We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoke Rochford Hall(Stoke Rochford)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
292
203
91
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
203
91
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings roomhistoric hotelfour posterhigh streetking johnold coaching innlovely old hotellots of historythird floorno liftwould highly recommend this hotelsmoked salmongood sizevisiting granthamfull englishsteeped in historyopen fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Angel and Royal

Very historic, beautiful interior. Whether your going for a drink or dinner you will be very satisfied!

Went for drinks for one night lovely service, feels very homely. Everyone's very friendly and nice but if your in the bar you can see grantham town ( which isn't very nice )

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments & hope you will be able to come & have a meal & drink with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A three night stay at this historic hotel was very enjoyable. The welcome on our arrival could not have bettered. Our bedroom (a suite really) was superb, comfortable and quiet. Our only negative observations would be that the free wi-fi did not reach our room, and that the evening meals, whilst very good in themselves, we're very limited with virtually the same menu for three successive nights. We visited National Trust properties - Belton House and Woolsthorpe Manor - the latter being the home of Sir Isaac Newton - and can recommend both. We also went to the world - famous Newark Antique and Collectors Fair, but beware ! The entrance fee is £20, and provoked my best Yorkshire exclamation of " 'ow much?".

Room Tip: Can recommend room 214
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback & we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Lincolnshire.I hope you will be able to come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We Had dinner here as a group on a Saturday night. The food was lovely and great service with reasonable prices. The waitress was attentive and friendly. I Wouldn't hesitate to return if I in grantham again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments & we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope you will be able to come back & stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed one night for work. We had lunch in the bistro, which was lovely. I was lucky to have the bridal suite which was spacious but dated with a very lumpy bed. Breakfast was lovely, if a little slow in terms of the service. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotelharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay & many apologies for the bed we have investigated & rectified .We do hope that you will come back & see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews