We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice room but .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked 4 months in advance of a large reunion party we were attending. We requested a quiet room and upgraded to one of the luxury rooms. We got there, place was amazing, staff very nice. no lifts and you needed claiming gear and oxygen to make it to the room, definitely not for the disabled or unfit. The hotel bar is very small with a beautiful open fire, friendly staff but open fire fills the room with really quite choking smoke. The room was beautiful and we got changed and headed off for our night. It wasn't till we got back the the problems arose, no spare pillows in room at all and the 2 pillows per person were like pitta brads they were so flat. Very thin duvet and no blankets in room or ability to turn on heating. I sat there shivering till 3 am, why was I not sleeping you ask, well that would be because the quiet room we asked for backed on the nightclub!! Worst nights sleep I've ever had in a best western with hard lumpy bed, rubbish pillows and a happy house night blaring thru the walls. Will stay in the premiere in next time as we've used the Grantham one and it's lovely.

Room Tip: If you look at the hotel from the front you want to be on the left away from the nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy you nights sleep with us. We do have 24 hour reception cover who would have been more than happy to show you how to adjust your thermostatic heating controls in your room & arrange for additional pillows & blankets. It was particularly disappointing to hear you were disturbed by music from the bar close by which does normally close at midnight at weekends, with just low background music but unfortunately on this occasion they did have a private party until 2am & if reception had been made aware that it was causing an issue they would have asked them to turn the music down to a more acceptable level for you. I do hope that you would consider returning to stay with us again at your next RAF reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    175
    78
    27
    18
See reviews for
79
237
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband decided to take me for dinner in the King's room yesterday evening. We did not book, which can be a little awkward on my part as I have a gluten and dairy free diet. From start to finish nothing was too much trouble. The menu was given to us to look at and I asked what was suitable for me. The waitress said she would go and talk to the chef. Stacey promptly returned saying that there was only 1 starter that wasn't suitable and the main courses were fine or could easily be adapted for me. I chose the ham hock terrine with apricot chutney, this was lovely and warm gluten free bread was provided for me to have with it. I then chose the trio of beef as did my husband, what an absolute treat, each dish complimented the other. Desserts for me are usually difficult, but for the Angel & Royal it was no problem. A gluten dairy free chocolate brownie was provided with champagne sorbet and fresh raspberries, delightful!
I can safely say that both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, service and food was next to none and excellent value for money.
Well done Chef and catering staff continue the excellent work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest We are glad you enjoyed your dinner in the Kings Room restaurant .We do pride our selves on being able to adapt menus to accommodate dietary requirements & will pass on your thanks to the chef & restaurant team. We look forward to you returning often with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went to Grantham to see our daughter and future son-in-law to check out The Angel & Royal Hotel as a venue for their nuptials in a year. We were very, very happy with the hotel. The room we stayed in was charming with the small sitting room and bedroom on split levels. The bathroom was lovely too. We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs with drinks in both bars before dinner. We met with the manageress where we discussed arrangements for the wedding and reception which will both be held there. So far, so good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us & look forward to planning your daughters wedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Unexpectedly had a suite of two rooms. Extremely comfortable. Great bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Had a fabulous dinner in the restaurant and a great breakfast. My only complaint is that the 'high speed internet' didn't work in the bedroom and where it did work in the public areas it was slow beyond belief.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Peamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest We are really pleased you had a comfortable stay with us & loved your Dinner & Breakfast. I’m absolutely thrilled to say our WiFi has just been updated & hope you will come back to see just how fast it is now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I visit Grantham on business on a fairly regular basis, and have been staying at the Angel & Royal for a number of years now. The service is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always clean, and just like the rest of the hotel have plenty of character, but with all the modern niceties required for a pleasant stay. The hotel dates back many hundreds of years, so has plenty of history (including a number of Royal visits) that is tastefully maintained. There are two pleasant bars exuding genuine 'oldy worldy' character, that cater for hotel residents into the early hours if required, unlike some of the well known branded hotels these days. Very importantly, the Angel & Royal provide the most impressive full English Breakfast. Should you require a bed for the night in the Grantham area I would always recommend this hotel for you to stay in, at very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navnoor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest We are delighted that you enjoy staying with us often & hope you will continue to visit us for may years to come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
2.2 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
4.9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Address: 4-5 High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire - The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel - in fact the oldest inn in Britain - and has hosted seven Kings over 800 years - Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant - cosy fire-lit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities - The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building - They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - internet access - All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing