We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and distinctive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosehall Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and distinctive”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived later than planned - much later - but were warmly welcomed regardless. Rosehall is beautifully furnished and decorated: that and the charm of the owners set it apart. Breakfast also excellent with the added value of quotations from Dr Johnson. Had avoided "guest houses" because of childhood memories - Rosehall dispelled my prejudices. Only sorry we didn't stay longer.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    40
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
68
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay here last week. Martin was very welcoming and Pearl was great in squeezing us in very last minute as we extended our stay in Grantown but the other place we were staying in was booked up. The room we stayed in was smaller than their usual rooms and has a queen sized bed but they were very upfront about this and we found it to be cozy and clean. There was a shower room and toilet which was just for our room but a little way down the hall way. Dressing gowns were provided for a midnight dash which I thought was a nice touch. The only thing that would have been helpful was a little instruction with the shower. I spent a very uncomfortable 10 minutes with the shower running from burning hot to freezing cold before I figured out you needed to have the dial at around 10 o'clock to get a steady temperature- maybe a sticker or something as a guide? All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionnuala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We rolled into town early on a Tuesday and asked if we could drop our bags. The welcoming staff (Martin and Pearle) were very accommodating, they stored our bags and even gave us towels for our windsurfing expedition at Loch Morlich that afternoon.

We returned to the B&B and Martin helped us pick out a nice local pub for dinner and a pint.

The rooms were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and we all (5 adults - three of which were teenagers) enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesnowbird11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent Room, Spotless and overlooking the High St.
Exactly what you would expect from a Scottish Hotel, lovely furniture, appropriate Soft Furnishings.
Breakfast Perfect.
Loved the guest hand book in the room, took one of the walks, brilliant.

Room Tip: No secret top tips to get a good room, they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Rosehall is a great guest house. Martin & Pearl are very welcoming. We were here for a family wedding and felt very welcome. The room was clean and generously sized. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was really good. Overall Rosehall is really good value for money and thoroughly recommended. It's right in the centre of Grantown - easy to find and park by. The walking guides in the room were also really useful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_HP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A big thank you to Martin & Pearl for their wonderful hospitality and travel advice. We really enjoyed our stay at Rosehall with all our needs catered for and a lovely hot breakfast in the morning before setting out. I am so glad I asked Martin about which route to take when we travelled from Grantown on Spey to Stirling, as his advice was just spot on. The drive through the Cairngorms NP was just spectacular and we stopped off to visit Balmoral Castle on the way and the most wonderfully interesting distillery "Edradour as Martin advised." It was one of the best days of our holiday driving in such wonderful and unexpected scenery. A big thank you from Kris, Terry & Melba.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133Martin133190790, Owner at Rosehall Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Kris, Terry & Melba, thank you for your wonderful review it was a huge pleasure for us to welcome you to Rosehall. We are really pleased that you had both great weather and an enjoyable trip - Edradour may be the smallest but that does not mean it is the quickest to get round!!
Martin & Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobram, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Rosehall. Arrived in Grantown on Spey late & tired. Pearl & Martin welcomed us into the most beautiful room. What a lovely house and what a great B & B experience. Pearl is a brilliant cook. Recommend Room 4 with the view over the street to the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
133Martin133, Owner at Rosehall Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Jan & Mick
Thank you so much for your lovely review it was a pleasure to welcome you to Rosehall and we are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.
Martin & Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
293 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehall Guest House

Property: Rosehall Guest House
Address: 13 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosehall Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built before the turn of the century, Rosehall is one of Grantown on Spey's finest buildings, a handsome house with unique gothic architecture. Centrally located in the town's historic Georgian square the guest house is close to all amenities. Recently refurbished to the highest of standards, and offering the discerning visitor the best of highland hospitality, we offer hotel quality at a guest house price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosehall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosehall Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing