We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely but a bit tired”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The building is lovely and the staff are friendly (though they are a bit shy at first until you've stayed there a couple of nights). Breakfast is great, a good selection of 'help yourself' fruit, cereals, porridge and juice, and the hot food is great, especially the eggs florentine. The evening meals are not quite as good (the venison was a bit overcooked for my liking). The decor, particularly the carpets, are looking a bit tired. But we would stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to read your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
.
I have passed your kind comments on to the team and I am terribly sorry to hear that your evening meals were not up to our usual standard, please accept our apologies.

We do have a rolling maintenance programme in place and our décor is freshened up annually with carpets replaced as needed, and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back to The Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    204
    139
    74
    73
See reviews for
99
340
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms clean and all staff helpful and friendly. Good location for getting about highlands. Pigeons are a bit noisy in morning. Food good and plentiful. Rod Stewart tribute was an added bonus. Would use this hotel again. A few ashtrays outside for the smokers would be a bonus.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DMEM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to read your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, please have a look on our website for our tributes throughout the year.

I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we hope to welcome you back to The Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely two night break at the Craiglinne. Bedrooms clean and comfy, food lovely and staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Overall our expectations were exceeded in every way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to read your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,
I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we hope too welcome you back to The Craiglynne Hotel in the not to distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we have just returned from spending 2 days and nights dinner bed and breakfast at the craigylynne hotel in Grantown on Spey , and we could not fault this hotel . our room was lovely spotless and warm , the staff are brilliant nothing was a problem to them. my partner and I are not big meat or fish eaters and the menu was great but not to our taste, we asked if it would be ok to have some chicken instead the chef then sent us a lovely meal of roast chicken mash and veg which was lovely breakfast is the best we have had, all cooked freshly toast lovely and warm as were all our meals on arrival.
we must mention Daniel , Ian and Donny the waiters in the restaurant they were brilliant my partner said he was hungry and could he have a little extra on his plate, well they looked after him from that moment on with lovely big portions both nights, and this morning before we left his breakfast was fit for a king thank you to all three of you for making our stay very very enjoyable with a wee laugh and your assistance in finding good pubs. we hope to return again to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who likes good quality service and hospitality

Room Tip: ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback; we were pleased to read you enjoyed your short break with us

I am glad that the Chef was able to meet your requirements with your evening meals, and I have also passed on your kind comments to the staff mentioned, who were extremely delighted.

Once again many thanks for your review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked this Hotel for 2 nights DBB and after reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay. The Suite was very spacious and well decorated. The only down side was the Sink in the ensuite was very small and no where to put toiletries on a sloping sink.

The Evening Meal was very nice in both quality and quantity as was the Breakfast, the Barman was very pleasant and well mannered and deserves a big thank you.

The location of the Hotel in the Highlands was just what we needed and lends its self to easy access via beautiful countryside to many small Villages/Towns in the area.

Will have no problems recommending it to others and looking forward to returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for raising the issue with the sink, I have now passed this on to our in house maintenance team to rectify the issue. Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed to both our kitchen team and to the barman.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

just returned from a 2 night DBB deal through easybreaks. The room was clean and comfortable, the only downside was the shower, had difficulty turning it on and off. The staff were all very nice and attentive and there was a nice atmosphere. The food was very good although there did seem to be a mis- communication problem between the food waiters and wine waiter. But overall it was a good break and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishcorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback.

I must apologise if you had difficulty with using the shower; I have checked back our guest feedback log and nothing has been reported, I only wish you could have mentioned it at the time and we could have assisted you with this issue.

Once again many thanks for your review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had a great weekend, played golf at Garnton on Spey GC very welcoming, nice course that's not too challenging.

Hotel had some good and bad points. Food was good, staff were great and very accommodating. The entertainment Tribute act was excellent, the guy put a lot into it and was very good. Also the selection of Malts at very reasonable prices!.

Room was very small for a twin, but clean if a bit dated. The hotel has a nice open fire in the main reception area, all set up to be lit, problem was nobody did...... it would have made such a difference.

If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with decent food then this one is as good as any, its not 4 or 5 * though but again they don't claim to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stirlingtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback, our log fires are regularly lit during the evenings, however due to the weather change recently; it has been rather warm in the hotel, please accept my apologies if this had affected your stay in any way.

We were all extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
532 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing