We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Grantham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Took the dogs for a break on enight in Grantham. So sad to see so many empty shops. Hotel was a bir tired and carpets needed a hoover and clean. Room comfortable and warm. Went to the hotels Bistro for a drink and noticed that the windows on the outside hadnt been cleaned for a long time, and the shelf next to me called for me to write dust me, not seen a duster for a while! Breakfast was goof though nice sausages and bacon eggs cooked well. Nedds some tlc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scallynip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Angel & Royal Hotel, as parts of the hotel date back as far as 1203 the building is a little unorthodox, however we do find that our guests usually love its quaint nooks and crannies & roaring open fires as it is all part of its historic charm although it does result in dust appearing as if by magic daily. I am very surprised that in contrast to our former guests you have found our cleanliness to be at fault, as this is something we really pride ourselves on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel is full of history room was huge with a 4 poster bed and 2 TV set although I did not watch either staff excellent I was on business with some guests from France who loved it. As we had to travel very early the next morning before the breakfast was due to be served the overnight porter was very helpful and made us some coffee and toast great touch all in all a great stay

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Guest We are delighted that you had a great stay with us & hope you will be able to come & visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a three star hotel with bags of history attached and character. We were part of a wedding group staying the one night and asked for a quiet room as the hotel is situated in the town centre. Once we found the car park which is behind the hotel we were pleasantly surpised how nice the hotel was.
Our room was very spacious with a walk in wardrobe and large bathroom which could do with abit of updating and the carpet was stained but apart from that we didn't hear hardly any noise and the bed was comfortable.
The food at the Wedding reception was hot and delicious, we couldn't fault the staff who were effiecient and helpful. Throughly enjoyed the party and experience.
There is a good choice of cooked breakfasts and even extras to the fry up if you are feeling hungry.
If you want somewhere different and fed up with modern hotels try the Angel and Royal for a change.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oxgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest thank you very much for you lovely comments & we are glad you enjoyed your stay so we hope you can come back & see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Characterful, charming and historic hotel. Upon arrival we were immediately offered assistance transporting our luggage to the second floor as the hotel does not have the benefit of any kind of lift system. One of the highlights of our 3 night stay was the dinner taken in the historic King's Room Restaurant on Valentine's Day. The food was delicious, well thought out, reasonably priced and the service was excellent. This was generally the case throughout our stay save for one or two housekeeping blips. The first thing we wished to do after a long journey was have a cup of tea but there were no teabags included on our hospitality tray, this was however soon rectified, on another occasion we were left without milk and a soiled tea towel was left in the bathroom....relatively minor issues, soon rectified but nevertheless a slight inconvenience though no real cause for major complaint. Our room was well appointed and charming and the staff both front of house and in the restaurant were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. Like previous reviewers I agree decor a little tired requiring some TLC but all else outweighs this issue, and parking is good. We look forward to staying here again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moreanbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear Guest We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us & we look forward to you returning to see us very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Lovely building, good car parking but just a little tired. In need of some investment and updating and more than a lick of paint. Just a bit tatty around the edges. Really handy being in the centre of town but was surprised at the street noise till the early hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest I'm sorry you thought we were a little tired but the great news is that we are starting a refurbishment program next month so we hope you will come back & see the new us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just spent a weekend here and for the money we cannot really fault it. The food was very good and the service excellent. Parking was not an issue either. Very clean and tidy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solarwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments & we hope you will be able to come back & see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We recently stayed over night here, we had been here last year and really liked the Hotel. However felt disappointed we stayed in room 115, there was noise until 2 in the morning from the Night club next door, which really disturbed our sleep. The room was clean but in general we felt it was need of some DIY, a loose lock on the entrance door was our first encounter.It appears this hotel up, is in need of a re fresh in decor throughout the Hotel. It is a little dated but that is part of its charm it was starting to look a little un cared for.
The staff couldnt have been more pleasant. I wonder how much impact working in a Hotel that appears to be in need of TLC has on staff. We couldnt fault the Bistro, the food was really well presented and well cooked. There was an air of calm in here and an enjoyable evening was had. The breakfast selection was a little unimaginative but cooked well when ordered. I think that if the management invested into this hotel it would return it to its former glory. The Hotel however is centrally located with allocated parking for all.
Not sure that we will return as it is.

Room Tip: Stay in the original part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thepans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest we are sorry that your stay was a little disappointing. We have already started a programme of redecoration so I do hope you will come back & see for yourself the improvements we are making

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
2.2 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#5 of 7 in Grantham
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Grantham
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel

Address: High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range: £51 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire. The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel in fact it is reputedly the oldest inn in Britain and has hosted seven Kings over the last 800 years. Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant, cosy firelit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities. Additionally Turpins Cocktail & Prosecco bar is a great place to enjoy pre-dinner drinks or to meet family or friends. The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building. They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - free wifi internet access. All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing