We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
165
125
34
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
125
34
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonscottish hotellovely mealfriendly hotelsunday lunchthe main streetsmall hotelopen firelovely roomfirst classwarm welcomefour poster bedblack puddingdining roomenjoyable stayevening mealexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Once again stayed at the Garth while visiting Inverness on business. If you are struggling for a room in Inverness try here, it's only 1/2 an hour away. Set in the picturesque village of Grantown you won't get a better deal, £45 dinner, bed & breakfast. The dinner is worth that alone! The venison was to die for. Breakfast is very good too. I have been here quite a few times now and the service is always friendly and first class. Room are very comfortable and warm. Nice cosy lounge with real fire. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennybOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had dinner here whilst on a Highland break and couldn't get over how nice it was right from the moment we walked in and were greeted by a lovely lady through to the amazing food. My partner had lobster which was brilliantly priced and very well cooked, in fact our meal was one of the best we had all holiday and the service was as perfect as you can get. If we are back in the area again we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygal234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here for One Night on Business , late Winter rate of £30 for Bed and Breakfast was excellent value . The hotel is very cosy , clean and friendly , the room was a good size , clean with modern decor , terrestial tv only no digital . I ate in the restraunt and the food was excellent with decent portions I had the seafood chowder and the lamb fillet . The breakfast was also very good . . The hotel allows dogs and one was barking fairly close to my room however , once notified , the staff immediatly contacted the owner and got the dog to be quiet !.
I would definately stay here again .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Perfect base for visiting distileries and being just out of season a real bargain. The staff were very friendly, food very good and the room was first class. Looking for an excuse to go again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Staying in Grantown on Spey for a fortnight in self-catering accommodation, we decided to treat ourselves to a meal out on our last night. The Garth is the only hotel in Grantown worth the candle, in our opinion. Dinner was lovely from arrival to departure, with friendly, attentive staff. The choice of food on offer was admirable and the quantity and quality exceptional. Indeed, we felt perhaps they'd been a little too generous in their portions! Starters were almost like main courses, and mains left us little room for dessert - but we managed! Huge pots of coffee were brought at the end, and an excellent, modestly priced wine complimented the meal. Our total bill was around the £67 mark, which, given the whole experience, we felt was good value for money. Going by the number of locals who were also dining that evening, we are obviously not alone in thinking this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AyrshireHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews