We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James and S R - Leeds "Most enjoyable"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampsfell House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just returned from a splendid 3 night stay 15, 16, 17 October at this charming Hotel. We especially enjoyed the warm cosy atmosphere in the sitting room in front of the log fire having coffee after a sumptuous evening meal. All the meals were superb and worthy of 5* rating. The accommodation was spotless and we found the family and staff most obliging, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 5 which we found to be adequate for our needs and quite spacious, the jaccuzi was a bonus. We couldn't have found a more dog friendly hotel, clearly they are true dog lovers and showed great patience with Ruby our Labrador and would like to thank them for that. All in all, would we like to stay here again? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if travelling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and our friends (another couple) took between us our 4 small dogs to say for 3 nights. We did use our travel dog pens for the bedrooms which kept our dogs feeling secure in a strange place. It is a very dog friendly place.
The food is outstanding and would recommend you book b & b with evening meal, you won't
be disappointed.
The hotel is cosy and clean and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very near to the Lakes. We couldn't have picked a better spot to stay.
If we are ever up in the Lake District again we would certainly stay at this hotel.
Rita and Tim

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked this hotel for 1 night stay on 22/9 as a last minute booking. Cannot believe how lucky we were to fall across this place, The Hotel is in a beauiful setting nestled quietly within the trees. The rooms, dining area and lounge area where all very clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had B & B & dinner at the hotel and I must say the food was amazing at each meal. Beautifully served, hot with a varied choice on the menu. Superb, If anyone is looking for a quiet get away, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH002_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I and our border terrier Hamish stayed here on the 8th and 9th of September 2012 on Dinnner B & B. Just wanted to say thank you to Brian, Rose and family for making our stay an enjoyable one. We would certainly stay here again as it is an ideal base for visiting Cartmel which is only 5mins away by car. The hotel and our room were very clean and the food was superb. Thanks again, Kevin & Gillian.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have already written a review for this hotel, I dont know what went wrong but somehow all my reviews were wiped off but they are back now. stayed here 21 22 23 August in room 8.
Had a lovely time here food great staff great everything nice and clean, gardens are nice and its the most dog friendly place we have stayed in, ususally you have to pay for the dog and they are not allowed anywhere, not here they are allowed in the bar which is great if you want to go and have a drink. We dont usually go to the same place twice, but I am sure we will come back here. Grange over is a really nice place to visit very quaint an clean. Cant say anymore. Just go you will enjoy it here. Again thanks to all who made our stay so nice. Anita Ray and Vin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Arrived early for an overnight stay while at a wedding, owners had our prep'd our room early so we could change, made coffee in the bar while we waited etc. An older fashioned hotel but with great service, and if breakfast was anything to go by exceptional food. Plan to come back to stay longer and explore the area !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandjanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a trip to cartmel races. The hotel is lovely and the food is excellent we had the fish and chip supper on arrival on the Friday evening. We had a twin room at the back of the hotel and it was lovely. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill so be aware when booking it is not that bad though. The hosts were lovely and it has a nice bar for drinks after evening meal. The breakfast was lovely and well cooked would stay again for a trip to the races.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,013 reviews
1.2 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
504 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampsfell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampsfell House Hotel

Address: Hampsfell Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampsfell House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampsfell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampsfell Hotel Grange Over Sands
Hampsfell House Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing