We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back form a weekend at the Woodlands hotel with son Mark and daughter in law Lisa celebrating their wedding anniversary.First visit here for me and hubby Terry, we were very impressed with the hotel and surroundings.Steve the manager and his staff were fantastic. good customer service and very hard working. Steve worked the bar at night there till late and then serving breakfast the next morning.The food was fantastic from continental to full English breakfast always piping hot to great multi choice evening meals. The rooms were warm and welcoming with en suite bathrooms. The weather on Saturday was unbelievable with thunder and lightning and hailstones but it didn't stop us having a wonderful weekend.Thanks again Steve and your staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    52
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Decided to take a last minute short break in the Lakes and booked into this great hotel. Perfect for relaxation and some TLC.Staff most welcoming, hotel clean, homely and very comfortable. Meals highly recommended- a talented chef clearly works here. Nice to stay in a place which has true character. Conveniently located for Windermere, Ambleside and Coniston, yet positioned in its own beautiful and peaceful surroundings away from the masses, on the outskirts of Grange Over Sands. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent a three night stay in a Nordic pine lodge the two of us with our dog, lovely lodge with one double and one twin room, kitchen everything you need spacious lounge.The lodges were lovely and warm.
Enjoyed the spa bath shower & sauna which we used everyday on our stay .The mattress on the double bed was uncomfortable . You have to pay for electricity which costs around £12 .
The hotel at the top of the drive serves excellent quality food, we ate there every night Perfect 10/10. The owner and the staff were very friendly made you very welcome .
This is a good place to stay in a good location to visit the lakes and we would defiantly go back again. Thank you .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjtud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is our fourth visit to this location we have stayed twice in the Hotel and twice in the Log Cabin
and each time could not fault it. The setting is beautiful in the woods and the cabins are lovely our cabin had a sauna and spa bath, two bedrooms and bath and shower room, the lounge and kitchen are well equipped and quite large.
We had our breakfast and evening meal in the hotel all 4 days meals were supberb as were the staff really welcoming. Its a handy base for the Lakes being only a few mile away but not suitable unless you have a car. The weather was absolutely beautiful we went 2nd Sept to 6th
Beware of going to public toilets near boat dock at Bowness they charge you 40p to use, absolute rip off.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A very good location for site seeing around the South Lakes. Very clean, modern rooms, very comfy beds, quiet at night. Accommodated our dog no problem. Breakfast the usual choice and very filling. We stopped for 5 nights and each day we had clean towels, which was nice. We had dinner on one occasion but was slightly disappointed by the quality; my starter was a mushroom topped with Brussels pâté but was surrounded by a rather tasteless jus more of a watery gravy! My main was a nice fillet of sea bass on bed of new potatoes but again the dish was a bit swamped by a creamy garlic sauce. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room which overlooked the garden was over the dining room so it was very quiet when the diners h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank folklovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were staying on the adjacent Caravan Park and were able to walk to this Hotel. We had booked a table and on arrival we received a warm welcome and had drinks at the bar. You do not need to be a reasident to use the Hotel. The menue was ample and varied and the service was good. The food was good and the bill was very reasonable. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCommanderLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at the newly furnished Woodlands Hotel, it was very clean comfortable and well equipped. we stayed for a couple of nights. Excellent rooms, quiet, secluded, beautiful location in the woods. We dined at the hotel restaurant, the food and service was excellent and reasonably priced & the drink prices were not expensive either. The owner was very nice, helpful, advising us on places to visit locally. Overall a very pleasant relaxing stay and we will visit again in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
1.5 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
11.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
5.6 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges

Property: Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Address: Meathop, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Pine Lodge
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Grange-Over-Sands
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing