We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming with real family values.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampsfell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampsfell House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming with real family values.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on a number of times and each time the hosts have been walm and welcoming. We have a dog that is always welcomw and tou can eat in the bar area with the dog and still feel in a dinning room . Breakfast is full English and cooked to order . Dinners and linch is from a good choice and served with a smile and pleanty of food. Would recommend this to anyone. Rooms are kwpt very clean and tidy and all have en suite. If you have a dog, walking is right from the door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    68
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
139
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and son stayed for a 3 night bed and breakfast break. The hotel was in a lovely tranquil setting overlooking the sea and nestled among the trees. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable, just what we needed to rest at the end of a long day travelling. All staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed a full English each morning. Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

You take a punt based on reviews and a gut feeling and when it comes off you're happy. We're happy because this is a lovely hotel, welcoming fire, welcoming people, great food, ample sized room, dog friendly, very clean, flexible to requirements, minimum fuss, reasonable prices, and all on the doorstep of the Lakes overlooking Grange-over-Sands and the sea. What's more lots of repeat visitors, booked long in advance, if a couple leaving at the same time as us (and they looked the fussy type) booked their next two visits it says more than this review could ever say. Only downside and it didn't bother us much - provide big towels please as, sadly, we are not all size zero - it was so not a problem; we didn't even mention it whilst staying. Arrive in the late afternoon with the wood blazing on the fire and you won't go far wrong!

Room Tip: Not worth adding a tip but I guess you could ask for a sea view......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSofDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here as part of a weekend long family gathering and the Hampsfell House was integral to the smooth running of our family events. Starting with the accommodation, we were very comfortable in our pretty en suite rooms. The breakfasts, with a choice of hot meals along with a cereal and yogurt buffet, set us up very well for the rest of the day. The poached eggs were perfectly cooked and hot every time! The owners also catered a reception for 40 of us in the bar area and the food was beautifully presented, fresh and original. But what stood out most for us during our stay was the feeling that the guests' comfort took priority over everything. At every single request, the owners efficiently took care of our needs, from relighting the fire, to packaging up the reception leftovers, to serving a group of us an impromptu dinner in the bar on their most packed out night in the restaurant (Friday fish 'n' chips!). Even small children were made to feel welcome and were not a bother to the owners. We felt very much at home and very relaxed at the Hampsfell House, a rare jewel amongst so many impersonal hotels nowadays. Thank you for everything, Rose and Brian!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a dinner bed and breakfast and were made very welcome. Our room was quiet and comfortable with a lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The food was delicious at both breakfast and dinner and we enjoyed a cosy drink by the log fire in the bar. It is worth taking a walk to the top of the fell behind the hotel. The view is stunning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheCYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

A brilliant surprise from my Fiancee, it was a last minute thing. We were made up at how welcome we were made to feel. The facilities in our room were great, the food was amazing, a beautifull hotel throughout, cannot fault it. We took our 14 week old pup along with us and we were alllowed to take him in the bar with us, he was made to feel at home too, The owners even introuced us to their dogs. The evening meal was fantastic, breakfast was lovely, we would have no hesitation in recomending the Hampsfell House Hotel to anyone, we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed here for two nights 30th Nov, 1st Dec. The drive to the hotel is up country lanes and the house is stood on a hill with lots of beautiful evergreens around. The smell of an open fire greets you as you walk in (winter), the christmas tree twinkling in the reception area, foody smells (it was 8pm when we arrived). The room was lovely with the heating on and table lamps lit, very sturdy furniture and a breath taking view (in the morning). Good shower cubicle and bathroom what you would expect. It is not that far from the town which is really cute as well and gorgeous at Christmas time. The breakfast was 10/10 for my partner and I, particular mention of the sausages has to be made.... mmmmmmmm. Overall a lovely place to stay and and if I am ever in the area again I would not hesitate to stay there.

Room Tip: Couldn't possibly comment only saw our own room and next door was being totally refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magna1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.3 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampsfell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampsfell House Hotel

Property: Hampsfell House Hotel
Address: Hampsfell Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampsfell House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampsfell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampsfell Hotel Grange Over Sands
Hampsfell House Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing