We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shambles at breakfast !!!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a shambles at breakfast !!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. First I noted that there are no Blue Badge parking spaces. I made a request when booking for a low floor, because of my wife's disabilities and ended up on the second floor, there were no low floor rooms available and no record of my request.
Room ok, apart from leaving window open because of hot weather but with the constant noise of extractor fans we had to shut the window.

Beds were comfortable and the complimentary tray well equipped with biscuits and bottled water.

Friday morning breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and breakfast arrived speedily and was tasty and substantial, very pleased.

Saturday morning breakfast, had to wait for a table. When given a table, we were ignored by the staff, then had to wait over 30 mins for the cooked breakfast. When it arrived the bacon was dry, the mushroom was 1 mushroom the size of a 10 pence piece. Very disappointed but worse was yet to come !

Sunday morning breakfast, the hotel had opened the restaurant dining room to cater for the extra guests BUT even though we were only the third couple in the room at 8.20am, It was FORTY minutes before our cooked breakfast was on the table. The bacon was dry, the black pudding was cremated along with the fried bread and sausage. When we left the dining room a guest who ordered a boiled egg was still waiting !!

The breakfast for the Saturday and Sunday breakfasts were a disaster. A member of staff said the hotel was busy !!. If they cant even organise breakfast they don't deserve to run a hotel.

In summary, there is no way of me staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Peter R I can only apologise for your obvious disappointment on your stay with us,this is most certainly not our usual high standards .Unfortunately I was on annual leave & will be contacting all our guests who stayed with us this last weekend personally so I can hopefully have the opportunity to restore yours & their faith in us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    172
    76
    27
    18
See reviews for
79
233
34
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wouldn't stay again during the summer, room was hot and window opened above the bar terrace and was noisy. Places to eat locally are reasonable. Business trip so I didn't get much time to explore. May have air con now but I would check first.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mark W Thank you for comments & hopefully you will come back & see us again even in the very hopefully warm & sunny summer months as we can always accommodate guests who require much cooler rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This building has quite a history and the display in the entrance foyer is very interesting.
The location is good, easy to find. Parking is provided out back and you will need a code to exit carpark when you leave.
Our room was up several flights of stairs. It was a little dull and could do with a freshen up, but the bed was comfortable. The room (110) is quite warm and does not have a fan. I imagine it might get quite hot in even warmer weather. Also note the heating (when it's on) is centrally controlled, so you need to call down to reception to request a temperature adjustment. The bathroom was excellent - a real standout, with lovely white and black color scheme and a very nice deep bathtub and heated towel rail. The room was quiet. Breakfast was satisfactory and included a cooked breakfast if desired.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoppy3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your positive feedback & we hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for just a Friday night whilst visiting friends in the area. The Hotel is very well located on the High Street in Grantham and despite the fact that Grantham has quite a lively nightlife, the room we had was very quiet. The Hotel has a large car park with plenty of spaces.
The receptionist gave us a very warm welcome and was equally friendly every time we saw her and nothing was too much trouble. The room itself was very large with a large luxury en-suite bathroom. There was loads of storage space and a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was fairly typical with fruit, fruit juices, cereals and a good choice of cooked items including a full English. I opted for smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was substantial and well cooked. The waitresses were very pleasant and efficient.
Grantham, although looking a little tired, is a fairly pleasant market town with a weekly market and selection of general shops. There is a great choice of restaurants in the town. There is a very popular clothing outlet (Boundary Mill Store) just a five minute drive away which is well worth a trip. There are many other places of interest in the area and this Hotel is in a fantastic central location for this.
We will certainly stay at the Angel & Royal next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Although we had no noise (room 210), it may be better to avoid any rooms overlooking the High Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericanjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest.Thank you very much for your great feedback & hope you will come back & stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A warm friendly welcome, the staff were brilliant, the room was excellent, the food sublime, so good that we booked our next mini break before we left, breakfast and evening meals are a must, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest We are all really pleased you ad a wonderful stay & will be coming back again to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
2.4 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
4.9 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Address: 4-5 High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire - The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel - in fact the oldest inn in Britain - and has hosted seven Kings over 800 years - Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant - cosy fire-lit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities - The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building - They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - internet access - All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing