We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed here with husband and our dog in one of the pine lodges. The lodge was clean and well equipped. The lodge we stayed in had a spa bath and sauna which where an added bonus and nice to relax in after walking the dog. The lodges are set in a lovely location, not over looked. This is the perfect place to go for a quiet peaceful and chilled weekend

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank moredela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

What a friendly place this is. I have visited three times now whilst staying on the neighbouring Caravan Club site. Although on two occasions I only had a drink this last weekend we also had an evening meal. I was advised to book as they had a "do" on but in the event there were only a few tables in use with the ladies of Grange over Sands Golf Club having their "do" in another room.

The menu is not extensive but suitably varied and we had no problem finding dishes to suit. The food was plentiful and enjoyable. I had a retro prawn cocktail and then pork escalopes with proper vegetables. The tarte au citron for sweet was just right. The highlight though was the bottle of Vacqueyras at £14.95 which for the price was exceptional value.

Being somewhat off the beaten track this is a real oasis, particularly if you are staying on the CC site next door. I did not expect to find real ale but I was wrong and the Clarks bitter was good. The top shelf also contains some tempting malts.

If you are in the mood for conversation, the owner, manager, bar man (not sure of his official role) is good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffreyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Well just returned from an excellent "long weekend" break . Stayed in one of the lodges on a b/b & evening meal basis - good value. Accommodation, food and service very good. We accompanied our pet dog! & he was welcomed in the bar area at mealtime (ours not his!) - so that was a plus.OK it is a little off the beaten track but that is exactly what we aimed for. Very quiet time of year which enabled Steve the manager to give us individual attention! Other staff friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevaDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Booked via Cottages for You, but call the Hotel direct to check for seasonal deals. The Woodland Hotel & Pine Lodges are in South Lakes, near Grange Over Sands (lovely little town shops, scenery, walks, coast) we enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing weekend in the Lake District, we stayed in Sycamore Lodge (sleeps 4, self catering) spacious, warm, clean, well equipped lodge with a Sauna and Jacuzzi bath, hot, powerfull shower and comfy beds, Lodge was about 15 metres away from the Hotel so you can pop into the bar or restaurant if you don't fancy cooking or just got back from a long walk, you also collect and drop off your Lodge Keys from the Hotel Reception - It's a little bit off the beaten track but feels safe and welcoming - group of 4 long time friends had a great weekend and plan on going back next year, and the year after..... :)

Room Tip: All Pine Lodges are great, well maintained, Hotel is the same, food good and bar excellent, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebew851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed for my partner's birthday from the Saturday until Wednesday morning. We stayed in a lodge with a sauna and where dogs are allowed. Very clean and cosy - if dogs had stayed previously you couldn't tell. Ideally located, although there weren't many takeaways in the area if you didn't feel like cooking but still wanted a night in. Amazing power shower, loads of hot water and always available. We stayed first week in November - cold outside but warm as toast inside!
Went caving and rock climbing with Kendal Mountaineering Services which is locally based and great fun. Lovely to come back in the evening after our climbing n caving to the lovely warm lodge and have a power shower!!
Breakfast, in my opinion, a tad expensive at £22 per person - although an amazing selection. Lots of places locally to go dog walking and general rambling.
We'll be back in the summer - 'twas a beautiful break and a lovely birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November in one of the lodges. When we arrived the lodge was lovely and warm and very clean. It had a spa bath and a sauna. The kitchen was great with all the utencils and equipment you would need. Overall we had a lovely stay.

In terms of the location it took us 15 minutes to drive into Bowness on Windermere where we had a lovely day out.

The only negative comment I have is as dogs are allowed the leather setee in our lodge did smell of dogs so that was the only downside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

lovely lodges very spacious and spotless lovely hotel bar with excellent food staff excellent steve is great and very helpful book in here with confidence and enjoy a nice quiet break will be back soon P S thank you for the room service

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42alfie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
11.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
6.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
256 reviews
9.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges

Address: Meathop, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Pine Lodge
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Grange-Over-Sands
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing