We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked for a 2 night dinner B&B on offer. A lovely welcome at reception, room clean although it certainly could do with an update especially the very noisy squeaky shower which took a while to adjust and heat up! Went to reception to ask if they could tell me who had kindly put a bottle of wine in our room. The receptionist did not know after looking on her system and said maybe it is free ! Think not I said. Found out after a phone call that my beautiful daughter had surprised us but the excitement was taken away from her. Surely a compliment slip beside the bottle with her name should have been in place. The staff at breakfast and dinner were extremely attentive and the food was well presented and tasty. A little surprised that when we came back from our walk at 4.40pm we asked reception for a bottle of wine so that we could sit and relax in reception area. We were told that there was no one available to get one and that the bar opened at 5pm. Did feel annoyed as another table of 4 were sitting with a bottle of red? When the bar opened the bar man was polite and provided a lovely service to us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerryEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

Firstly I apologise in regards to the complete breakdown of communication on our part regarding our receptionist not passing on the correct information about your daughter purchasing your wine, I have spoken to the team on the importance of logging the correct information; I am sorry and I completely understand this is no consolation to yourself.

Staff in the hotel do have personal bar licenses to sell alcohol, and I can confirm that the couple you had seen with the bottle of red wine had actually bought that earlier in day with our other receptionist that was on duty before 3pm, the receptionist that was on duty when you returned to the hotel is a new member of our staff and has still to undergo her training for a personal bar license.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and I have passed your kind comments on to the staff here at the hotel, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Make no mistake, this is an old Victorian pile, which once upon a time would have been luxurious. As with many large hotels of any age, the upkeep must be enormous. Whilst our room (138) was drab and featureless, the experience was made special by the excellent service. All of the staff and waiters wetre courteous and helpful, especially Donny who waited on our table one evening.
We had a 2 night break on a groupon deal and the value for money was absolutely brilliant. The 3 course evening meal, with 3 choices was very good indeed and Breakfast was excellent
The Owners need to spend a bit on the Reception area which is rather gaunt at present, otherwise the all the public areas were fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really do appreciate the time our guests take to leave us feedback.

I am terribly sorry you found the room to drab, room 138 is one of our rooms that overlook the gardens and we generally get a lot of returning guests requesting this room.

We were delighted to read your kind comments and we have passed them on to the team and the individual mentioned.

Once again thank you for your review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Worked in this hotel as a student many years ago so it was fun to come back as a guest. Its still a superb place to be if you want to spend time in the highlands with so many places close by. We did a special deal so wasn't expensive but could be considered expensive if paying full price.We ate dinner in the restaurant ad it was lovely to have sparkling white tablecloths and full menu after having had a few days in the highlands in less grand accommodation. Service was good and the food was delicious. Dining room was busy but staff were attentive and there wasn't too long to wait for meals. Bar was buzzing and overall the atmosphere was very Scottish which is exactly what you want in this location.

Room Tip: We had a room at the ffont of the hotel, bit noisy with traffic as people left the premises late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we very much hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Craiglynne for our October break and really enjoyed it. The staff were very attentive and made sure we were happy. The food was well cooked and the service very good. The hotel is very good value for money and is very popular.
I feel that some of the negative reports could have been dealt with in a different manner and the comments could have been made to staff to give them a chance to respond or make amends before publishing them here.
We will stay at the Craiglynne again. Yes, the floor boards creak and yes it's an older building but the level of service and friendliness from the staff are more than I've had at more expensive hotels around the world.

Room Tip: Front rooms are best like most hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave-mags2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel looks stunning from outside but poor on inside....needs a facelift. Our room (214)was very noisy, we could just about hear everything going on. Very thin walls I think but the whole hotel seems to creak. The room was a double but it was 2 singles pushed together but can just about live with that, however it was clean enough although shower area a bit tired. The food overall was poor, served lukewarm every time. The staff really did try their best to impress and were friendly but came with the wrong orders a couple of times and we heard an argument going on in the kitchen area with raised voices. At times the parking is limited as we had to park out on main street overnight.However its a great location for getting to Aviemore or Inverness easily but needs a fair bit of TLC.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really do appreciate the time our guests take to leave us feedback.

I am terribly sorry you found the room to be noisy, room 214 is indeed a twin bedded room, however all our twin bedded rooms are equipped with zip and link beds, enabling us to zip them together when our guests request a double bedded room.

Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the bad experience you had with our meals, as you can appreciate we do our very best to cater for all individuals and to ensure our food is hot at all times, clearly we got this wrong for you and we are very sorry, however I also do appreciate this is of no consolation to yourselves.

I have discussed these matters with both our kitchen and restaurant teams and we have provided the corrective re training which was clearly necessary, I have also discussed the importance of maintaining a 100% standard of service at all times.

I was disappointed that I did not have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay, when we could have rectified the issues raised; we never like to hear of any of our guests leaving us unhappy.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed on a 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast deal, weekend of 11th October 2013. We had a lovely time, we did get a twin room, not a double, but this just added to the weekend. We had a room at the front overlooking the garden, and loved it. The room was not in need of being done up and the shower room was adequate for the 2 of us. The whole ambiance of the hotel is geared to 'Victorian hunting lodge' style. Staff were friendly and helpful, it was very busy, but still they smiled. Food was good and plentiful, breakfast was a buffet and you could also have a cooked full breakfast also. At this point my eyes were bigger than my stomach, needed no more food until the dinner at night. 3 courses, maybe a bit basic for some, but well presented and always hot and served with a smile. Menu changed each night and a good selection for each course. We would go back again. One down side, maybe needs entertainment, to make it a well rounded trip. Setting is lovely, lucky that we had gorgeous sunshine all weekend.

Room Tip: I f you can have a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStrachan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just got back from a weekend in Craiglynne Hotel. Like the previous reviewer, we also got one of those 'deals'. We were a party of 5, paying £75 each for dinner bed and breakfast. Price wise, it really was very good value but overall the hotel wasn't wonderful. We stayed in room 111 and the floorboards in the hallway kept us up all night and woke us very early. They were extremely loud with people leaving early in the morning. The view out the window looked into another window- quite bleak. The bed was rock solid too. But the bathroom was a good size. And they tried to make the best with nicely painted walls and pleasant bed covers.
The breakfast was very good- a large buffet of cereals and fruit (although none of it actually fresh) Followed by a hot breakfast of salmon and scrambled eggs. Dinner was also good but nothing to write home about. Price of drinks was very unreasonable- £18 for a bottle of pinot and £4 per pint. But I suppose they have to make their money somehow.
Staff all nice and helpful, thought sometimes quite forgetful. Another thing to note was the price of the rooms if you were to just show up or book without a deal. £129 for a double room. There is NO WAY I would pay that for the standard of room available. We probably won't return but if you're looking for a cheap weekend away, then why not..

Room Tip: Anything but 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niamhanderson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

Generally when the hotel is busy, we do have a lot of guests vacating early in the morning for all reasons such as hill walking and excursions etc. I do apologise that you were disturbed by this, but as you can appreciate this is out with our control.

I apologise if you thought our prices for drinks were expensive, however these are in line with the national average.

I am delighted you enjoyed your meals throughout your stay and that overall you found it good value.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,336 reviews
20.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
921 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing