We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Whiskey Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
syracuse, new york
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location for Whiskey Tour”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Old hotel, appears to be used by tour groups. Rooms were cold, heard several people complain showers didn't work. However we only paid 95 pounds for 2 nights including a welcome dinner and breakfast, so this hotel applies to the adage "you get what you pay for."
My husband and I are not fussy...it was very convenient for Whiskey Trail touring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getgoing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

I am afraid I am a little baffled by your comments; no one has mentioned anything in regards to rooms to be cold or showers not working, however since it has been over seven months since you stayed I am unable to fully investigate, however please do accept our sincerest apologies.

Once again thank you for your review.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    204
    135
    73
    73
See reviews for
99
337
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
prestwick
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a two night dbb break. As a family group we had two rooms one double and one single, the double was a superior room facing the front of the hotel, only one complaint it was always warm! What a change to normal hotel rooms at this time of year usually taking ages to heat up
The meals at night and breakfast in morning were excellent and a bottle of wine flung in each night was very welcome. We have stayed at other hotels within this group and have always had an excellent experience and would thoroughly recommend. Them.
The staff that we encountered were all friendly and helpful and we'll turned out.
We will return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank revkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments.

We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for the second time recently,very professional service from front of house team,warm welcome and great local knowledge of transport excetera, the old log fire generates plenty of warmth and just adds a good old dash of nostalgia,we had a front facing room, absolutely tremendous view of the gardens which are exemplary,the snow and the christmas decorations were lovely,there was no need for my woolen jumper though as the room was very hot,the soup was delicious and we both had the potato gnocchi,blue cheese sauce was very nice indeed,nice hot plates, the scrambled eggs were of a high standard, very well seasoned, thanks chef, would recommend a break here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyroamerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and thank you for your kind comments in regards to our meals and I have also passed your comments on to the team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Food was awful soup very salty pasta was pure stodge.scrambled eggs were powdered variety.Our room was freezing I did ask for additional heater but all in use there was only 4 couples. We have received an email apologising but I would rather have a refund.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

As explained in our e-mail that we sent to your following your comment card that you had left us at the hotel, we did try to locate you a heater however they were all in use, We did turn our heating up to full during your stay and I am sorry you thought your room was to be cold, we did have guests complain it was too hot in the hotel and had to open a window throughout their stay.

I have passed your comments on to the kitchen team and discussed the issues with your meals; I can confirm that we certainly do not use powdered eggs in the kitchen and only free range eggs. I have spoken with our restaurant team to establish what went on with the meals and Gyula informed me that you did mention the pasta however you declined a replacement dish.

I am afraid nothing was mentioned at the time when you checked out with us and you assured us everything was okay when handing your key in at the desk, my receptionist had informed me that when you did first check in with us at the hotel you had a deal which included either an upgraded room or a bottle of wine, we did provide you with an upgraded room however you had believed that you had a bottle of wine also, and as a good will gesture the receptionist did offer you two glasses of wine with your evening meal, something she did not have to do.

Once again thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, and I can only apologise your stay was not as good as it could have been.

Warmest regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Perth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just home after having another relaxing break at the Craiglynne Hotel. We stayed for 4 nights, and couldn't fault a thing. All the staff are so nice, and very helpful. A very good choice of menu, and the food was just lovely. After some snow at the start of the week, it was so nice to sit in the lounge at the very nice & welcoming log fire. We have been many times to this hotel, and enjoy it each time we have been, thats why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay and we have passed your kind comments on to the team and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I booked an off-peak one-night stay a couple of nights beforehand, it's an excellent hotel all round, very warm and comfortable. I enjoyed sitting in the lounge area at reception and using the internet in front of a log and coal fire and taking in the highland ambience. Breakfast was very good, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, delicious although the plate was cold. Service excellent, I missed the sign asking you to wait to be seated but the server did not make a big deal of it, brownie points to him as in the US they would not like that. I paid about half the walk-in rate and from what I heard so had many other guests. This place is good, I will be checking it out for a stay with my wife when the weather is warmer, that is indeed a recommendation coming from me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to welcoming yourself and your wife in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our party consisted of two couples , we stayed in rooms 207 and 208 at the front of hotel. It proved to be an excellent stay ,the staff were very friendly from reception to restaurant nothing was of any bother. Compliments to the chef.Food was very good and well presented. We would consider staying here again, Plenty to do in and around the area .

Room Tip: request rooms at front of hotel on first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we very much hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
521 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing