We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Crail, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Have just returned from a three night break at this hotel which was excellent. The accommodation, quality of food in the restaurant and service are in my opinion hard to beat. The room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ordered a packed lunch for one of the days we were there which at £6.50 was excellent value for both quality and value. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Without doubt we will be returning to the Garth and will recommend it to our friends and family.

We are really surprised this hotel only gets 3 stars from the Scottish Tourist Board.

An excellent base to tour the Speyside area and the staff are helpful when it comes to planning days out with recommedations on where to go and what to seewhich only comes with local knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crailkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    107
    26
    9
    14
See reviews for
53
145
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is one of the places to return to year after year, where the standards are always high, the staff friendly and efficient, and the food delicious. It's where the locals go to eat too, which is always a good sign!
Just one problem - the beds are very firm indeed, so be warned.
WiFi downstairs in the public rooms only, which might be a problem for some.
The best value, and best atmosphere, in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asitis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely traditional hotel that has a lovely atmosphere. Small bar, but there is a lounge too which is very comfy. Staff were very welcoming throughout the hotel and helpful.
Meals were great - everything homemade. The only let down was that the chips were not made in house and were just the bog standard chunky chips that soaked up the oil the fryer.
Room was excellent. Very spacious. We were near a fire exit which we were told we could use at any time day or night to take our dog out.
Our dog was made very welcome and the staff spoiled him. He loved the attention and sitting in the bar after his evening walk.
Very extensive array of single malts which my partner enjoyed.
Will be back!

Room Tip: If you have a dog its great getting a room near a fire escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed 1 night stay 27th July 2013 family if three children. Phoned up last minute to book and reception staff could not be more helpfull. When got to hotel staff lovely, easy parking, clean, food amazing not to mention Whisky collection aswell ( not for me). For all hotel and accommodation I have stayed in in all the years this one must be the best for service and helpfulness .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keirran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Looking for a weekend break in Strathspey, we found the Garth Hotel on a late booking site and reserved three nights. Despite the last-minute reservation, our room, which was a 'standard double', was excellent with a (modern, steel-framed) four poster bed and, impressively, a small seating area in the bay window. The view was down the main street, over an ornamental garden, which in this location was probably about the best in the hotel.

The staff were all friendly and attentive and added to the experience. We dined in the restaurant on only one night, but the meal was of a very high standard and served promptly. The breakfasts comprised a buffet selection of cereals, juices and fruits, followed by the full highland selection of locally sourced meat and fish.

The bar is very small, but has a good selection of malt whiskies and other drinks, including the local beers. Outside seating is also available - but beware of the midges especially later in the evening.

Overall, an excellent stay at a very reasonable price. It is very likely we will return.

Room Tip: Room 11 (and 12, I believe) have the bay windows with seating overlooking the ornamental gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawford, lanarkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Managed to get in here at last minute and so pleased we did. Read some of the reviews and it seemed impressive so kept trying till a room came up. On arrival it was so quick and all in order, great room - room 4, bed a bit hard again but it was only one night. Booked in for dinner right away and so glad we did, it was mobbed and no wonder what amazing food and great value. When hotels make chips this good you know you are on a winner. Good selection of wines and pretty cool selection of Whisky - I hit the Ben Rinnes - stonking dram. Dont miss this place at all as you will regret it.

Room Tip: Just ask for a softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We are just home from an absolutely fantastic weekend at the Garth Hotel. We had a very small, informal wedding and Adrian and his staff got it spot on. They went so far above and beyond to make our day special that we can't thank them enough. Everyone said how much they enjoyed the weekend, the hotel looks exactly like a highland hotel should, but has nice modern rooms. The food was excellent - two of our party have allergies and the chef produced brilliant gluten free options. Thank you so much, we will be recommending you to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5weestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.6 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
734 reviews
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 21 Castle Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garth Hotel, standing on the north end of the village square, in the heart of Grantown-on-Spey, was built in the 1850's and began its life as an Inn. Over the years the hotel has prospered, becoming the Premier Independent Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey. This Scottish hotel, near Aviemore, has recently been refurbished to encompass the perfect blend of elegant Victorian design and originality and all modern comforts. Fine hotel accommodation in the Scottish Highlands offering the standard of hospitality that Scotland has become renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Garth Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Hotel Grantown On Spey
Garth Hotel & Restaurant Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing