We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional place with a pub-style menu”
Review of Barkers

Barkers
Ranked #40 of 142 Restaurants in Grantham
Price range: US$0 - US$16
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A traditional place with a pub-style menu”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A traditional place with a pub-style menu. Lots of "gammon and egg" and "meat and 2 veg" style stuff on the menu. Customers look like regulars. We chose to go outside in the yard as we have small children which is very enclosed but nice on a hot day. Culinary skills are good but they are not working with the highest quality ingredients - it would be really great if they were. "Cappuccino" tasted like a Nescafe sachet plus hot water - it even had the Nescafe advert on the cup.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank max_patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We called here after being told it was good. We had the full English Breakfast which was not as good as we expected. The sausages were of the pink mass produced type,"yuck" never again. Bacon too thin and mushrooms greasy. The lady who served us although not rude was very abrupt and lucked as thought she was angry no idear why, not a smile to be seen all the time we were in the restaurant. We will not be going again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
951 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 921 helpful votes
“Break at Barkers”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stopped off at Barkers for a drink after wandering around Grantham, tucked away from the main street but very busy. Staff were very welcoming/friendly and service was good, sat outside in the "yard" not the greatest of places/views!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Full English - not as good as expected”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Went in on a Sat morning for the breakfast. It was good to see the place busy, so obviously business is brisk. I thought this would reflect in the food. The breakfast was presented lovely. But we were soon disappointed. The sausages were cheap variety, the bacon thin and the mushrooms hard and greasy ( like had been left in the oven to keep hot). The rest was ok. The saving grace from the breakfast was the coffee which was excellent. It was a shame because it is a lovely location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant breakfast!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went in for a quick breakfast and it was great. We both had the £5.50 meal with drinks and was great.

Bacon was crispy, potatoes were lovely and crispy and the whole breakfast was fabulous.

Can't wait to visit for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barkers also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Barkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing