We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Rosehall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosehall Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosehall Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Rosehall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This magnificent guest house stands on the main square at bijou Grantown, a short stroll from the renowned River Spey and within easy reach by car of the Cairngorms and a wide range of historic sites and attractions. Our spacious double room offered a great view of the square and hills beyond, and was furnished to a high standard. So too were the sitting and breakfast rooms downstairs. Rosehall has character in abundance. All the facilites were superb and nothing was too much trouble for Pearl and Martin, who were perfect hosts and provided some marvellous breakfasts for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eldon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
61
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our second visit - we love Grantown and the beautiful Spey and this is a really comfortable, welcoming b&b in a lovely old building on the square. It was toasty warm - the water as well. The two rooms looking out onto the square are enormous with bay windows you can sit in with your tea and great bathrooms. We stayed in one of the smaller ones this time (a bit cheaper) - still really spacious - and very comfortable. The breakfast is outstanding - so much choice - and you won't find a more welcoming and friendly pair than Martin and Pearl. We thought it was good value.
Recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms which look onto the square are exceptional - a bit more expensive but worth it. You can si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hosts Martin and Pearl lovely and very accommodating. Everything you need for a comfortable stay and very central. Prices good for this time of year. A visit to the Garth hotel for food is only a short walk. Try and you will not be disappointed. Breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: All tastefully done
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Much more expensive than other B and Bs and not better at all. Basin in room and in your face. Noisy fan in bathroom that you could hear for minutes after you had turned off the light. Hot water never flowed out of the shower and the hot water jug did not work. Not recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camilla1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellarose88, Owner at Rosehall Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us at Rosehall and that you found the rates expensive. We are working hard to maintain competitive rates and feel that for accommodation during peak season at rate of £35 pppn bed and breakfast offers value for money. We did inform you on the day that a rate of £20 pppn (which is what you stated as having paid at other establishments during your trip) was unrealistic for the location and type of accommodation. I feel, however, that your disappointment with other aspects may be the reason for your comment.

Taking the other issues in turn, we apologize that we did not get it right for your stay. As regards the sink, we agree that this is within the bedroom space and close to one bed. However, this is a not insubstantial sized standard twin room, set at a rate to reflect the accommodation let. On the question of the fan, this runs for precisely 150 seconds, which is not unusual for the space being ventilated. In reference to the shower, this has been checked and found to be in working order except that, as it is the farthest unit away from the boiler, both tap and shower must be allowed to run for a little while to allow the flow of hot water. We have checked the fan; it does not rattle or make a noise and, with the door closed, it is barely audible. Finally, we agree that the jug did not sit flush with the electric connection and the whole unit has been changed. We thank you for pointing this out to us. It is a pity that you did not point this out at the time of use whereupon we would have given it our immediate attention.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, as we do take all comments on board and strive continually to improve the standard of accommodation and service that we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Martin and Pearl created a wonderful experience for my spouse and another couple from our arrival - Martin welcomed us warmly and showed us both rooms, giving us a thorough orientation to the property and the process for ordering breakfast. The rooms were exceptionally large, clean, and comfortable. Although I was a bit concerned at first because it seemed that noise travelled somewhat through the house (it is an older home and this is in my experience somewhat typical), I was very pleased to discover that the house was very quiet at night, which made for a very good night's sleep for this light sleeper! We were in the upstairs front room, which faces the street, and is quite large. The bathroom was comfortable as well - a tub with shower, lots of room and extremely clean. Breakfast was a standout - scrambled eggs with local smoked salmon, the full Scottish, and porridge were all very generously portioned, well-cooked and delicious. Martin offered us some ideas about what to do on our days of adventuring in Speyside, and was happy to share his experiences and recommendations as well. All in all, a wonderful stay, extremely reasonably priced for the location, service, rooms, and food, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarheel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

On a touring holiday and ended up in Grantown looking for a place to stay. We had a choice of three rooms (and prices) and settled for the mid priced room, although the smallest would have been ok for an overnight stay, the larger room was only £5pp dearer, and really did give us much more space. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though the bed was a bit soft for me. the bathroom was small, but the shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water.
Good breakfast, well cooked and tasty. Owners were friendly and accommodating.
a lttle bit more expensive than other B&B's of equal quality that we stayed on on this trip but overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

My cousin and I recently stayed with Martin and Pearl at Rosehall. We were delighted with the friendly reception we received and enjoyed the convenience of being situated in the main square. The bedrooms and public rooms were spacious and comfortable and were just what we wanted after travelling all day. Breakfast the following morning was the 'best ever' and we found our hosts most friendly and helpful with suggestions for our onward port of call. Having travelled extensively in Scotland over the years, I would have no hesitation in recommending Rosehall to friends and family as an ideal base from which to tour the Highlands.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehall Guest House

Property: Rosehall Guest House
Address: 13 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosehall Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built before the turn of the century, Rosehall is one of Grantown on Spey's finest buildings, a handsome house with unique gothic architecture. Centrally located in the town's historic Georgian square the guest house is close to all amenities. Recently refurbished to the highest of standards, and offering the discerning visitor the best of highland hospitality, we offer hotel quality at a guest house price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Rosehall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosehall Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing