We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD WORLD CHARM AND SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    184
    81
    29
    18
See reviews for
80
251
38
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a pleasant surprise and well situated. I had a great room with a four poster bed! Service was friendly and efficient and breakfast very good. Didn't use restaurant so unable to comment. Plenty of eateries nearby. Certainly recommend for a short break as well as for business........

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hjg1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & hopefully will come back & dine with us next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here in May for a weekend and loved it. Traditionally furnished room which was very comfortable surrounding a courtyard which was great for meeting up and chatting during this lovely warm weekend. Had breakfast on both mornings and it was lovely and well worth it. The room was very warm but so was the weather outside. A little gripe was that the mirror placed over the dressing table was placed too high on the wall to be able to see in it when you sat on the chair which meant that I had to stand up to dry my hair and apply my makeup, must have been put up by a man lol. Hotel is in the centre of Grantham which meant that it was ideally placed for enjoying the area on a night. ome of the rooms are quite a hike from reception so make sure you mention if you have even slight mobility problems. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-T-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us & yes you were right mirror was put up by a man & will be corrected by a women!!.Hope you will come & have another weekend with us very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good location, in the centre of Grantham. This hotel as secure parking at the back of the premises. The room we had was large,clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was good with a reasonable choice. The price of the stay was also at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback & hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Secure car park at rear of building. Good central location and an historic building. Very traditional (old fashioned) decor in the bedrooms. I had a four poster bed in a large spacious room, a fake fur rug etc. On the plus side it was clean. The Over bath shower head didn't work and i had to resort to the hand held shower. I also struggled slightly with the lock which was loose (a proper key rather than a swipe card). As others have reported the room was some distance from reception with lots of stairs. It would be difficult for anyone with mobility issues. Breakfast had a reasonable choice and friendly service. I would use again but for me it was probably more suited to mature clients who could struggle with the type of issues that do arise with an old building.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues ring the hotel first to get a suitable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your valued feedback. I’m pleased that you would come back & stay with us again & hopefully we will see you soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over a weekend in May. For the money it's very good. All that you need. And it's right in town. All the pubs and clubs and restaurants within a stone's throw. I will go again. Rooms are spacious and ours had a separate living room. The bathroom was large. We ate in the hotel the first night but explored the second.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback & we look forward to welcoming you & all the RAF regiment back at your next reunion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
2.2 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#4 of 7 in Grantham
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Grantham
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,255 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Grantham A1
Travelodge Grantham A1
#5 of 7 in Grantham
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire - The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel - in fact the oldest inn in Britain - and has hosted seven Kings over 800 years - Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant - cosy fire-lit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities - The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building - They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - internet access - All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing