We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardconnel House B&B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B & B”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Ardconnel is a delightful, highly recommended B & B. Francoise and Tom were welcoming and friendly. Molly (the dog) was an absolute delight. Our room was large, modern and spotless. All the accessories one could hope for, TV, DVD, tea, coffee, extra milk as well as bottled water. The breakfast was a delicious feast of large proportion. Tom's knowledge of the history of the area and surrounding homes was fascinating, his advice on scenic routes was great. We highly recommend Ardconnel House.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a fantastic B&B, 5 star all the way! The room was immaculate, new, modern and the nice touches like shortbread, toiletries, bottled water were appreciated. We were made to feel very welcome and Tom even drove us down the village to meet friends which was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and a Scottish fry up, nom nom nom. If you are in the area could not recommend this B& B highly enough. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejamtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Thanks to Tom, Francoise and Molly for making us so welcome on our recent stay in their beautifully decorated home. The accommodation is of a very high standard, better than the 5 star B&B we had stayed in the week before. The breakfast was lovely, I love scrambled eggs which can be cooked badly but not here they were just perfect. Something else I am fussy about is bread but there was no plastic white sliced here, the fresh coffee in the bedrooms is another nice touch. It's these little things that mean a lot to me and turn an ok B&B into a really good one. I would wholeheartedly recommend Ardconnel House and wish them luck in their venture.

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marietait34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife, our two mums and myself are from Australia and emailed 4 properties in Grantown on Spey a few days prior to arriving requesting availablilty and only Tom at Ardconnel came back to us. We are so glad that was the case. Tom and Francoise are fantastic hosts, the property and rooms are superb, the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and their local knowledge is tremendous. And thank you Tom for the whiskey education! We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Ardconne House to anybody. Thanks again Tom and Francoise.(and Molly of course)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent the holiday weekend 3-6th May 2013 at Ardconnel House. We live in rural Perthshire and generally take two weekend breaks a year in the more rural parts of Scotland for cycling and golf. During the course of the weekend our hosts revealed that we were their first paying guests. We feel we just have to follow that up with entering their first review on Trip Advisor. We cannot praise our hosts highly enough for their hospitality, service and presentation of their accommodation. Our room and en-suite were immaculate, tasteful, spacious, comfortable and attractive as was the rest of the house. Our breakfasts were equally well presented, extensive and delicious – we reckon the porridge would be hard to beat in the Golden Spurtle World Porridge Making Championships! There were many extra touches demonstrating their thoughtfulness in the preparation of their business start-up. When searching for accommodation we always aim for a minimum 4 star rating and there is no doubt that our hosts have achieved this at the very least. We wish them well in their new venture and look forward to returning.
PS: And Molly the dog was every bit as welcoming and hospitable as her owners.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently had a very pleasant overnight stay at Ardconnel House with our 2 small children.

We found it difficult to find a B&B in the area that looked like it had decorated more recently than 1990, until we stumbled upon Ardconnel House. It really is a delight. We had a comfortable room at the top of the house with all the necessary mod cons plus a few additional extras such as speciality teas, a dvd player (selection of dvds available downstairs) and stereo.

Tom & Francoise were welcoming and helpful at all times. They are new to the trade but you could tell that they really care about their busines and the quality of your stay.

The breakfast was delicious to boot!

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
2.6 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
733 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,269 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardconnel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardconnel House B&B

Property: Ardconnel House B&B
Address: Ardconnel House Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardconnel House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardconnel House is a luxury B&B set in the Strathspey Area of the Cairngorms National Park. It is a traditional Victorian Villa in an ideal location on the edge of the village. A ten minute stroll down a well maintained woodlands path will take you to the majestic River Spey and 10 minutes is also all it takes to walk into the village centre. We have 5 bedrooms of the highest quality including a luxurious 4 poster bedroom (Glenlivet) with a large modern en-suite featuring a period bath and a walk-in shower. The other rooms have also been recently refurbished and decorated to a high standard, including Balvenie on the ground floor which also has a large walk-in shower. All bedrooms are en-suite, wifi, flat screen colour TVs and tea / coffee making facilities. Our breakfasts are all prepared from local highland produce and our hospitality is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ardconnel House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardconnel House B&B Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing