We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Grantham A1(Grantham)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Allington Manor(Allington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red House(Grantham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
293
205
94
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
205
94
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings roomhistoric hotelfour posterhigh streetking johnold coaching innlovely old hotellots of historythird floorno liftwould highly recommend this hotelsmoked salmongood sizevisiting granthamfull englishsteeped in historyopen fire
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Thank you to Jane and her staff for a lovely Sunday Lunch. The food was delicious and the staff were really helpful and friendly.
My guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and I will definitely be planning a return visit.
I will also be recommending to friends that they visit for the Sunday Lunch.
Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank blackmacy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Guest I'm so glad you had a lovely Sunday Lunch & look forward to welcoming you back for lots of lovely traditional roasts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were a party of 8, the rooms were excellent, beds comfortable and plenty of room to chill out and relax. If access is a problem you would need to check when booking that stairs etc are okay, but not a problem for us, the narrow corridors etc in this historic building add to the charm and certainly don't prepare you for the spaciousness of the rooms. Staff were helpful, particularly the lady on the desk, helpful advice re local places, loan of an umbrella, wifi access etc. Breakfast was good, using excellent quality ingredients. Dinner in the king's room was fabulous, with 8 of us at a banquet table big enough for 12, excellent food and service, a very special family evening. I am a foodie, and I felt that the food was fresh, really nicely cooked and simple sauces and fresh veg which is easy to not get right were perfect.

Room Tip: If you struggle with narrow stairs, say so when you book. Also some rooms have showers that have access on the level, some not.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnthehomecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Guest We are really pleased you & your family enjoyed you get together with us & hope you will be back again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We liked this one! Excellent location, lovely suite with dressing room as well as large bedroom, friendly staff, decent beer on the bar and a good breakfast and dinner experience. We did have problems with the internet and they did try their hardest to sort them out, but not totally, unfortunately. Would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesgandolfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments & we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed for one night for a friends wedding in July 2013.

First impressions were very good, the building itself is beautiful and they have made good use of the centre courtyard. The staff are nice although did not offer us help to carry our bags or show us to our room. Maybe I shouldn't have expected that, but I did.
Our room was lovely and very big, but there were a few minor faults with it such as ripped curtains/blinds, ugly fittings, dusty surfaces and lots of water residue on the walls in the bathroom. Quality of sleep would have been perfect if it wasn't for a ventilator thing on the outside of the building blowing/humming all night.

Breakfast was very good, held in the lovely function room they use for weddings. A good selection on the buffet and a nice cooked breakfast available.

Overall, very pleased with this place and would love to stay again. Recommend it to anyone, just bare in mind it is a tiny bit messy around the edges!

Room Tip: rooms that don't look onto the courtyard are preferred, especially if there is a wedding on. It can get quite noisy
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reenie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are planning over the next few months doing some refurbishment work so I hope you will come back & see all the improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Late spring bank holiday is not perhaps the best time to stay at a hotel specialising in wedding, but needs must. Room/Suite was good value. Booked breakfast (£7.50), a tad expensive but well worth the price. WiFi only operates around the reception area so if I had have been on a business trip I would rate the hotel a star lower.
Good staff, excellent setting though the stairs are steep and there are plenty of them.
Yes I will be booking again, as my mates like this old regal glamour to add to their trips to the flat part of UK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments & we hope you come back & see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews