We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
308
218
100
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
218
100
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings room historic hotel four poster high street king john lovely old hotel lots of history richard iii third floor no lift would highly recommend this hotel mobility problems visiting grantham full english open fire night porter town centre
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We went to this beautiful Hotel for our wedding Anniversary, not for the first time I may add.

Polite and friendly service, good menu choices, nice bottle of red and wonderful surroundings.

This historic building is a real must see.

You need to be here when in the Grantham area.

You need to be here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Companion705115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Companion,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent anniversary meal with.We hope you will both come back to enjoy another evening

Kindest regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Wow! Having breakfast in the medieval bar area we felt we were dining in a castle and then peeking into the Kings Room along the frontage of the first floor, walking along the same floor and looking out of the same mullioned windows that King John, Edward III, and Richard III had looked out from gave me, an obsessive history buff, goose bumps!! But enough of the history lesson - our room, we requested a ground floor room to accommodate our two dogs, was huge and very comfortable. Well done for having two armchairs, usually there is only one and one guest ends up sitting on the bed to watch TV. The lovely young lady on reception on the Friday afternoon gave us the option of having breakfast set up in the lounge area so we could have our four legged friends with us - how dog friendly is that? Our room was in a separate mews cottage (No 10) and from that you step right out into the lovely courtyard, with lots of chairs and tables and even a small decking area set out for guests. Parking is just across a very quiet lane at the back of the hotel with views onto St Wulframs Church and lovely historic buildings. The only point I could niggle about was that parking was not included in the cost of the room or could have been charged up on arrival instead of coming out of the blue on checkout. As it wasn't raised on check in my husband presumed it was free to park for guests and suddenly had to find coins to cover the charge.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast but there was a very nice buffet laid out for self service and a menu for cooked breakfasts that had lots of choice and everything was delicious. The staff were so friendly and very helpful, from the gentleman who unlocked the back gate, very early on sunday morning, so that my dogs and I didn't have to go round to the front entrance to get in after our walk, to the lovely waiting staff in the restaurant and the receptionist on checking in.

All in all we had a great stay and would definitely return if and when we visit Grantham again.

Room tip: If you have dogs ask for room 107 in No 10
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Jane M

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us.Hopefully you will have the opportunity to come & visit us again with your 2 lovely 4 legged family members.

Kindest regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Spent one night (Sat) here while house hunting. It’s a lovely old place and well situated if you want to walk the town. Parking is spacious but situated across the narrow road to the rear of the hotel behind a barrier. It is however well lit. Our room was the rose room on the top floor. Split level, so no good if stairs are a problem. Cute room with a settee and bed on the lower level with a TV in both “rooms.” Nice touch. Comfort of the bed was acceptable but the pillows weren’t. Hard, flat and horrible. Synthetic heavy duvet also. Very clean throughout. Bathroom was fine but shower over the bath meant climbing over the wide surround...bit precarious when wet and slippy. Shower pressure went right down if somebody else was showering at the same time though.
We ate in the King’s Room restaurant as Grantham is a bit lacking in restaurants. The room is utterly fabulous and very atmospheric but the food was under par, so much so, the brilliant young waiter gave everybody a reduction on their bill as we had to wait so long for it to arrive. My fish was also tough and over cooked so our bill was reduced further. The young man was exemplary in handling the situation. Would we stay there again?...probably not, considering the price. And we certainly wouldn’t eat there again, but, I have to say, breakfast wasn’t bad....it was certainly better than dinner. No fault of the hotel but there was also a dreadful live band banging out awful dated music from a nearby venue until 11.30. It topped off a less than mediocre stay.

Room tip: Rose room is on two levels. There is no lift in the hotel.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valerie-Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Valerie-Parry

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful historic hotel. We are sorry you had to experience certain areas of the hotel that were lacking in this instance, this is not our usual standard for which we are inordinately proud & I will be taking your comments up with the relevant departments. Hopefully you would consider staying with us again so we can have the opportunity to to show you our true capabilities
Kindest regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Disappointed to find our room was on second floor, 45 steps and no lift.
Kitchen extract fan right outside window and noisy until very late.
General Manager pleasant and helpful. The problem we encountered arose the day after she left on leave. We stayed for 3 nights. The first meal was good, second night’s meal was passable but third night meal disaster. 45 minute wait for starter which was of questionable quality, the main dishes took one and a quarter hours to arrive and the presentation and quality was disgraceful and was sent back.

Room tip: Avoid 2nd floor over kitchen as noisy extract fan
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear theburvs,

I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment on your recent stay with us. I shall contact you personally & hopefully will be able to restore your faith in us.
Speak soon

Kindest regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

My Husband and I experience professional friendly service from Jane Green when we booked our wedding reception last year..and her commitment was delivered on Saturday..myself and bridesmaids received first class service during our stay the night before in the Rose chamber room,excellent room service delivered by the night porter..the court yard was opened to allow my surprise horse drawn carriage to collect me ..pimms reception drink went down a treat ..61 guest were seated in The Kings Room for a spectular wedding breakfast,the beef was cooked to perfection..the chicken was divine,the timing and temperature was perfect (even our most fussiest guest that don’t mince words said it was faultless) ..our wine was excellent quality and quantity..and the sticky toffee pudding was the best..Most of our guest stayed overnight,they all gave the rooms and service 5 stars ..myself and John stayed in the grand Kings Chamber,which is so beautifully..the view and sound of St Wulfrums church bells compliment this perfectly...breakfast was served in The king Room to 40 guest in a buffet style .again top 5* quality,quantity and service was delivered..Thank you Jane,The Chef and The Team for giving us precious memories to treasures,your service was impeccable and I’d definitely recommend you xx

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lisamcauliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Lisa & John

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I will pass on your glowing comments to all the team & we hope to see you both lots & lots in the future.

Wishing you both many years of happiness

Kindest regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews