We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people but very budget b&b”
Review of Somerset House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset House
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely people but very budget b&b”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Really lovely couple make you feel very welcome. However the room I was in (2) was very dated and very tired. Terrible shower, no Sky (however very good Internet). Comfortable bed, good breakfast menu ( can't really comment on the food as I only had toast but it looked good), no secure parking but there is parking on the street and a car park a short walk away. I would stay again just because they were great people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
19
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponteland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely clean and spacious family room with sea view. Dave & Geraldine were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast and evening meal were both delicious and all home cooked. Room was a little hot but all in all good nights sleep. Good central location with coast and park close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We arrived on the way back from staying in Scotland. Dave and Geraldine gave us all a warm welcome. Family room was lovely and clean with all the amenities. The breakfast was very nice. The location was perfect for us as Lake Windermere was about 7 miles away and Geraldine suggested the best way to take in all of Lake Windermere. Would definitely recommend for families and for dog owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeluc_Lucjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A very comfortable stay. We were cycling on a coast to coast route and arrived late but were made very welcome by Geraldine and David. After a shower we had a delicious evening meal with drinks outside on a balmy evening surrounded by lovely flowers in David's tubs and baskets. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the food very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Geraldine and Dave have it just right. Somerset House is a winning blend of professionalism on the one hand (everything is spotless and well thought out) and friendly informality on the other (you are remembered by name and asked how your particular plans for the day worked out).

My two night stay was relaxing both because everything was as it should be and because it felt rather like staying with friends - in this case friends who ran me to the station when taxis were in short supply.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights over a summer weekend - we had a great experience, the hosts went out of their way to help enjoy our stay and quite literally "went the extra mile" for us when parts of our travel plans went wrong. Highly recommended B&B for this reason ... let alone the excellent breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ajc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for two nights, this is an excellent base for exploring the lakes, and Grange is a really nice village, Geraldine and Dave were superb hosts and to be able to get a dinner is a bonus, good food and nicely presented, Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munro67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
953 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#9 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corner Beech House
Corner Beech House
#3 of 30 in Grange-over-Sands
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House

Property: Somerset House
Address: Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Somerset House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset House Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing