We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House, new for 2016.  A really nice place to stay, and also a happy one.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House, new for 2016.  A really nice place to stay, and also a happy one.
Cozy with ample fuel. Large living room leading onto conservatory with garden beyond.  Terrace to the left.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Coach House, new for 2016.  A really nice place to stay, and also a happy one.
Cozy with ample fuel.
Large living room leading onto conservatory with garden beyond.  Terrace to the left.
Looking out from the ample terrace.
Terrace view across your hosts house, The Garth, towards Arnside Knott.
Monster Sun Terrace with 8/10 seater table. All ideal for a pottle of ale whilst planning.
Looking east from the back of the enclosed garden.
Garden shot of the Terrace and Conservatory with Eggerslack Wood beyond.
Heathers are out in March
Garden Entrance leading onto farm track.  You can use this track for access by foot or vehicles.
Breakfast in the conservatory!  Leading onto terrace and garden.
Conservatory in late afternoon sunshine.
Kitchen / dining area
Smart TV and sofas.
Looking from the Smart TV
Family bedroom.  Also shows pull out sixth bed.
Family Bedroom with pull out sixth bed.
Master Bedroom showing access to en-suite and solid oak barn doors.
Spacious Master bedroom with en-suite shower room to the right.
Entrance to Eggerslack Wood, just 5 to 10 seconds away.  One of the ways to the Hampsfell Hospice.
Entrance to the Hampsfell House Hotel for good nosh and beers.  Just a 5 to 10 second walk away.
Wide entrance hall with boot rack and staircase to upper level.
Utility room with washer, dryer, freezer, iron and ironing board.
Family Bath / Shower Room
En-suite shower with hand held water blaster in addition to shower head.
En-suite shower room.
Assortment of games and information books in lounge.
Time to retreat in a defensive corner with a cup of tea and look at the view.
Cozy wicker chair in the conservatory.  Easy to see the garden.
Planning with a bit of mental lubrication.
Solid oak rustic doors and fittings
Easy access from the spacious drive.  Lockable garage behind.
Looking up Hampsfell Road, one of the routes to the Hospice, with Eggerslack Wood to the right.
A view of the garden from the terrace.  The forest separates the Coach House from Grange-over-Sands.
Walking around the terrace thinking about tomorrow whilst listening to the owls.
View from your hosts house, The Garth.  Woods beyond separate The Coach House from Grange.
Conservatory looking into the living room.
More lubrication needed to finalise plans.
Bright
Spring time lawn flowers
Your hosts from The Garth over the Road.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Priya P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here in mid March for 3 nights as a couple. The hosts were really friendly and welcoming and there were so many little touches to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Really comfy beds (important for me as I am heavily pregnant) and lots of areas around the house to relax and unwind. We had unexpectedly nice weather which was a bonus so were able to enjoy sitting out on the terrace with a coffee overlooking the beautiful Morecambe Bay! The area itself is wonderful and it is a great base for exploring the South Lakes. Lots of lovely walks and an amazing butchers just a few minutes walk away in the village. All in all a lovely stay and we will definitely be back in a few months with our new baby!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you Priya, we are looking forward to seeing the new arrival in September. Much praise has to go to the efforts of Dawn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriboy
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Very Happy New Year”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We took the Coach House over the New Year's weekend to 'get away from it all'.
The house was in a perfect location for us as walkers - step right out the front door and you're off! The house itself is everything a rental property should be - clean, well furnished with everything (and I mean everything) you need for a lovely comfortable stay. The owners live just across the lane and couldn't have been more helpful. Grange-over-Sands is a nice little town and well worth a look around especially a stroll along the promenade. Cartmel is minutes away by car and worth a visit - we walked there via the Hospice on top of the hill - well worth the effort for the views alone. All in all a very Happy New Year for us. Highly recommend The Coach House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
Much of the credit must go to my wife Dawn. Hope to see you again.

Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you wee lassies, Grange over Sands has something to offer for every generation, feeding the ducks or running the fells, its all the same for this resort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oldlangs
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We went with another couple. We had a bedroom and bathroom each and the house was perfect Just simple things like milk in the fridge on arrival made this a stress free holiday
Shampoo etc all catered for , bathrooms were imaculate with fresh towels
I can honestly say that all 4 of us were very pleased with all that if offered
We walked up the hill just behind the house and the view was amazing ! Half hour up and just 10 minutes to get down. It's very steep but well worth it
Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Really pleased to have you and glad that you got to do some walking. Hope to see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Loved this place!! We arrived late at night and the heating was on for us And all the things you need for tea/ coffee and home made biscuits lovely, the views from the patio was amazing. There's a hotel next door and the food was amazing, and you must make the trek up the hill to see the beautiful views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busta_Kee...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful accommidation. Comfortable and very well kitted out. Great base for South Lakes. Stunning view from the tarrace. Ray and Dawn were excellent host. Nothing would have been too much for them. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thankyou for your wonderful review, it makes us so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and this lovely area.
We would love you to visit us again.
Best wishes,
Dawn and Ray.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cisc05
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly perfect place!”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

An excellent cottage with an ideal location. The cottage has all you could ask for. It is so well equipped with special touches by the owners. The very large balcony/terrace gave us stunning views of Morecambe Bay. (The weather helped too!)
We love walking and so found that there were many walks within reach - the walk up to The Hospice (just up the road from the cottage) gave fantastic 360* views.
We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Could not say as it was all great!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
We look forward to being of service in the future and thank you for leaving The Coach House so clean.. Ray and Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing