We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLEASANT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT STAY”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a short break at the Angel and Royal for our wedding anniversary courtesy of Tesco clubcard vouchers. Our first impressions of this old Coaching inn were very favourable. Check-in was quick and efficient. We stayed in Room 103 which was split into two areas, a small sitting room with sofa, TV and hospitality trolley and a slightly larger sleeping area with a feature bed and surprisingly another flat screen TV. These areas were separated by a corridor containing a good sized immaculate bathroom. Our bedroom was directly opposite the kitchen and we were concerned the noise from the extractor fans would disturb our sleep so we closed the room windows which made it very stuffy but at least eliminated the noise. The second night we remedied this by turning off the radiator and opening the window and the noise from the fans was minimal. The light carpet in our room was marked and we couldn't decide whether it was stained or just marked with footprints. The bed was very comfortable. Sadly we were disappointed with breakfast, the toast on the first morning was cold, the scrambled egg overcooked and the sausage tasteless. On our second evening we dined in the magnificent Kings Room restaurant and the service we received from the restaurant manageress was excellent and the meal absolutely delicious. On the whole we enjoyed our stay at the Angel and Royal but probably will not stay there again as we have seen all the attractions in the area which we set out to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank mazzyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & do hope you would come back as we cn suggest lots more places to see & things to do locally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    186
    82
    29
    19
See reviews for
81
254
39
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff friendly.

If you are not so mobile you will need to ask for a suitable room. There are no lifts and it's a bit of a walk and up stairs to the rooms.

Wifi in the rooms doesn't work - only in public areas and not great there.

Food is good and reasonable value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest We are glad you liked out hotel it is unfortunate that you stayed with us the week prior to us upgrading our Wifi in over 50% of our rooms & public areas & we are really pleased to say the remaining rooms are all being upgraded very soon so I do hope you will be able to return so you can see first hand how fantastic it is now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughton
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lots of history, nice bar and restaurant; good parking at rear. I stayed for a business meeting; the meeting room was great and the food superb. Hotel room a little too small for my liking; but clean and quiet. Very good location; and would return for business stay but not with the family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay & food with us. I do hope you would consider brining your family as we do have a large selection of rooms ranging from junior suites, family rooms, four posters & luxury & lots to see & do locally for a family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked 4 months in advance of a large reunion party we were attending. We requested a quiet room and upgraded to one of the luxury rooms. We got there, place was amazing, staff very nice. no lifts and you needed claiming gear and oxygen to make it to the room, definitely not for the disabled or unfit. The hotel bar is very small with a beautiful open fire, friendly staff but open fire fills the room with really quite choking smoke. The room was beautiful and we got changed and headed off for our night. It wasn't till we got back the the problems arose, no spare pillows in room at all and the 2 pillows per person were like pitta brads they were so flat. Very thin duvet and no blankets in room or ability to turn on heating. I sat there shivering till 3 am, why was I not sleeping you ask, well that would be because the quiet room we asked for backed on the nightclub!! Worst nights sleep I've ever had in a best western with hard lumpy bed, rubbish pillows and a happy house night blaring thru the walls. Will stay in the premiere in next time as we've used the Grantham one and it's lovely.

Room Tip: If you look at the hotel from the front you want to be on the left away from the nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy you nights sleep with us. We do have 24 hour reception cover who would have been more than happy to show you how to adjust your thermostatic heating controls in your room & arrange for additional pillows & blankets. It was particularly disappointing to hear you were disturbed by music from the bar close by which does normally close at midnight at weekends, with just low background music but unfortunately on this occasion they did have a private party until 2am & if reception had been made aware that it was causing an issue they would have asked them to turn the music down to a more acceptable level for you. I do hope that you would consider returning to stay with us again at your next RAF reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband decided to take me for dinner in the King's room yesterday evening. We did not book, which can be a little awkward on my part as I have a gluten and dairy free diet. From start to finish nothing was too much trouble. The menu was given to us to look at and I asked what was suitable for me. The waitress said she would go and talk to the chef. Stacey promptly returned saying that there was only 1 starter that wasn't suitable and the main courses were fine or could easily be adapted for me. I chose the ham hock terrine with apricot chutney, this was lovely and warm gluten free bread was provided for me to have with it. I then chose the trio of beef as did my husband, what an absolute treat, each dish complimented the other. Desserts for me are usually difficult, but for the Angel & Royal it was no problem. A gluten dairy free chocolate brownie was provided with champagne sorbet and fresh raspberries, delightful!
I can safely say that both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, service and food was next to none and excellent value for money.
Well done Chef and catering staff continue the excellent work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest We are glad you enjoyed your dinner in the Kings Room restaurant .We do pride our selves on being able to adapt menus to accommodate dietary requirements & will pass on your thanks to the chef & restaurant team. We look forward to you returning often with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went to Grantham to see our daughter and future son-in-law to check out The Angel & Royal Hotel as a venue for their nuptials in a year. We were very, very happy with the hotel. The room we stayed in was charming with the small sitting room and bedroom on split levels. The bathroom was lovely too. We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs with drinks in both bars before dinner. We met with the manageress where we discussed arrangements for the wedding and reception which will both be held there. So far, so good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest we are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us & look forward to planning your daughters wedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Unexpectedly had a suite of two rooms. Extremely comfortable. Great bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Had a fabulous dinner in the restaurant and a great breakfast. My only complaint is that the 'high speed internet' didn't work in the bedroom and where it did work in the public areas it was slow beyond belief.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Peamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest We are really pleased you had a comfortable stay with us & loved your Dinner & Breakfast. I’m absolutely thrilled to say our WiFi has just been updated & hope you will come back to see just how fast it is now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
2.2 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#4 of 7 in Grantham
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Grantham
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Grantham A1
Travelodge Grantham A1
#5 of 7 in Grantham
132 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire. The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel in fact it is reputedly the oldest inn in Britain and has hosted seven Kings over the last 800 years. Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant, cosy firelit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities. Additionally Turpins Cocktail & Prosecco bar is a great place to enjoy pre-dinner drinks or to meet family or friends. The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building. They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - free wifi internet access. All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing