We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable,luxury, spacious accommodation in...”
The Pines House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pines House
Drawing Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
The Pines House
Drawing Room
Sitting Room
Family Room off Kitchen
Family Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Room 5
Room 5
Room 6
Room 3
Room 4
Room 1
Room 1 Ensuite
Room 7
Room 7 window
Room 8
Room 10 Ensuite
Room 9
Family Bathroom
Room 2
Garden
Play room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Eileen m
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable,luxury, spacious accommodation in excellent location for a range of activities.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This suited our large family gathering of three generations, superb living space with several large rooms and great sociable kitchen. Dining table that could actually seat 20 people. A set of generous sized bedrooms the majority with en-suite plus sitting areas.
The hosts were very welcoming and helpful though leaving us with space and privacy.
If we have the opportunity to have such a large gathering again we would all happily use the Pines again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capecodol...
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had 13 family members from the US visiting the Scottish Highlands. We needed a big house that was centrally located. On paper The Pines House fit our needs. After spending a week there, it fulfilled all our needs and more. Lucy and Jay greeted us warmly upon our arrival and were always available whenever we had a question or problem. The kitchen is large and the best equipped kitchen of any rental we've ever had. The only item we found missing was a coffee maker, at least what we consider a coffee maker in the USA. They did have French presses which we all learned to use. A day after our arrival Jay brought us a percolator style coffee maker he went out and purchased for us. That was above and beyond the call of duty and much appreciated.
We also enjoyed (in no particular order): the walking trails adjacent to the property; the trampoline; the foosball table; the ability to walk to town and the Craig Bar, the nine bathrooms; the comfortable beds and the largeness of the house that let us be together in the same unit, yet have our own space and privacy when needed.

Grantown itself is a pleasant, quiet town. The only thing we found lacking was the availability of good restaurants in town. The Craig Bar was terrific, but the menu is limited to several meat pies.

I can't recommend the Pines house highly enough, and again a big thanks from all of us to Lucy and Jay for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house
Liked least: Lack of restaurants in town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichtfont...
Appelscha, The Netherlands
1 review
“A warm, luxurieus and comfortabel home, with a lovely welcome from the ownership Lucy and Jay”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our journey to the Scottish Highlands became very memorabele by staying in the Pines House. We certainly will to go back the next time! The owners are very kind and help you when nessecary. A warm welcome, private parking, very well equiped kitchen, stylish bedrooms: everything is wonderful!
Highly recommended!
Suitable for groups like ours (17), but also for families.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded every expectation!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place is amazing!! We cannot fault this place at all!! Spent a long weekend here with the family on the 15th May. The house was perfect, everything from a spacious kitchen for everyone to hang out in, quiet lounge where kids could watch DVDs, giant dining room for meal times, games room for the kids and a large lounge where we all relaxed at night with a few beers and quiz games. The rooms were large and nearly everyone had an ensuite. The kids and the adults loved the garden/ trampoline/ climbing frame and the woods at the bottom of the garden was perfect for walking the dog. The owners Lucy and Jay were very helpful and just next door if we needed anything but everything we needed was there from high chairs and baby cots to wifi. We all agreed that we want to come back next year if they'll have us - we are a noisy lot! We would highly recommend staying here if you want to have a big family gathering. The wknd was in honour of my dad and it exceeded all my expectations. Thanks Lucy and Jay for the perfect weekend with lots of happy memories :) x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
1 review
“They've thought of everything!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at The Pines for the May weekend and had a truly fantastic time. We were a large group with young children between 6 months and 6 years. The place couldn't have been better kitted out. We hardly needed to bring anything with us. Things like kids plastic cutlery, plates & cups, a selections of high chairs and boosters, books, dvd's, games, even a spare baby monitor! We left most of the kids in the playroom quite happily for a lot of the weekend.
We found The Pines to be very clean and the bedrooms were all a very good size. The social spaces were lovely and relaxing and with plenty of seating for everyone.
The playframe and trampoline in the garden was another bonus, it's just a shame we didn't have quite the weather to make use of it. The pond, paths and bike tracks out the back of the garden were very well used, a great selling point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtful touches for families
Liked least: The dishwasher wasn't ideal.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place to stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A Large group of us stayed here for a few days and we all had a great. The rooms are all fantastic and there are enough social rooms for all of us to get together. Really enjoyed the outside seating area as it came with a BBQ that we were lucky enough to be able to use. The Kitchen is well equipped for self catering. Happily stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside seating area.
Liked least: The showers were not that powerful
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor197...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spacious Accommodation In Fantastic Setting”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our our second year staying at The Pines as a large group of friends with young children. We are already booking our next stay. Accommodation is spacious and very clean. Plenty of room for everyone. All rooms are very clean, lovely crisp clean linen and towels, it is a very well appointed house. Lucy and Jay the owners are very helpful when you need a hand with anything or advice on the local area. Set in a peaceful location, only a couple of minutes walk from Grantown centre and all the local amenities. The garden is amazing, on the edge of mature Scots Pine woodland, with plenty of miles of marked trails to navigate. Loads of wildlife to keep the kids amused, deer, squirrels, birds... The pines has adventure play frames, swings etc to keep any kids amused for hours...

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing