We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cracking wee spot!”
other travellers have booked this property
Kangei and Failte
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kangei and Failte
Kitchen Sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Kangei and Failte
Kitchen
Sittingroom
Conservatory
Double bedroom
Family bathroom
Twin en suite bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenk1990
1 review
“Cracking wee spot!”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Brilliant little cottage, perfect location, perfect size, a great home away from home. Only complaint would be that it got quite cold but we were there during a cold spell. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Appreciate the lovely review. Thanks. D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavefamil...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy & Comfortable & Quiet.”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

You will find this period cottage situated just off the main road up a quiet lane through a gated entrance, very secure if you have young children or a dog....both in our case!
The cottage has a large kitchen diner and spacious seating area which is open planned over looking the garden....the kitchen is very well equipped and has everything!
Double bedroom located upstairs with a full bathroom, large twin room with ensuite downstairs... this room is comfortably large enough for 3 single beds....we have this arrangement with our 3 daughters. Large cosy lounge with log burner...home from home with regards to Wifi, TV, dvds, games etc... The location is great to walk into the town or explore the surroundings area...You will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thanks for this fabulous review. Keep coming back......
D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K
Leusden, The Netherlands
1 review
“Nice complete cottage”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have had a great week in this cottage. A big good equipped kitchen and a small living room but big enough for the four of us. The bathroom is new with a great shower. The two bedrooms are with comfortable beds. Grant own-on-Spey is a nice little town. The shops are at walking distance from the cottage. It is an ideal location to explore the Caingorn Mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: the living room
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim and C...
1 review
“Decent holiday accommodation near Aviemore”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Comfortable, clean accommodation, with good facilities. Good, clear communications both for arrangements and within the accommodation itself. Good wi-fi! Quiet location well set-back from the main road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBev
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent quiet base to explorer the area from”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Quiet location yet near to the town for the amenities. Great to be able to walk from the door into the woods nearby. Cottage was warm, cosy and well equipped. Free wifi enabled us to research local walks and events. Another great holiday in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“'On your knees to read the meter'”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have rented a number of properties in Scotland but this was the most disappointing of all. Upon arrival, after a long journey, we have to go down on our hands and knees to check the meter reading shows what we have paid for . We did this daily to make sure we did not run out of energy. This is is the first time we have ever had to do this and it was poor.
The house, upon arrival, was musty, cold and had no hot water available. The working surfaces in the kitchen and the table we had to clean. The bed linen had seen better days and the upstairs bathroom needs quite urgent attention.
The location and parking were good and the week celebrating Grantown's 250th anniversary with all that was going on helped us have a good week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in the Highlands and enjoying Grantown 250
Liked least: Having to daily monitor the energy meter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Kangei. But to reply to your concerns for the benefit of future guests I can assure them that the electric meter is easily accessible in the porch. I appreciate you had a light bulb blow in the bathroom, bulbs do blow but it was replaced within a few hours of you reporting it. The bathroom itself is not very old, perhaps the style is not ultra modern but I prefer to keep it in style with the age and ambience of the cottage, the reason a lot of people come to the cottage originally and return each year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salarfish...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I spend good time with my friends in Failte Cottage. The place was nice and tidy. Large kitchen with cooking appliances. Nice bathroom and living room with fire place.
Hope so to come back Failte in the future.....

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Kangei. Welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing