We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£108
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£106
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£96
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
themightytic
Bargain absolutely loved it , location location location
Review of The Ben Mhor
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2023
Cheap as chips Hotel, warm room, comfy bed , good sleep 😴, decent food, cracking wee bar smashing prices, onsite parking and what an absolutely stunning location👌loved it and will definitely be back 🏍️
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£149
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£80
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £80
  • Vio.com
    £70
  • Expedia.com
    £80
0.3 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.4 miles from The Ben Mhor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
122
65
38
27
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
65
38
27
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant high street beer garden the main street small hotel evening meal top floor warm welcome mohr gary signal wee highlands aviemore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2023

Lovely big twin room with a sofa. Big bathroom with an overhead electric shower above a jacuzzi bath. Didn't try the jacuzzi bath. The motor on the shower was a bit noisy but it had good pressure. Big radiator for drying my wet hiking clothes.
Had a tasty Sri Lankan chicken curry and a massive piece of cake for dinner in the lounge bar. (Lovely old carved wooden bar). Breakfast had fun options including a haggis tower.
Friendly staff. Would stay again. :)

Room tip: The hotel is a little tired in areas but you can see they are doing it up and the team work hard to make your stay pleasant.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ionabrokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023 via mobile

Having stayed in many budget hotels in the past this hotel would 100% qualify as the worst, the expression, you would have to wipe your feet when leaving the hotel comes to mind, cleanliness is not at the top of there priority list.
When staying in a hotel you do not wish to hear about how the owners have to get up at 5am every day & work long hours, when you go to a hotel it should not be to hear about all the owners problems, same repeated night after night.
Beds are way past there best so don’t expect a good nights sleep.
The only way I could describe the breakfast would be to say not fit for human consumption, I watched table after table leave half there breakfast as all the food had been precooked & then cocked again for way to long. I took a video of a friend attempting to put a fork in to a black pudding but it won’t upload, he is stabbing the black pudding with force & its unbreakable..!!!
We stayed for three nights, after having two of the worst breakfasts I’ve ever had in a hotel I opted to skip breakfast on the last day grab something edible from the shop.

Room tip: Spend a little bit more & stay somewhere else, so you have some good memories of the Scottish hospitality.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pirirobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

We visited here September 2023 with a group on 13 golfers of various ages youngest being 25 oldest being 74. Of the 13, 10 had stayed previous year for the same golf competition.

In 2022 the feed back on the hotel was such it was decided to do the same in 2023 and the numbers increased to 13.

Since arriving the staff, with the exception of the owners sister, were rude, aggressive and threatened to send us to our rooms for the noise we made. 13 golfers laughing and having banter.

Breakfast was at best awful with meals being delayed, pressure put on night before to place and order. How can 5 of the 13 decide what the rest want next morning.

Beds are uncomfortable and no staff visited our rooms over the 3 nights we stayed and we had the same paper thin towel.

I appreciate its a budget hotel but it’s run by moaning owners and a lazy son who gets young girl to do his dirty work.

Room tip: Find somewhere else, it’s cheap but service and quality is cheaper. Find somewhere else.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2023 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with very attentive staff. The price for a two night stay was more than reasonable. Would definitely recommend choosing to stay here if planning a trip to Speyside.
There is a nice outside seating area round the back of the hotel and we were able to sit out there and enjoy the nice weather.

Room tip: You could contact the owners in advance about things like facilities and the rooms. They were very quick to respond.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kieranm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

We advised the hotel of our late check in. When we arrived, the staff kindly advised us that they kept the kitchen open if we were hungry and did not limit the menu. All the staff was super friendly and helpful; the food was delicious and our room was very nice and comfortable with a very nice shower. This is a family run boutique hotel with excellent service and concern for the comfort of their guests. This hotel is a must stay for those on the Speyside whisky trail or trekking tours . We will definitely stay with them on our next visit to Grantown-on-Spey.

Room tip: Free parking, a bar and a billiard room available for guests. Very nice, welcoming and responsive staff.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 255peggys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews