We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B Very friendly host”
Review of Somerset House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset House
Cheshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice B&B Very friendly host”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

we stayed here overnight and cannot fault the room, it was spacious, warm and cosy and the facilities, tv and ensuite were of a very good standard, the only thing I would point out to potential guests is the parking, there is a limit to one hour when parking on the road outside and then you have to move, this limit ends at 4.00 pm and you can then leave your car until 10.00 am the next morning, a good tip would be to book into your room some time around 3.00 pm there is a car park about 20 seconds walk from the B&B which you can also use. other than that the breakfast was good and the host is very very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sootyandpebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
19
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked to stay at Somerset House for 1 night only on Sat 2nd February as we were attending a family wedding nearby, I was so overwhelmed by Geraldine's customer care on the phone when booking even down to giving us precise directions, I phoned her back 5 minutes later and booked for my family to stay for 2 nights, even when I phoned again to ask for another room, she was very accommodating. Both Geraldine and Dave were very friendly and informative of the surrounding sights. Rooms had ample space, very clean and we all had 2 great nights sleep. Breakfasts were fantastic, great choice on the menu. We were even offered to have breakfast later on the Sunday morning as we had been at a wedding. Would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresarutherford37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Hotel was clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated and handy for the local attractions, shops and trips to the Lake District, Windermere and Ambleside also.
The power shower was worth the trip alone!
Paul Davies
Must be Media Ltd.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Payed a surprise visit to my sister, and had not booked anywhere - so happened to enquire here.
So glad I did - good rates, and Dave and Geraldine are the perfect owners.
My room was ideal, comfortable and sparkling clean - and as for the power shower - I did not want to get out of the cubicle!
Lovely comfortable bed and enough room for a 6foot plus person like me.
When I did venture out of the shower - I went down for breakfast - and I have to say that Geraldines home cooking is superb.
All in all - perfect hosts, good convenient location - and Dave provided a great little free parking tip. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Just stayed for one night and it was very good. Room was warm, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb, with a good choice of dishes and generous helpings. Friendly and very good value as they had a special offer on. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed in November 2012 and found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and clean. The owner was most hospitable and we would definitely recommend it. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The location was just perfect for access to the town and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went to Grange-over-Sands for a wedding. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We got up a bit late the next day(!) and one of the owners insisted on making us some breakfast which was delicious. He then showed us where to walk for one of the most incredible views in the country. As we didn't have that much time before our train he then offered us a lift half way up the hill so we could get there. We were so touched by how much the guys here went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. Don't book a big hotel in this lovely town you will get so much more by staying in a B&B which has the local knowledge. Once you've made that decision I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbob235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birchleigh Guest House
Birchleigh Guest House
#10 of 29 in Grange-over-Sands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House

Property: Somerset House
Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Somerset House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing