We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant late May bank holiday stay”
Review of J & J B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J & J B & B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant late May bank holiday stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A bit late for this review...! But I stayed here with three friends on the last two nights of the late May bank holiday. Jenny and John are just wonderful, lovely people :). We were given tea and coffee on arrival, as well as home made cakes (yum yum yum). The rooms are absolutely spotless, really well furnished and equipped - almost as if you are staying inside in a high end five star hotel - but the outside is just serene countryside, so peaceful - a really lovely location to really get away from it all and be in silence. Jenny and John were also very helpful in terms of tips for things to do in the local area. I would love to go back! If only it were closer to London, I would be there all the time! Oh, and the brekkie is delish with numerous options.

Room Tip: Only two rooms I believe and they were both brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I spent a night here with my great aunt and uncle on our way back to England from Inverness. John and Jenny were wonderful, giving us a very warm welcome. The rooms were great, clean, tidy and with an amazing hospitality tray in each room - the shortbread was to die for. The breakfasts were delightful, with the French toast I had making me the envy of the car trip home :) This is definitely a place where you should stay, whether for a night or a few more days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenB905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently spent three nights at J & J b&b. This place is excellent with every thing you require to have a comfortable and highly enjoyable stay. Jenny and John are so thoughtful. Jenny baked a delicious strawberry and chocolate cake for my birthday. Prepare to put on weight, the breakfasts are amazing and made from locally sourced indredients. J&J is better than any 5 star hotel. The attention to detail in everything you might need during your stay is second to none. The bungalo is set in beautiful scenery, nice and quiet at night but still within easy reach to Granton on Spey. The views from our spotlessly clean and comfortable bedroom were awesome. This area is beautiful with so many things to see and do. We loved it and will definately return to this top notch accomodation. Thanks again Jenny and John, you deserve to do well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniceS712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed here at the end of May Bank Holiday for two nights. A very warm welcome by Jenny and John with hot tea/coffee and home made cakes on arrival. Rooms were spotless, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - make sure you have some of the home made jam.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London77Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

well you will not be disappointed at this little gem of a place john and jenny are the perfect hosts and make you so welcome and give lots of advice on places to visit with listening to other guests they know which places are of interest are the best there certainly is so much to do in this area all very interesting so unfortunately for them we will have to go back .We certainly had a good start to the day with a delicious breakfast that keeps you going all day perfectly presented and nothing is too much trouble they will be a hard act to follow and certainly the best b and b for us.first class accommodation with top class hosts.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Jenny and John were very hospitable, friendly. We (young couple without children) stayed for one night. The accommodations were comfortable, clean, and decorated tastefully. The rooms had available tea and cookies. Upon arriving they made us feel right at home with hot tea and home baked breads. We were even able to arrange to wash a load of clothes for a small/reasonable fee. Breakfast was very tasty. Overall, it was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed at.

Room Tip: The B/B does not come up as a correct location on Google maps (which is about 100meters off). The B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very welcoming. Transported 4 walkers from end and to start of 3 days walking. Accommodation excellent, breakfast great, check out the black pudding and the size of the on-site free range eggs! Packed lunches available on request. Hosts Jenny and John very friendly.
This was the best of 5 B&Bs used on our Speyside Way walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirewalker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
5.6 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
532 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
745 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
407 reviews
3.0 mi away
Strathallan Bed and Breakfast
Strathallan Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
127 reviews
5.5 mi away
Netherfield Bed and Breakfast
Netherfield Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Dulnain Bridge
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J B & B

Property: J & J B & B
Address: 'Bedrock' | Cromdale & Balmenach, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bungalow in tranquil location, set in the beautiful Spey Valley, within the Cairngorms National Park. Luxury en-suite double or twin bedrooms with views of the surrounding countryside. Adjacent to the Balmenach distillery (est. 1823) and within easy walking distance to the River Spey. Three miles from the picturesque town of Grantown on Spey. Abundant wildlife on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J & J B & B Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing