We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“1st class accommodation and service”
The Pines House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pines House
Kitchen Family room off kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The Pines House
Kitchen
Family room off kitchen
Garden
Play room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acjar
1 review
“1st class accommodation and service”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

20 of us stayed at The Pines House - 9 adults and 11 children, for a week, to celebrate my mother-in-laws birthday. The house is beautiful and extremely well equipped, especially the kitchen and the playroom (you will NOT need to bring any toys or books with you at all). I was concerned that we would start to feel 'crowded' with so many of us under one roof but I can honestly say that the house is so spacious that this was never an issue. We spent most evenings playing in the garden or walking in the woods. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly - always available for help or advice but only when required! All in all, a beautiful house, brilliant service and I will hopefully be back one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal group accommodation”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Twelve of us stayed at The Pines for two nights in late April. The accommodation was perfect: a major luxury that so many of the rooms are en-suite, the spacious communal facilities and the trampoline all contributed to an excellent stay. Jay and Lucy could not have been more helpful in a perfectly unobtrusive way and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Splendid stuff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna W
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter in law booked this house for my sons surprise 40 th birthday get together . What a fantastic house , everything you needed was supplied , rooms were big and plenty of them . There is a playroom for kids with lots of toys so no cries of " i' m bored " were heard . Could spend all day praising this house .a
well deserved trip advisor sticker left !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milocatGl...
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family Stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Pines House for 3 days from 8th June, there was 22 family members staying and we were here to support my niece who was carrying the Olympic Torch through Aviemore. The house is massive and spotlessly clean. It never felt cramped as there are plenty of areas for chilling out if that was what you wanted. All the bedrooms are en suite, plenty of towels, shampoo, shower gels and comfortable beds with tvs in all the rooms. We used the dining room for Sunday dinner and we all managed to sit around the large table comfortably. The dishwasher was great 2/12 minutes and dishes were washed. The children loved the garden and played on the rope swing and trampoline (as did some of the adults). The local shops were just a short stroll away and we found all the neighbours to be very friendly and they always said hello when passing. I would highly recommend this house and the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squashyj
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Holiday Home for large groups”
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We chose "The Pines " to get the family all together to celebrate our son's 21st Birthday.Lucy and Jay could not have been more helpful from the booking process, unpacking our huge Tesco shop,providing an immaculate house with every possible utility ( yes the dishwasher is amazing !) . Nothing was too much trouble, firelighters for the cold first days to barbecue charcoal for the rest of the week which was hot and sunny. Every room is special but the kitchen/family room really pulls the group together and the red dining room a great place to breakfast together. We know the area really well, but some of our guests had never been to the Highlands and loved the contrast of Saturday up in the Cairngorms standing on snow to Monday on Loch Morlich sitting on the beach in glorious sunshine. Fifteen of us had Sunday lunch on the Strathspey Railway , which is a 2 hour round trip. They even provided a birthday cake for our son which completed a fabulous meal-highly recommended.A brilliant holiday based in a brilliant house looked after by the lovely Bostock Family , thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinlay...
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anniversary Surprise Weekend”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed at the Pines House at the end of April. We arranged a surprise 25th Anniversary get together for friends. Family and friends came from Dublin, London, Aberdeen and Dunfermline.

The house is simply amazing! Anything and everything you could possibly want in self-catering accommodation is there. The bedrooms and en suite bathrooms are fabulous and the communal areas are much more than expected. The Drawing Room on the first floor level is a beauthiful room and very relaxing.

Lucy and Jay provide their guests with as much privacy as they want and are also available if any questions arise. All in all a terrific weekend was had by all our party and we were also lucky to get fantastic weather during our stay. The garden and surrounding woods are so lovely and a must for anyone visiting the Pines House. All in all I cannot recommend the Pines House highly enough and will look forward to another opportunity to visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Annual Family Gathering”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

18 of us - ranging in age from 9 months up to 71 years - stayed at The Pines this year for our seventh annual family get-together: and I can say without doubt that this is by far the best house we've had so far. Jay and Lucy were fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. The kitchen is well-equipped - we have a lot in the party who like to cook - and also provides an attached sitting area where spectators can sit and chat to keep the cooks company. That gave the whole place a real family atmosphere. All the bedrooms were great too. The website doesn't entirely do this house justice - it's better and bigger than it seems from the pictures and floor-plans.
Grantown is a nice little town, with enough shops to supply provisions (not just a co-op but also an excellent butcher's, a baker's and a Walkers Shortbread shop!) and plenty of other stuff too (including a good little bookshop). There's plenty of walking near-by, and various attractions within reach for those with kids (Landmark Heritage Park was a big hit).
We will return to this wonderful house, and I would recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere for a family gathering.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$471
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing