We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of 8” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklynn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooklynn Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best of 8”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We toured Scotland, staying at 8 different B&Bs. Sylvia and Allan made this one our #1 favorite. The decor was fascinating -- personal collections representing their travels were everywhere and with a story to go with each item. Exceptionally clean inside and an interesting garden out back. Our only disappointment was that we didn't get to have dinner there because I suspect it would have been extraordinary. Go out of your way to experience the Brooklynn.
Barbara and Gregg Taylor

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraTaylor_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are thrilled to be the best of 8! Pity you could only stay one night with us. May be longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
66
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We spent a few days in the whisky region Speyside. The days started at Brooklynn with a healthy, nutricious breakfast and nice chats and they ended there in true hospitability.
The rooms are very agreeable, they combine tradition with modern facilities. Both house and garden exude so much charm, they mirror Alan's and Silvia's personalities. I recommend Brooklynn without restriction.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whisky_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
A third great review for us in June - hurray and thank you guys very much. We are glad that you enjoyed the Speyside Whisky trail so much. Most of our German guests seem to love our delicious malts. You are very welcome back for another taste of the 'water of life' with Brooklynn as your base of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed here with my sister and dog with some friends staying nearby at an activity centre. Alan and Silvia made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. Tea with scones in the lounge greeted us on our arrival. They were always willing to offer advice on our trips and were always on hand when we needed something. They were very friendly and humourous without being intrusive. I would definitly recommend The Brooklynn to friends and would stay there again if in the area. The food was great. The decor of the house was lovely and they even loaned us some brochures and maps for one of our signtseeing trips. Excellent hosts.

Room Tip: The room was excellent with full tea making facit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonShona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. Well done for getting to the top of Cairngorm. Having such a sweet dog with such well behaved owners, you will all be welocme back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Alan and Syliva are the most delightful hosts, and made our stay at Brooklyn an extremely pleasant and comfortable one. They really seemed to care, and went the extra mile to make us feel 'at home'. My American husband, 7-year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunities we had to chat with our hosts over a delicious breakfast (the thought of their salmon and scrambled eggs still makes my mouth water!). The house is beautiful - eccentric and comfortable, with a wicked sense of fun. And the garden, where they grow many of the ingredients for the delicious meals, was equally gorgeous. We were sad to say 'goodbye', but have no doubt we'll stay with Alan and Sylvia again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatBritAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company too. The plant you left us is doing very well and flowering beautifully in the lounge. Hope to see you at brooklynn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We chose Brooklynn as the base for our three day walking holiday in the Cairngorms. The house itself is perfectly situated in Grantown. Just one street away from the main street makes it quiet, yet only a two minute walk from the restaurants and pubs. Allan & Sylvia (the owners) are extremely friendly but fiendishly efficient. The exceptional breakfast (fresh fruit, cereal, followed by an extensive full-scottish) is always ready at the time you requested it. The rooms were great and the beds comfortable. I would most definitely return, and I would recommend Brooklyn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

A highlight of our journey in Scotland are the days when we could stay at the lovely home "Brooklynn" of Alan and Silvia Woodier. We enjoyed the warm hospitality, the delicious food and the advice for interesting excursions. Thank you very much for everything. We miss your excellent breakfast and the very tasty dinner!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floesseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Great stay in this very nice B&B. Allan and Sylvia were extremely nice to us and gave us plenty of advices for our stay. We had a very nice room. They have a really nice garden. Breakfast was very good as well as diner that we had there. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haus Alba
Haus Alba
#2 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklynn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklynn Guest House

Property: Brooklynn Guest House
Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklynn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklynn is our lovely late Victorian home situated in the attractive Scottish Highlands town of Grantown-on-Spey which is in The Cairngorms National Park. The accommodation is comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners delicious and the gardens pretty. Welcome; we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklynn Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing