We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Superking zip and link bed for maximum comfort
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superking zip and link bed for maximum comfort
Comfortable, cosy studio apartment - bigger than a hotel room! Twin bed set up - perfect for friends sharing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Superking zip and link bed for maximum comfort
Comfortable, cosy studio apartment - bigger than a hotel room!
Twin bed set up - perfect for friends sharing
Comfortable seating area with local art work on the walls
Great kitchen area perfect for self catering
Corner shower with wc and wash hand basin.  There is also a washing machine in bathroom.
Floor plan of the Snug
Quirky individual stylish touches
Breakfast bar dining option
The Square at Grantown on Spey - The Snug is in a High Street location
The Snug is open all year round  - perfect for skiing in the winter
High quality fixtures and fittings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
maryceci2...
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Snug was a wonderful place to stay while visiting Grantown-on-Spey. It is in the middle of town, which means ii is close to everything. The Snug is perfect for two people whom are looking for convenience, and a quiet place to use it as a base while traveling through the Highlands. Katie and Gaven were the best hosts, making us feel welcome from their very first text message. If you're looking for the perfect place to drop your bags while you sight see, you should definitely add this Highland gem to your list

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Mary what a lovely review - it was so good to meet you and Kim and we so look forward to seeing you both again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsie27...
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Place To Stay ”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I stayed here in June. This is by a mile the best self catering accommodation I have stayed in. Katie's attention to detail is brilliant. Everything you need is there, I thought the lady items were a fantastic touch in the bathroom.
Kate is warm, thoughtful and unobtrusive, I felt like I was saying goodbye to a friend when I left.
The bed is super comfy, kind of bed you don't want to get out of. Parking is great. Grantown is a lovely place with super walks, I managed a 5 hour walk in and around the woods. If coming to the Highlands, do yourself a favour, book The Snug. You won't regret it. A jewel in Scotland's crown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
What a lovely review and we are so glad to have made your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C
Newtongrange, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable and enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed a short stay at the Snug and found clean, very comfortable accommodation in the middle of Grantown on Spey. In an excellent, central location, close to the lovely shops and countryside walks, it was an ideal place to base ourselves and the owners couldn't have been more lovely and knowledgeable! Highly recommend. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Hi Dawn thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful area and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
“Perfect wee place”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed at the Snug in December as I was doing a placement for uni nearby, the snug was great - plenty of room and cosy for winter! Location is great, in the centre of Grantown and very close to shops. The owner's were lovely and I hope to be staying again for another placement. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you Anna for your lovely words, we look forward to welcoming you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A C
York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“The best Fisherman's rest”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Snug is just perfect.

Secure, home from home with all the things a couple or travelling companions would need.

We stayed at The Snug for our annual fishing trip for Salmon on the Spey (The Tulcan Sporting Estate is about 5 miles away) and it was perfect for what we needed. Katie (owner) was brill and full of useful info about the area. She also helped out with our booking, we had to change weeks on our booking which Katie sorted for us.

Food is straight forward, self catering or eat out. We tried Craig's Bar on Katie's recommendation for the pies (a must visit for hungry people) and about a 10 min walk...(and they do accommodate children)

The Snug is very easy to find as it's directly above Mortimers of Speyside Fishing tackle shop on the Main Street. Expect some low level noise from the street (if you leave windows open) but it certainly isn't an issue, The Snug is in the centre of Grantown after all.

The living area is great to relax in and you can use the to for free view channels, DVD player or hook up your laptop to the hdmi cable if you want to watch your own stuff. Bathroom is really well equipped and shower is hot! The beds are especially very comfy and it's a lovely warm apartment if you get a chill from being out in beautiful Speyside during the day. We were given options of feather duvets and pillows which was a welcome change from most places we have stayed.

We much prefered this to a hotel or B&B because we didn't want to be tied to set breakfast times. Co-Op supermarket is literally round the corner and has everything you need for food.

There is stairway access (not steep) which was fine for us but bear that in mind when booking if you need some help. I'm sure Katie would be there to assist anyways but give them a call.

Thank you again for providing such a fab place and we're going to re book for next year as it was just so perfect for what we needed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Al thank you so much for your comprehensive and brilliant review. We are so glad it ticked all your boxes and would love to welcome you back in the future. Hope you have a good fishing season down there fmandy hope to hear from you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pswakefie...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An absolute gem, right in the Highlands”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Snug for 2 nights in November and we had an absolutely fantastic time.

It is such a gem of a place - huge amounts of space, beautifully decorated and fitted out to an extremely high quality - with an enormous and very comfortable bed, a great shower and shower room (again very spacious), a big kitchen with everything you'll ever need, a lovely sitting area which feels very separate from the bed, plus a few very thoughtful extra touches like milk and bread on arrival.

There's also loads to see and do around Grantown and the surrounding countryside, visible from the Snug is absolutely beautiful. The weather was very cold the weekend we were staying - the sky was a beautiful blue and the Snug was so lovely and cozy to come home too.

Booking was very easy and the website works very well. And Katie was really good at communicating prior to our visit and made sure we knew everything about the place and had everything we needed for our stay. She really had thought of everything.

We enjoyed our stay so much. We were very sad to have to leave and wished we'd booked for longer. But we'll be back soon!

Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Paul and Katy we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you so much for the glowing review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy2620
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would like to have stayed longer”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent three nites at the Snug whilst visiting Speyside. It's a really nice spot. Comfortable, clean and quiet. No issues, no surprises. Would return in a minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Was so lovely to meet the pair of you and we hope the rest of your Scottish journey was brilliant! Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing