We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosehall Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Based on Trip Advisor reviews we selected Rosehall, and we were not misled. Our room was large, well decorated and very clean. The house is located on the square and within walking distance of everything in town. The owners were most helpful with directions, places to eat, etc. Several options for breakfast. Would definitely stay here again as well as recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpartyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2006

We got very lucky with the Rosehall Guesthall. We had two nights that we hadn't booked before we got to Scotland, and the morning we needed the booking somewhere in Speyside we went to a tourist center in Oban and asked for their help.

The Rosehall Guest House was terrific. The rooms were nicely presented. Ours was quite small, up under a gable, but most others seemed quite large. The breakfasts were very nice, with a good selection. Everyone in the dining room was very friendly and in a great mood (always a good sign). The hosts were very nice and helpful. I have never seen better.

Grantown, itself, was a perfect place to be based to make day trips into Speyside. There are a couple nice restaurants and a couple friendly pubs. Within a 30 minute drive there are many more options.

I'd like to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiamondfromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cary, North Carolina USA
11
Reviewed 10 July 2006

Rosehall is a very roomy and comfortable inn on the main road through Grantown-on-Spey. The guest rooms are large and the entire house is furnished with period (turn of the 19th century) pieces. The location is convienent to the center of town and the local golf course is within walking distance (a big draw for us). The owners Lynda and Bob were the incredibly hospitable (Lynda served us a late-nite tea while we watched a World Cup game in the parlor, and Bob was very helpful with recommendations about the area). Breakfast was superb.
I highly recommend the Rosehall if you are staying in the area or even as a destination in itself!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
12
Reviewed 19 June 2006

Granttown on Spey -Scotland -Rosehall Guest House
19 June 2006
My wife and I and our son have just completeted touring around UK and Ireland staying at B&B's. We rated the Rosehall Guest House #1 of all the B&B's we stayed at.
This was much more a B & B than a guest house and is a large Victorian House situated in the Square in Grantown on Spey in a peaceful environment.
The house has been exquistely restored and renovated in the decor of the era by the owners and the beautiful antique furnishings throughout this B & B are from the owners personal collection. We were amazed at the standard of workmanship that had gone into bringing this stately house back to its former glory. Our main bed/sitting room was very roomy with its own ensuite and our son had his own private room off our bedroom. The owner noticed us carrying a bottle of wine and offered us crystal wine glasses without us having to ask. There was a choice of breakfast and we went for the healthy breakfast of juice,cereal, salmon and scrambled eggs, tea/ coffee toast. The tariff we paid was 25 pound per person for bed and healthy breakfast. We had a most enjoyable stay and are sure others will experience the same warm hospitality in this homely environment.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

One of the best Guest Houses in Scotland, large, tasteful and very beautiful rooms, very clean, quite luxurious, in fact. Our hosts Lynda and Bob really made us welcome, and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay there again. They deserve fully the 4 star status they have been awarded. Grantown was a very quiet and peaceful spot, an old fashioned town. We ate out at the Royal Restaurant across the street, a really tasty meal and a personal service, good value for money.

3  Thank justjuKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancashire England
12
Reviewed 9 January 2006

Fantastic holiday. Made really welcome by Lynda and Bob. Our room was excellent. Very lush. Breakfast was delicious. We don't usually bother after the first couple of days but on this occasion we did. Too good to miss. Lots of good walks to go on. Went on the beach/Loch which is just nearby, views incredible. We found lots to do and see but also found it great as we were near Inverness. Will not hesitate to go back. Love from Judy and Gordon in Lancashire.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver BC
11
Reviewed 4 October 2005

If you are off to see the Heather, or love the great outdoors, here is the place to stay in Grantown on Spey in Scotland. Check it out at rosehallguesthouse.

We were disappointed in another hotel we booked in this great town and so looked around for alternate accommodation. This guest house is spotless (no smoke smell), beautifully decorated and the hosts are very nice. Combined with reasonable price and a great location right in the heart of the city, we wouldn't stay anywhere else if we go back. Great photos on their website.

Happy travelling.

Alison and Joyce

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.0 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
764 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
319 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#2 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehall Guest House

Address: 13 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £78 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosehall Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built before the turn of the century, Rosehall is one of Grantown on Spey's finest buildings, a handsome house with unique gothic architecture. Centrally located in the town's historic Georgian square the guest house is close to all amenities. Recently refurbished to the highest of standards, and offering the discerning visitor the best of highland hospitality, we offer hotel quality at a guest house price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosehall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosehall Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing