We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
66
15
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
15
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room great dog breakfast was excellent breakfast room tea and coffee facilities quiet location enjoyable stay attending a wedding smoked salmon short stay lovely room sea view geraldine grange promenade lakes estuary
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We stayed here one night while doing the Morecambe Bay Cycleway. Geraldine and David were absolutely lovely, stowed our bikes safely, recommended places to eat and provided a very comprehensive map of nearby parking places. Breakfast was fab with some unusual ( and delicious) items on the menu. Our double room was comfortable enough, though it was quite small and pretty basic too. Though the service made up for it, on the strength of the room alone we probably wouldn't choose it as a base for more than one night. As a helpful extra though, when we were there David, who is a bike maintenance expert, was offering an emergency call out service to cyclists staying with them

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed here for one night while cycling route 700. Upon answering the door to us Geraldine made us feel welcome, and promptly ensured our bikes were safely stowed away without making us feel rushed to get the panniers off.
We were made to feel comfortable at all times throughout our one night stay.The room (twin room top floor) was very clean and the beds were very comfortable with the correct amount of bedding.
We were told the time for breakfast but could have changed it if we wished. The breakfast was delicious, just what we needed to set us up for our next day of cycling.

Grange - over - Sands is a lovely town, and should we decide to revisit for longer, then Somerset House would be our first choice of place to stay.

As cyclists we were made to feel comfortable, and the storage was excellent for the bikes. Nice and secure.

Thankyou Geraldine for making our brief visit comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garyamos71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgordino, Owner at Somerset House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you Gary,
Regards,
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous little b&b Somerset House is. A very warm welcome from Geraldine for both myself and my dog Monty.

The room was a twin bedded room at the top of the house. It was clean, well decorated, tv on the wall and nice and warm. Window does open if required.

Nothing was too much trouble and when discussing breakfast with Geraldine she very kindly offered as a special one off favour for my breakfast to be brought to my room on Sunday morning as leaving Monty on his own could have resulted in him howling. (Please note that this isn't something Geraldine would normally do).

Breakfast was I have to say superb. Fresh kippers with scrambled egg, toast, tea and orange juice. All well presented and perfectly cooked and arrived promptly at 8.30am as agreed.

Price wise you couldn't really get better value for money.

A fantastically run, welcoming and homely B&B.

Thank you Geraldine.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank MontyMoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgordino, Owner at Somerset House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

So glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. See you again in the future.
Regards,
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This was one of the best stays I've ever had anywhere ever. The personal service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. We were given a lift to the skydive centre for the skydive we had booked as we were unable to get a taxi. After a surprise proposal and a little too much celebrating we slept in and missed breakfast. This was then offered and served to us way past midday by a very understanding hostess. Can't recommend highly enough. The owners are kind and helpful and accommodating. A++++++

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgordino, Owner at Somerset House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you Claire, best wishes to you both.

Regards,
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break in Grange with friends. We stayed here at Somerset House after spotting it on TripAdvisor.
So glad we decided to pick this homely guesthouse. A lovely welcome from our host Geraldine on arrival. She spent time advising us on places to visit and where to eat out locally, which was very helpful.

Whilst out in the town on our last night we had fancied getting a taxi to a more rural pub but couldn't find a taxi number (although there were plenty on the board back at the guesthouse, we'd just neglected to take note! )
On mentioning this to Geraldine the following morning, she said we should have come back to Somerset House and she'd have given us a lift!
If that isn't going the extra mile I don't know what is!

The rooms were very comfortable indeed. Clean and spacious. Beds very comfy also.
Lovely breakfast in the morning with plenty of choice.

The area is beautiful too. We visited Ulverston and Arnside, both very picturesque, even more so when the sun came out!

I would have no hesitation in recommending this little gem of a place if you're planning a visit to Grange over Sands.
More than certain we shall be returning here to stay in the near future.
Thanks Geraldine for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews