We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
66
15
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
15
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room great dog breakfast was excellent breakfast room tea and coffee facilities quiet location enjoyable stay attending a wedding smoked salmon short stay lovely room sea view geraldine grange promenade lakes estuary
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Good location, walking distance to shops and station. Room and bed were clean and comfortable with good shower facilities. Room was warm and generally quiet. Good selection for breakfast and generous servings. Found the hosts very friendly and accommodating. I stayed for a week and would recommend as a good choice when visiting the Lake District and surrounds.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank TuraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Grange-over-Sands (or Grange-over-Grass to be more accurate) certainly has its charms and this B&B is centrally located in the town. Our room was small and the adjacent shower room a tight fit, but it was well appointed and clean. Pity about the notices around the walls, including one threatening an £80 fine should you smoke in the room. Breakfast was of good quality, in a bright dining room, served in an efficient but friendly manner. Takes dogs, which is a bonus. All in all, a pleasant two-nights’ stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgordino, Owner at Somerset House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed Grange. Regarding the notice about smoking, we are a non smoking establishment and whilst many smokers respect this , we have had the odd few who flout it. If you had arrived and I had put you into a room which obviously smelt of smoke, you may not have been happy with this. Also, we advertise ourselves as non smoking and we could be accused of misrepresentation. We also run the risk of not being able to re-let the room even if we had guests arriving to accommodate it,, running the risk of upsetting guests who had pre-booked the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This B&B has the advantage of being located in the delightfultown of Grange Over Sands. Anyone familiair with the area will know how busy the towns in the middle of the Lakes are - Ambleside and so on. I am sure Grange is overlooked in favour of those places. It shouldn't be. This lovely bustling little place has many pleasant features - a small but lively high street, a promenade along the shore front (fantastic fish and chips from the pub there) and wonderful elevated views from many parts of the town with beautiful views across the estuary. The railway station is something of a feature being still set in the fifties and there are several very gracious large hotels for the more affluent visitor. Somerset House is centrally located - it is clean, the beds are good, plentiful tea and coffee in the room and a honesty bar downstairs was great for icecold drinks. I'm pretty sure many of the visitors were regular as they all seemed to know the owners well. The owners were chatty and friendly, they allowed us to have our dogs in the room, blessed with fine weather we didn't need to clean them, but they do offer bucket and towels if you need them. It is not particularly stylish, swirly carpets and so on, but it is comfortable and as I've said centrally located. You can't park right outside from 10am to abt 5pm, but there are streets with parking not too far away. We booked through booking.com but sd have gone direct.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank cardy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

8 of us stayed in the Somerset House. Geraldine the owner was superb, she was very friendly and accommodating. She provided with leaflets of different places in the lake district to visit, and wrote a list of postcodes for the places she recommended.
The breakfast was nice especially the muffins. The rooms were clean. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing stay with David & Geraldine. They are both very friendly and welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. The food is wonderfull and well organised, however my wife was disapointed not to find grilled tomatoes on a cooked breakfast. I am sure when we go and stay again if we ask for them we will get them.
If you want to chill out for a couple of days, this is the place to do it and a comfortable nights sleep

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LesnStuonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews