We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of Ben Mhor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ben Mhor Hotel
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had a really nice stay at Ben Mhor hotel. Staff are so helpful and friendly.
Huge comfy bed and nice clean facilities. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Huge big comfy bed in room 25.Very quiet at back of hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Ben Mhor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Ben Mhor is a hotel you just keep returning to, the stall are all helpful, friendly and willing to do any thing to help make your stay better, the food is second to none, the rooms are clean and tidy, this was our third visit to the Ben Mhor and if able it wont be out last

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Enjoyed stay would go back if staying in Grantown, very dog friendly

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Ben Mhor as part of a large group and were very happy with all aspects of our two night stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful and keen to make us feel welcome.

Given that the hotel has a very narrow main-street frontage, it is unsurprising that most bedrooms are accessed via long, narrow corridors. Having said this, our room was clean, warm, quiet and comfortable.

Meals were included. The food was plain, wholesome and entirely satisfactory.

It is evident that the building has seen better times - but it's also evident that the present owners have made, and continue to make, significant and ongoing improvements. We got the impression that the hotel was both well-run and personally-managed by the owners.

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Crisp packets left on window sill, and shower bottle tops left in shower so room obviously not cleaned properly. Smell of fried food permeates building. 'Disco' on Saturday night, extremely loud music until well after midnight ruined my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flute S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seancraig, Owner at Ben Mhor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Mrs Preston,

Your review is damaging to us and focusses entirely on the negative aspects of your stay.

May I apologise for the second time for any inconvenience caused by noise on Saturday night. You will recall my co-owners apology to you at reception on Sunday morning when you broadcasted your feelings so all our guests knew of your discomfort. I do hope the large refund you received helped to soften the blow of a late night, judging by your review not entirely though.

The music on Saturday night at a party went on longer than scheduled we have discussed this internally to address our failings. We did however have no other complaints about noise from other guests.

I would like to respond to each of your comments.

1. Fried Food smells - our Bistro Menu contains a grand total of three fried items, namely, chips, tempura chicken breast strips and our fresh haddock which is fried in our own beer batter. I noticed on checking a copy of your bill that you enjoyed a bar meal each evening the dishes you and your family selected included each of the fried items above.

2. Dirty Room - your room was checked before arrival and the items of rubbish you mention were not there. Your room was serviced during your stay, our housekeeping staff do not tend to lift half eaten crips packets as technically these are guest items. Shampoos and shower gels are replenished daily.

If your room was dirty why did you not raise this on arrival, during your stay or on departure? Why would you stay in a dirty room for 2 nights?

Each week we have a team meeting and we reveiw our guest reviews. We are very surprised by your review. Throughout your stay you used all the facilities of the hotel and you and your family seemed very happy.

You seemed to particularly like the relaxing atmosphere in the lounge bar where your young son was entertained by many of our other guests while you relaxed with your bar supper, laptop and regular drinks, you commented to our bar staff how nice our house Shiraz was.

On looking at the score you have given to individual elements of your stay the average is 2.67 out of 5 neither I or my colleagues can work out how this can be an overall 1 out of 5.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we will continue to try and improve on our guest experiences as we have done for the last 5 years.

I hope the refund you received can be used for you to enjoy another night away, and perhaps help another small business by leave a positive comment in the future rather than a one sided damaging one.

Yours sincerely,
Sean Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel due to having to visit a supplier. The staff were really friendly and guided me patiently to the car park out the back, when I couldn't find it (sign was covered by heavy snow). The food in the restaurant was nice and the lady serving me was really friendly.
The room was warm, clean and comfy and I could hardly hear any noise from outside.

My car was stuck getting up the ramp with the snow as I left and a kind gentleman from next door used his 4x4 to clear the ramp for me. I think in general, this is a sign of how friendly the people are in the area.

Well worth staying here if you are visiting Grantown.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocoluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here DBB. The service was good without being too intrusive and the food delicious. We had a room at the back so had no problems with noise and slept very well in the lovely large comfy bed, Unfortunately the wifi only worked downstairs for us butt is an old building with thick walls.
The residents lounge was a great addition giving us extra space to have a drink and watch television or have a chat.

Room Tip: Its quite a hike to the rooms at the back but it was no problem for us.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
749 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
567 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Mhor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Mhor Hotel

Address: 53-57 High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Mhor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Highland Hotel recently fully refurbished. All double rooms have King size beds, and all rooms have new flat screen TVs and power showers. Free high speed wifi throughout the hotel and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ben Mhor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Mhor
Ben Mhor Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing