We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal only review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We are local but have not eaten at the Angel and Royal for a couple of years. Berties Bistro has always been a favourite in the past but on this occasion we were a tad disappointed. The waitress was lovely but there was some confusion about what was available. One of the meals ordered came out with different vegetables and a side order was forgotten. That said, our meals were well presented, superbly cooked and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandSarah_MidsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest We are really pleased you enjoyed the food in Berties,although I do apologise for any waiting staff confusion but hope you will come back & dine with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and will definitely be going back. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food is very reasonably priced and cooked to perfection. Our room was quite warm when we arrived (on the one summers day) but a fan was found and delivered to the room as soon as we asked. Breakfast was delicious as well with plenty to choose from. This hotel has an interesting history with lots of nooks and crannies to look at. In our room and I assume the other rooms there is a potted history of the hotel. Richard 3rd stayed here so be amongst royalty and give it a go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gbra263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay her with us & look forward to you returning soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were instantly greeted by friendly and helpful staff who set the standard for the whole weekend. Hotel was clean and rooms were very spacious. Food in the Bistro was excellent, with a wide choice for both breakfast and evening meal. Location was perfect and the car parking was a bonus. Thanks to all staff who helped make the weekend for us. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Grantham or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely comments & we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed one night and found room clean and spacious. Convenient for town and good parking. An interesting town with a good Nepalese restaurant!. Staff at hotel helpful and attentive. Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Guest we are really pleased you had a comfortable stay & enjoyed an excellent breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked 7 rooms for family to stay over our daughter's wedding weekend. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful over the 3 days. We had booked accommodation only, the wedding was elsewhere. Breakfast was excellent quality, as was our meal in the bistro. It was a lovely venue to meet up with friends and family. So much history associated with The Angel. We were very happy with our spacious rooms and would definitely recommend as a great place to stay in the area in future.

Room Tip: We all stayed in superior doubles but had booked early directly through the hotel group and got a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trgarrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Guest -We are really please you enjoyed your stay with us & once again pass on our congratulations to the Bride & Groom. Hope you will come back & see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a last minute hotel stay here, really friendly staff, very helpful, nice clean rooms and a good choice at breakfast time.
Had been to a reunion so got back to hotel at daft o'clock with some friends, barman opened up for us and we even managed sandwiches at some unearthly hour, made a great weekend even better !

Room Tip: Central to Grantham, all on your doorstep, great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bash001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guest I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to seeing you again at your next reunion or sooner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stopped off on the way to Yorkshire. Had stayed at the hotel many years before and the hotel has seen a good refurb. We eat in the Brasserie downstairs and the food and service was very good. Plan to stay for the weekend in the near future as it looks a very nice place. Plenty of free private parking at back of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest I'm glad you really enjoyed your lunch with us & we look forward to you staying with us in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
2.2 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#5 of 7 in Grantham
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Grantham
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel

Address: High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire. The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel in fact it is reputedly the oldest inn in Britain and has hosted seven Kings over the last 800 years. Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant, cosy firelit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities. Additionally Turpins Cocktail & Prosecco bar is a great place to enjoy pre-dinner drinks or to meet family or friends. The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building. They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - free wifi internet access. All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing