We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
65
15
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
15
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomgreat dogbreakfast was excellentbreakfast roomtea and coffee facilitiesquiet locationenjoyable stayattending a weddingsmoked salmonshort staylovely roomsea viewgeraldinegrangepromenadelakesestuary
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This B&B has the advantage of being located in the delightfultown of Grange Over Sands. Anyone familiair with the area will know how busy the towns in the middle of the Lakes are - Ambleside and so on. I am sure Grange is overlooked in favour of those places. It shouldn't be. This lovely bustling little place has many pleasant features - a small but lively high street, a promenade along the shore front (fantastic fish and chips from the pub there) and wonderful elevated views from many parts of the town with beautiful views across the estuary. The railway station is something of a feature being still set in the fifties and there are several very gracious large hotels for the more affluent visitor. Somerset House is centrally located - it is clean, the beds are good, plentiful tea and coffee in the room and a honesty bar downstairs was great for icecold drinks. I'm pretty sure many of the visitors were regular as they all seemed to know the owners well. The owners were chatty and friendly, they allowed us to have our dogs in the room, blessed with fine weather we didn't need to clean them, but they do offer bucket and towels if you need them. It is not particularly stylish, swirly carpets and so on, but it is comfortable and as I've said centrally located. You can't park right outside from 10am to abt 5pm, but there are streets with parking not too far away. We booked through booking.com but sd have gone direct.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank cardy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

8 of us stayed in the Somerset House. Geraldine the owner was superb, she was very friendly and accommodating. She provided with leaflets of different places in the lake district to visit, and wrote a list of postcodes for the places she recommended.
The breakfast was nice especially the muffins. The rooms were clean. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing stay with David & Geraldine. They are both very friendly and welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. The food is wonderfull and well organised, however my wife was disapointed not to find grilled tomatoes on a cooked breakfast. I am sure when we go and stay again if we ask for them we will get them.
If you want to chill out for a couple of days, this is the place to do it and a comfortable nights sleep

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LesnStuonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

My colleagues and I keep feeling blessed until now that we decided to pick Somerset House for our accommodation while attending a nutrition conference at Grange over sands this mid June. We were picked up by David, a talkative gentleman, whom later we knew is the owner of Somerset House, at Grange train station. When we arrived, Geraldine, David's wife, greeted us from the front door. Geraldine was the one I had been communicating through emails. This couple had become our favorite because of their understanding with our needs, three Asian muslims who'd travelled a long way from Indonesia. We were given a family room that is well maintained and facing the back yard with the view of some unique British houses. Breakfast was always a surprise, as Geraldine always get us to choose from the menu list she left in our room every evening. My favorite is the vegetarian breakfast... interesting and yummy. Somerset House is in fact an old building aged back in the 1880s. The location is perfect as all necessary shops are just around. The Promenade is at the back side of Somerset House. It is the passage we took everyday to the conference site, how nice that people always greeted us warmly alongside the Promenade. Defenitely unforgettable experience....

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tanty2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Chose this B & B because it had lots of good reviews.We wanted somewhere to stay ideally located for the races at Cartmel and exploring the Lake District, this certainly fit the bill, our family room was a good size and very clean, the owners were very friendly and accommodating, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tavvaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews