We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Christmas treat”
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Netherwood
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The "Winter Warmer" was recommended to us and proved to be a lovely experience. This consisted of home-made soup and a turkey, stuffing and cranberry sandwich, followed by tea/coffee and mini-mince pie. The surroundings were elegant and the service efficient and friendly. In addition the Christmas decorations were magical. I remember this lovely hotel, with its wooden paneling and beautiful rooms from many years ago and it is good to see that it has a successful strategy for surviving in these difficult financial times. We will return very soon.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dibs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This place was FULLY booked when we arrived on Friday lunch time. But they squeezed us in ...without a problem or ANY hassle. Quality of food is superb and the prices reasonable ..which probably explains why the restaurants in Cartmel are SO quiet, with this competition ! Food superb, atmosphere warm and hospitality EXCELLENT !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LillyLillySeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed at the Netherwood a few times over the years, and each time holds wonderful memories for us. A beautiful, well cared for hotel in all respects.

I feel very sorry for the person who reviewed earlier - as other reviewers since have mentioned, anyone who reads that review feels the need to defend the hotel!! I hope that person can find a way to start enjoying the good things in life and can try to think positively - I'm sure they will find their future will much brighter if they can do that xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayLoversl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Netherwood for a family wedding. The rooms are a not necessarily my taste of décor but they are spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The food across my two night stay was excellent. It was so lovely having a fresh breakfast cooked to order and the fresh fruit salad at breakfast was delicious.
As for the wedding breakfast it was amazing....choices for all three courses and not one that didn't look delicious. All food was served piping hot and there were generous amounts of vegetables. The groom had requested steak and chips to be one of the main choices, 68 guests chose this option and were not disappointed, all came out perfectly cooked as ordered. The sticky toffee pudding was amazing! This is a great place for a wedding, beautiful ballroom and grounds.
The Christmas decorations are pretty overall, though there is the occasional oddity around! The downstairs rooms are beautiful with lovely comfy over stuffed sofas and chairs to relax in in all the rooms. Make sure you have a pre dinner drink in the bar in front of the fire and your coffee in the lounge in front of the fire!
So what would I change - the décor, the bedrooms need plain classy décor that fits the period of the house.
- blankets would go and duvets arrive
- biscuits in the rooms they don't cost that much and make such a difference
- the supplier of bread rolls.....considering how lovely the food was the bread rolls were rather tough and dry....I kept expecting them to arrive warm and soft and they never did!
Would I book a wedding here? definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the bay. If you are not there for a wedding check if there is one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I feel compelled to comment on the 'jealous' ?!?!?! review a few comments down. Having visited this lovely hotel many times over the last decade with my partner and kids I feel I must defend what is a wonderful establishment with great location, fab staff, great food I could go on ... It is such a shame that some people feel the need to use trip advisor as a battering ram and hide behind their keyboard! Get a life!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I think Mrs Jelasas must have stayed at a different Netherwood than we have enjoyed as regular visitors for many years. Rock House is a short stroll from the main Hotel with well appointed rooms with breathtaking views over the bay, Also if you ring the Hotel reception they will open the lounge door for you to use to get into the hotel. Mike and Christine the owners personally over sea an Excellent team of Charming and diligent staff. Nothing is too much trouble and is really is Home from home, And we have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel to people who are always delighted at staying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUPERSUE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have recently booked our wedding at the hotel and the hotel is a dream for a Christmas wedding, great decorations which are tasteful and in fitting with the surroundings. The Manager was very friendly and obliging eve though there is only going to be seven of us on the day so not a great money earner his energy was focused on us having a happy day. We were introduced to the staff who will be looking after us who also appear to be polite and obliging so all in all we are sure we have picked a great venue. We have given the rating as a four purely on the basis that this is a booking and our stay has not yet begun but will comment after our big day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 235matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-over-Sands
0.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
493 reviews
12.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
534 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,362 reviews
11.5 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range: £76 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing