We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dated but great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Craiglynne Hotel
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A bit dated but great breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room was quite dated and small.

There was no air conditioning but there was a window that opened and due to the time of year, this kept the room cool enough.

There was free wireless but Internet was slow.

The bed was OK.

The bathroom was very basic.

There is a bar with a decent selection of beer and scotch.

The dining room that serves a very good quality breakfast with a great selection of cold foods buffet style and hot foods to order.

This hotel is very dated but is a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us, I must apologise that the room was not to your liking, should you re-book with us please do not hesitate to give us a call and we can organise an upgrade free of charge. Many thanks for your kind comments regarding our breakfast service.

Once again many thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    196
    123
    66
    67
See reviews for
96
324
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had made reservations at this hotel and on arrival found 3 coaches arriving at the same time. This was the second Crerar hotel in as many nights - the other being the Ben Wyvis in Strathpeffer. After an awful experience at the Ben Wyvis we hoped this one would be better. What a difference a day makes. No complaints whatsoever. Reception staff, bar staff, dining room staff excellent. Food quantity and quality very good. Carryon Craiglynne - don't change anything !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort-william
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at the craiglynne in grantown a lot of times over the years and happened to be looking to go away for my friends birthday last month when I seen they were having the Rod Stewart tribute night on we booked for two night (2couples) we can really say we had a brilliant night the dinner before the show was lovely and the tribute singer was just fab everybody that was there said it was great. Breakfast in the morning was really nice then we went out an about for the day loads to do up in Grantown and surrounding areas well worth a visit will be back again, and a lovely quite area to read if if you just want to chill out lovely week end

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gran210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and the entertainment we had organised, I have pass your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel.

Please keep in touch with us direct to find out about our up and coming entertainment breaks.

Once again many thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the whisky festival. Had dinner on the 1st night, really nice and staff very attentive. Breakfast good. Only problem I had was because I had my dog with me obviously only select rooms, the room I got was so small I had to put the chair in the wardrobe to make room for the dogs bed on the floor, also a very steep set of steps up to the room, not the best thing for a dog with dysplasia. Hotel was full and very busy. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Bar is nice and good that you can get your dog in with you. Would return for another stay but not in that room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback from our guests and hope to work upon it to improve our standards and service.

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and all the staff here are very appreciative of your kind comments regarding the service. I must apologise that the room was too small for you and your dog, should you re-book with us please do not hesitate to give us a call and we can organise an upgrade free of charge.

Once again many thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balfron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having stayed in several Crerar Hotels I found this one above average.
Fairly large hotel with imposing frontage set back from the main road with gardens and private road providing limited car parking but no real problem as a lot of users are bus parties.
Rooms seem to vary but we were lucky and had no problems. The large dining room provides reasonable table d'hote dinners and good partly buffet style breakfasts. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a three night dinner bed and breakfast break in April. The room was quite large with a lovely big bathroom, all very clean and presentable. The food was of a very high standard, in particular my husband enjoyed the Finnan Haddie at breakfast. There was a good choice at dinner and breakfast and was well presented. We were very impressed with the very quick service and all the dining staff were very polite and friendly. One of the best Easy-breaks hotels we have stayed at. Definitely would recommend a visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank janette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback.

We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your break with us, and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff here at the hotel, and the chef was delighted to hear you enjoyed the meal choices on offer.

Once again many thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in room 216, which was a single in area with a large double bed in it! Toilet very, very small no extracter so room ran with condensation! Toilet door did not close. Dinner below average, breakfast good.ø

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Glasgow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Firstly I must apologise that you were unhappy with your choice of room, I can confirm that room 216 is a standard sized rooms which hold a king sized bed, unfortunately you did not mention anything at the time, as we would have been more than happy to relocate your room.

We have checked the extractor fan in room 216 and it appears to be fully functioning, I can only imagine that it was switched off at the wall.

Once again thank you for your review and I am extremely disappointed that you did not mention any of these issues at the time, when I could have discussed these with you.

Many thanks
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
24.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Property: The Craiglynne Hotel
Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing