We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Netherwood
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cumbria Grand Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampsfell House Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Engine Inn(Cartmel)
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abbot Hall Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Elton Guest House(Grange-over-Sands)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
284
143
55
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
143
55
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas decorationswedding breakfastbeautiful hotelviews over morecambe baythe main hotelfamily weddingcooked breakfastevening mealfriendly hotelmain coursefollowing morninglake districtfantastic viewsbiscuitstwo night staylog firenothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The "Winter Warmer" was recommended to us and proved to be a lovely experience. This consisted of home-made soup and a turkey, stuffing and cranberry sandwich, followed by tea/coffee and mini-mince pie. The surroundings were elegant and the service efficient and friendly. In addition the Christmas decorations were magical. I remember this lovely hotel, with its wooden paneling and beautiful rooms from many years ago and it is good to see that it has a successful strategy for surviving in these difficult financial times. We will return very soon.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dibs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This place was FULLY booked when we arrived on Friday lunch time. But they squeezed us in ...without a problem or ANY hassle. Quality of food is superb and the prices reasonable ..which probably explains why the restaurants in Cartmel are SO quiet, with this competition ! Food superb, atmosphere warm and hospitality EXCELLENT !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LillyLillySeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have stayed at the Netherwood a few times over the years, and each time holds wonderful memories for us. A beautiful, well cared for hotel in all respects.

I feel very sorry for the person who reviewed earlier - as other reviewers since have mentioned, anyone who reads that review feels the need to defend the hotel!! I hope that person can find a way to start enjoying the good things in life and can try to think positively - I'm sure they will find their future will much brighter if they can do that xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayLoversl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Netherwood for a family wedding. The rooms are a not necessarily my taste of décor but they are spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The food across my two night stay was excellent. It was so lovely having a fresh breakfast cooked to order and the fresh fruit salad at breakfast was delicious.
As for the wedding breakfast it was amazing....choices for all three courses and not one that didn't look delicious. All food was served piping hot and there were generous amounts of vegetables. The groom had requested steak and chips to be one of the main choices, 68 guests chose this option and were not disappointed, all came out perfectly cooked as ordered. The sticky toffee pudding was amazing! This is a great place for a wedding, beautiful ballroom and grounds.
The Christmas decorations are pretty overall, though there is the occasional oddity around! The downstairs rooms are beautiful with lovely comfy over stuffed sofas and chairs to relax in in all the rooms. Make sure you have a pre dinner drink in the bar in front of the fire and your coffee in the lounge in front of the fire!
So what would I change - the décor, the bedrooms need plain classy décor that fits the period of the house.
- blankets would go and duvets arrive
- biscuits in the rooms they don't cost that much and make such a difference
- the supplier of bread rolls.....considering how lovely the food was the bread rolls were rather tough and dry....I kept expecting them to arrive warm and soft and they never did!
Would I book a wedding here? definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the bay. If you are not there for a wedding check if there is one and ask for a room at the end away from the ballroom. weddings are very loud!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I feel compelled to comment on the 'jealous' ?!?!?! review a few comments down. Having visited this lovely hotel many times over the last decade with my partner and kids I feel I must defend what is a wonderful establishment with great location, fab staff, great food I could go on ... It is such a shame that some people feel the need to use trip advisor as a battering ram and hide behind their keyboard! Get a life!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews