We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampsfell House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had read good reviews online about this place so thought we would check it out! The room we stayed in was very clean, and serviced everyday! The staff were very warm and accommodating to us (and our dog) and even provided information on walks in the local area.

Everyone we spoke to in grange seemed to know the hotel and raved about the food.... unfortunately my partner wanted to watch the world cup matches so we never ate in the restaurant... although the breakfast was very good and there was a good selection to choose from!! Nothing seemed too much effort for the staff... the service was excellent!

Overall we had a very relaxing stay, the room was big enough for us and our lurcher and lukily for us she didnt disgrace herself... so i think we will definately visit again and probably bring friends with us!!

James & Donna

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 88Peaches88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for just one night in June 2014. Arrived at lunchtime as wanted to walk around 10 miles and was shown into bedroom. The evening meal was very good. An excellent menu and large choice of local bottled beers. The breakfast was also very good. The full english was extremely tasty. The hotel is at the top of a hill and is surrounded by woodland. There are some wonderful walks in the area and the railway runs alongside the coast and is well worth a trip

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWFCdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived on bank holiday Monday at around 08:30 far too early to check in I know but I was off to Cartmel Races and I wanted to avoid the traffic. The owners of the hotel were serving breakfast and a little surprised to see me, but still took time out to help me find a taxi, supplying me with a list of numbers. The hotel seems to be a family run affair, with a very friendly and laid back atmosphere, laid back in a good way, I felt totally relaxed throughout my stay. My room number 9 was extremely clean and very comfortable, the bar area is very quiet, good for conversations, not a TV in sight,fantastic. You can't get a mobile signal in the hotel which isn't a bad thing, but they do offer free wifi in the bar and dining area. The food, breakfast and evening meal, great choice and the four chefs preparing the meals do a fantastic job, enjoyed every meal I had 5(*) The hotel is semi surrounded by beautiful gardens with great seating areas another wonderful place to relax. Would I stay in this hotel again and recommend it to others, definitely. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Luke39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First time in a dog friendly hotel with our unruly hound. What a charming place, proprietors very welcoming and the food was epic!! Fantastic location for walking off the very good food. Will certainly return and as our dog didn't disgrace himself I'm sure we will be welcome

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We enjoyed a couple of days DB&B at Hampsfell House. The situation of the hotel is lovely, set back from the road and within a small woodland area. The gardens are really pretty - unfortunately the weather during our visit didn't permit us to sit outside to eat or enjoy a drink. We enjoyed the food during our stay, and there was a good choice of drinks from the bar too. Our room had everything we needed for our stay, and although fairly small it was clean and tidy. The hotel was full during our visit which doesn't surprise us, the owners are very hospitable and perhaps why many guests appear to return time and time again, and which I'm sure we will do at some point. The hotel is dog friendly and our little dog enjoyed his mini break as much as we did. Thank you Rose and Brian

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABKL0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was a perfect hotel for us. Our room was very comfortable and there was plenty of room for us and our greyhound! The staff were friendly and welcoming. We decided to eat in and the breakfasts and dinners were all excellent and of a very high standard. The hotel has a lovely setting in the woods and it is an easy walk to the promenade. We have already booked again for next year and we are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived late but were still offered food from the menu which was much appreciated after a four hour journey in the car from Solihull! The food is of a surprising quality - very good indeed. Would recommend to anyone taking a dog to the lakes for a holiday, ideal location and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pricey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grange-over-Sands hotels
0.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elton Guest House
Elton Guest House
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampsfell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampsfell House Hotel

Address: Hampsfell Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampsfell House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel restaurant and bar open to non residents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampsfell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampsfell Hotel Grange Over Sands
Hampsfell House Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing