful 2 night break,hotel and surroundings lovely,the food and staff excellent,our room was perfect,will be returning again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiltScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments on the recent stay here at The Craiglynne. All responses from our guests are very important to us and for the development of the hotel and our customer services.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
95 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing