We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay at the Rossmor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rossmor Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay at the Rossmor”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Rossmor for two nights while touring distilleries in Speyside and Highlands.

The B & B was beautiful and very comfortable to stay in. The owners were great. They gave us advice of where to go, eat and things to see. The breakfast in the morning was really good. My husband would definitely recommend the black pudding!

The Rossmor was a great place to visit and I would recommend to anyone and everyone!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thedudette373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
So kind of you to post such a lovely review following your stay at RossMor! We really enjoyed your company, and we are pleased you enjoyed your private tour of some of the local distilleries. As you probably know there are over 30 distilleries to visit here, so hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit again in the future - we will make sure the black pudding stocks are in place! Thanks again, K and N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
193
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I spent a few nights at Rossmor and were thoroughly pleased with Karen and Neil and their beautiful B&B! It was so nice spending time conversing with them.
They have a beautiful and spacious sitting room with a cozy fireplace. Info about the area is well organized and available and the hosts were very helpful in all aspects; dining, sightseeing, directions and more.
Breakfast was delicious and included Karen's homemade bread! Restaurants that were suggested were great! I even discovered new Scottish music they played at breakfast. So happy we picked this place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review and for posting some of your photos, they are great. We enjoyed learning more about some of the antiques in the house during your visit :) We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and our homemade bread and maybe we will see you again on another visit to Scotland! Thanks again, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at RossMor at Easter, and wish we could have stayed longer!
Karen and Neil made us feel so welcome, and went out of their way to make sure we had relaxed and comfortable stay. Their knowledge of the surrounding area helped us make the most of our time in the Cairngorms, with the location in Grantown being ideal for visiting attractions in Carrbridge, Aviemore and Inverness with only a short drive.
The breakfast each morning was delicious (between us we sampled most of the cooked breakfast items), and the dining room faces into the beautiful front garden where you can watch the local wildlife have their own breakfast from the bird/squirrel feeder - we didn't see any red squirrels, but I'm told they do appear occasionally!
Our room at the front of the house was beautiful, clean, and the bed was luxurious. We woke up after returning home and wished we were still at RossMor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at RossMor over Easter, it was great to meet you both. Thanks also for your very kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. It's a shame you didn't see any red squirrel, it has just been so mild this winter they don't need to depend on us for much food this year. There are lots in the woods across from RossMor so you'll just need to come back and visit us again here in the Cairngorm National Park - be great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second 3-night stay at Rossmor and we enjoyed it every bit as much as the first time. Karen and Neil are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and at home. Nothing is too much for them. We met guests from our previous visit plus another couple who had returned to stay at Rossmor. The fact that visitors are returning to enjoy more of the same speaks for itself! The cooked breakfast was delicious, complemented by home-made bread toasted, along with cereal and fresh fruit and yoghurt. Our bedroom was very comfortable and all that we wanted. Grantown is an excellent base for visiting the Cairngorms and the Moray Coast and Rossmor continues to be our first choice for accommodation when we visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordofthemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your return visit to RossMor. We are really pleased you liked the various improvements we have made since your previous visit and we very much look forward to looking after you again when you next return to Grantown on Spey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Rossmor for one night and we both wish it could have been for longer. Karen and Neil made us feel very welcome and after showing us to our room, which was attractive and comfortable, we took tea in the guest lounge. With a lovely woodburning stove and a visit from Ross, their adorable dog, we could easily have sat there all evening! We had a good dinner followed by a couple of malt whiskies at the Garth Hotel, recommended by our hosts and then it was back to Rossmor where we had an excellent sleep. Breakfast was a treat, because of the the delicious food and the lovely views from our table. On finding out that we liked antiques and bookshops, Karen and Neil recommended a visit to Logie Steading, about 20 minutes' drive north. With a bookshop, antiques shop, farm shop and cafe amongst others, it was well worth it. We do hope to return to Rossmor for a longer stay this year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you both for taking the time to write your kind review. We really enjoyed meeting and hosting you and would love to see you again some time soon. Take care and have a great 2014! Karen and Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetzikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Already at the entrance we were welcomed by the most welcoming people ever during our entire trip. We were shown the house and our spacious and fully equipped room. The service, the facilities (especially the guest room downstairs), but most of all the hospitality was overwhelming and made us truly sad to leave the next day after only spending 1 night.

We loved the location, just outside the city centre, close to some of the most charming wiskey distilleries and in the middle of a very beautiful area.

Surely we will come back, even if we have to make a detour during our future trip. If not only to see the wiskey collection of the owner and to enjoy their breakfast once more.

We loved this place and without a doubt can say it was one of our best B&B's ever. Keep up this great work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verlawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
What a surprise on New Year's Day to receive such a wonderful and kind review - many thanks! We are really pleased you enjoyed RossMor and the surrounding area. Beautiful isn't it, although perhaps we are just a bit biased? We hope you do take that detour next time you are in the Highlands and come and visit RossMor again in the future. Have a happy and healthy 2014, Karen and Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend at Rossmor, a great base from which to explore the northern side of the Cairngorms and the Spey valley and just a short walk from the centre of Grantown.
Neil and Karen could not be more welcoming. They took the trouble to show us round the guest house when we arrived and throughout our stay were a great source of suggestions and information about the local area, even phoning on our behalf to check the availability of tours, restaurants etc.
The guest house is clean, warm, well-decorated and furnished and very comfortable. There is a lovely communal lounge with a wood-burning fire, plenty of information about the local area and even a classical guitar to play. Across the hallway is the breakfast room - both rooms look out across the Cairngorms. Throughout the guest house you have good access to fast broadband.
We went for the top-of-the-range room with a four poster bed, which also had a great view over the hills. The room had tea and coffee-making facilities and a hair dryer, and the en-suite bathroom had a very effective shower.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with lots of options to choose from - fresh fruit, cereals, toast (made with home-made bread) and a choice of traditional porridge or a yoghurt compote followed by a hot course - I went for the perfectly-cooked full Scottish breakfast every time while my wife tried the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. Each evening you can choose what time you would like to eat breakfast the following morning.
I can't think of a single thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable. We would certainly recommend Rossmor as a great place to stay, and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varjakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Many thanks for such a positive, thorough and kind review! We were really pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebrations in the Grantown area and hope all your Christmas concert preparations went to plan. We really enjoyed having you to stay and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you to RossMor again in the near future. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
627 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#4 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossmor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmor Guest House

Property: Rossmor Guest House
Address: Ross Mor Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossmor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RossMor is a beautiful Victorian Villa set in half an acre of terraced gardens, with beautiful views over the pine woods, lochan and Cromdale Hills. It is a quick walk to the village centre and the River Spey and walking trails through the woods are accessed from across the road. RossMor is the perfect base for exploring the Highlands including the Whisky Trail, Cairngorm Mountains, birdwatching and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rossmor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmor Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing