We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super quality, friendly guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rossmor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rossmor Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super quality, friendly guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a night in this guest house and wished we could have had more. Karen and her husband couldn't have been friendlier and made the experience most enjoyable. Rossmor is a lovely Victorian house and our room was extremely comfortable. We shall go back next time we are in the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGMike1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review, especially as you could only be with us for a short time. We hope the MG event was enjoyable and successful - we loved the sound of your V8 on our driveway! Hope to see you again soon in Grantown on Spey. Best wishes, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
190
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a wonderful time in the Rossmor BB. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful, the house was very clean and nice. We will definitly come back!

Super schönes und sauberes BB mit sehr zuvorkommenden und netten Besitzern. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt, Danke!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to RossMor and hope to see you here again some time in the future. There is so much to do here, you just can't fit everything in on one trip! With best wishes, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We made the booking on the back of other reviews and we were not dissapointed. The owners, Karen and Neil, were excellent hosts and to reiterate other reviewers they are both working hard to ensure the needs of individual guests are met. We only stayed one night on this trip but will definately recomend Rossmor to our friends and family and look forward to a repeat visit in the very near future. PS. Check out Neils porridge and Karens home made bread and preserves at breakfast. Well done both and thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Dave_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
"A gem in Grantown" - thank you so much! We are really pleased we managed to live up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the homemade bread and preserves. It is very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review and also to recommend us to others, we really appreciate it. We would love to host you again in the future and hope you can include us in your plans next time you visit the Highlands. Best wishes, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough. We only stayed one night but it was great. The owners were so friendly, our room was lovely (we had the one with the four poster bed) and the price was very reasonable. Our room had everything we needed and best of all was the bathroom, it was the cleanest bathroom I have ever seen - it was spotless - and that is very important to me. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of it and more offered. Overall a fantastic place to stay with wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: The four poster room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
What a great review, thank you! We are pleased that you loved your room and bathroom, these things are so important when you stay away from home. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your break as much as you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we might see you again some time if you visit the Cairngorms in the future. Thanks again, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikkim
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I decided to book Rossmor after reading the reviews on TA. And it was even better than expected.
Karen and Neil were extremely helpful, right from the beginning – giving us little tips about the weather, asking about any special dietary requirements, etc. And when I told Neil that this was part of a surprise for my husband who is a whisky enthusiast, he put together a lot of info on the whisky trail!!!! And we did manage to visit quite a few!! Thank you Neil!
Rossmor is a beautiful house, with years of history behind it. And Karen and Neil have put in a lot of effort in maintaining and retaining the special ‘victorian’ look and feel. The rooms, their décor, the eye for detail, it is indeed a treat. And what makes it all special is the warmth and the special personal touches. We stayed in the triple room and it was quite spacious, despite the beds and a seating arrangement. You couldn’t ask for more…
Breakfast was a wide spread to choose from. I still can recall Karen’s homemade bread and the way they pampered us!!
And last but not least - little Ross - the star of the show. (Please give him a big hug from all of us! We have more pics of him than of the B&B!!)
Other pluses: The B&B is located right on the road so one doesn’t need to go looking for it!! There is also a dedicated parking available. For dinner, follow Neil’s recommendations and you won’t go wrong! He recommended the Craig Bar, which turned out to be an excellent choice with the local flavour that we were looking for. Robbie’s ales and and Beryl’s pies were one of the highlights of our visit to Scotland!!
Thank you Karen and Neil for making our stay so special. We plan to come again some day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
What an amazing review, thank you! And, we will let Robbie and Beryl know how much you enjoyed their pies (Craig Bar). We agree, they are great. We were delighted that we were able to help you plan part of your surprise trip around the distilleries. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your stay and Ross is missing you :( He is very popular - so many guests want to meet him, and he loves all the attention he's getting. It's a shame he can't cook to help with breakfasts! If you like our facebook page, we will upload photos of him as he grows older so you can see him again. We would love you and your family to stay with us again in the future. Karen and Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in several guest houses as part of our tour around Scotland and Rossmor was quite simply, fantastic.
Karen and Neil have a lovely house and to say they are new to the business are clearly working very hard to get things just right and succeeding.
Their welcome was warm and genuine, their knowledge of the area extensive and we found their advice on where to eat particulary helpfull.
The little touches they add made our stay really special, from the offer of their garage to store our motorbike, sourcing decaff coffee just for us (sorry to be a nuisance)to the homemade bread and jam at breakfast it was all done so well. We loved the rooms, which were immaculate and comfortable.
We could go on and on, suffice to say if you want a guest house in this area, don't waste time looking any further, you'll not find better, it was perfect.
Thank you so much for looking after us, we hope to return.
Good luck for the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our homemade bread and jam. We made some more today with raspberries from the garden. The decaff coffee was really no problem at all. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review and hope to see you again some time in the future. I'm missing that Norfolk accent already! Maybe you could visit for Thunder in the Glen in August, when you can join all the Harley enthusiasts who ride through Grantown. Hope to see you again, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights and loved it. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was varied and delicious. The location is great- a short walk into town, and just next to the River Spey and many beautiful walking trails, as well as a short drive to the national park. But what makes Rossmor such a great guest house is the attention to detail made by Karen and Neil in every way. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It's a lovely walk down to the river from the house and there are plenty of trails through the woods too. Maybe on your next trip :) you could try some mountain biking on some of our trails! We sincerely hope to see you again at RossMor, and we might even bump into you in New York some time, when we visit family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#4 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmor Guest House

Property: Rossmor Guest House
Address: Ross Mor Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RossMor is a beautiful Victorian Villa set in half an acre of terraced gardens, with beautiful views over the pine woods, lochan and Cromdale Hills. It is a quick walk to the village centre and the River Spey and walking trails through the woods are accessed from across the road. RossMor is the perfect base for exploring the Highlands including the Whisky Trail, Cairngorm Mountains, birdwatching and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rossmor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmor Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing