We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress Buster”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Just wanted a quiet night away after my boss' holiday. We were told that we had one of the back rooms, although not as good a view from the window as the bay facing rooms we still had a tranquil view over the bay. The room was on the smaller side but had all the ammenities required, thought might be given to refurbishing this room in a short space of time.

Overall the hotel gave good value for money, there were a couple of functions on but they did not over-run the hotel. Food was very good although the cooked breakfast could have been larger in portion size.

Yes I would recommend it to friends and family and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2008

Agree with all the recent good reviews.

We got upgraded to a "room with a view" but didn't have dinner as it would have cost more that the B&B! The Italian in Grange was fine. Elegant and very well run hotel-does seem to cater for older couples though. Lovely public rooms and a great terrace outside-shame they don't do cheaper bar meals so that you can eat outside.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2007

We attended a wedding and stayed 2 nights at the Netherwood. The hotel is quite spectacular on the outside and on the interior of the hotel (restaurant/library room etc) are very nice. HOWEVER, we were shocked to see the quality of our room - everything needs to be updated in the accommodation rooms and for the price you are paying you really are being taken for a ride.

The service is great but about time they started re-investing some of the money from the extortionate prices that they charge into upgrading the accommodation. We most certainly won't go back as I don't like being ripped off.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeekoCopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We stayed here on recommendation from a friend who had her wedding in nearby Cartmel. It was a wonderful hotel and I am only sorry that we did not spend more time in it.
The facade is truly breathtaking and whilst the rooms may not be 'state of the art' in terms of decor and facilities the view ( particularly from our room ) more than made up for it !"
The breakfast was delicious and the staff very courteous and friendly.
No time to use the beautiful pool and spa this trip -so a great excuse to go back !

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Woke up on my birthday and the husband tells me to book a couple of days away in the lakes. I trawled through all the usual lake district websites for hotels, then I went onto laterooms.com and spotted 'The Netherwood Hotel' for £60 a night, instead of £170! I have never been to Grange Over Sands, but thought I would give it a try, as it was last minute and cheap.
The hotel is actually only 10 minutes from Windermere. When we drove up the drive way, the hotel was breathtaking! We walked in through the huge oak door and it got even better, completely luxurious, oak, fabrics, antiques, absolutely gorgeous. We were offered to upgrade to a 'bay view' room for an extra £10 a night. So we had a look at both rooms. The first room was a good size, but at the side of the hotel, with no view. However, the bay view was bigger and overlooking the front lawns and the bay, so we took this one.
Large room, clean, big bathroom, tea, tv, etc.
Breakfast was as much as you can eat, self serve cereals, juice, etc. Then cooked breakfast served with tea/coffee.
Did'nt stay for dinner as we were out and about til late.
We stayed 2 nights. The staff were the most helpful in any hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble. We didnt use the Spa either, but we did wander in for a nosey and got a chat and a tour by the member of staff in there.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone (obviously I can only speak for Mon/Tues nights) and after 12 years in the hotel management business, I know what I expect from a hotel.

Grange Over Sands is'nt the busiest, most entertaining place, but quiet and quaint for a relaxing break. I would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vanessa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Excellent service, stunning building, pretty grounds and views. Our party of 14 had a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel. We loved the special table arranged for dinner and breakfast. The food was gorgeous and nicely presented. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our celebration special. If you wish to use the spa facilities do it well in advance as they get fully booked.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank WorzelSunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Attended a conference recently. My room no.29 was beautiful with stunning views over the bay. Food was delicious, staff were friendly and very efficient and leisure facilities provided much needed relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbrianlass23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
493 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
534 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,362 reviews
11.5 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £76 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing